We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“T2D boot camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Horse Inn
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“T2D boot camp”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very friendly staff...good food and good accommodation . If you are attending the Type two Detectives Boot camp it's only a 5 min drive away and hotel gives you a discount!! So close to a bar, we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare-Zeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    25
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
33
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Probably the best stay around Cambridge. Excellent value for money and great owners. The land lady Sharon makes everyone welcome and husband Paul runs a great kitchen. The other members of staff make sure guests are well looked after. Its testimony to how good the place is that several of the guests repeatedly stay at the Black Horse and the loo roll is just fine......I do agree with the previous reviewer that the lack of a decent Taxi service is the only drawback but there is everything you need at the pub as well as a small shop next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avisius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We were attending a birthday party in the Missing Sock nearby, and booked into the Black Horse because it was local (More on that later) a good price (£50 or so for the night) and had good reviews on here.

What a great place! The room that we had was one of a purpose built block at the back of the pub, and was brand new, very clean and extremely comfortable.

There was lots of local info in the room, and nice touches like the paper cover on the toilet seat.

The only downside, and I only mention it to pre warn other travellers as it is obviously nothing to do with the Black Horse, is that a taxi to anywhere within a couple of miles (i.e. the missing sock where we were going) carries a hefty call out charge from Cambridge, as there are no local ones apparently. Would have been about £40 for us to go 2 miles down the road and back.

Breakfast the next day was absolutely brilliant - miles better than what I have regularly had in more expensive hotels. Great quality bacon and sausages, free range eggs, everything else just right, and it was only £7 extra.

I will definitely make this my base to visit Cambridge and the general area fom in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonofcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We chose this for its convenience for seeing the snowdrops at Anglesey Abbey.

On arrival (Friday afternoon) our first impression was checking in at the bar which felt a bit shabby and unwelcoming. However, the barmaid was very helpful and pleasant.

The room (The Lode) was average but COLD! We could not get the heating to work and the owner tried to get the radiators working, followed by his wife later. eventually the heating came on and we could take our coats off!!

The food in the evening was basic, but good, pub food with not much choice and an emphasis on burgers and similar. Good choice of beer and the atmosphere was just like sitting in a bar - which we were!! Not bad but not if you were expecting haute cuisine (which we weren't)!

Guess what - the room was then too hot as we couldn't adjust the radiators! The bed comfort was adequate and the bath shower very good.

Having read previous reports, a real bonus was breakfast. Cereal packets (individual) but the offer of a full English brekky was welcome and well cooked. bacon, egg, mushrooms, sausages and beans - always a good start to the day.

To summarise, if you don't have high expectations but want somewhere perfectly acceptable for an overnight stay, then this would be a good place to choose. Trying not to be too snobbish, we always judge the quality of accommodation by the quality of the loo paper! Here, it was thin and cheap! Don't let this put you off though - bring your own!

Room Tip: The Lode was on the corner and probably slightly bigger than the other but all seemed to be much the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgerisimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed for two nights in early October with my husband as we needed somewhere between
Cambridge- for a visit , and Newmarket -for the races. Ideal location for both. Really happy with the accomodation -lovely room in the old stable block, food fantastic and made very welcome by all the staff. Would certainly stay there again & recommend to anybody

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b3kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Went to visit some friends who live in the village. Room was nice and clean staff helpfull. Food very nice in the pub. Paid £75 for the night which maybe was a little steep. breakfast hours was only 8-9am so very limited Time to grab something.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I needed a bed for a stopover for a trip to the Newmarket race course for an evening concert so a pub with rooms seemed a great idea.

On arriving was shown the room which was in the converted stables (apparently). The room was a twin room with tea/coffee facilities and an adequate sized tv. Decor of the room was tastefull and not ott. Furniture consisted of a chest of drawers, a chair and a wardrobe to hang clothes in. Bedding was clean and fresh as were the towels. Space-well I was a solo traveller but I would say that here was more than enough room for two people. It's a room you've booked, not an appartment.

There was a wc with shower and small but reasonable sized sink. The shower had ample output for anyone and the temperature controls worked.

As a downside? As all the rooms are around the car park/courtyard, it is down to other guests to keep quiet and not to upset the other residents, but considering I slept with the window open the noise was over in a couple of minutes. Car parking outside the rooms is a bit tight too if you have a longer car.

Regarding food. The Full English of egg, bacon, sausage, black pudding, beans and toast kept me going most of the day, and was well cooked and presented by the waitress.

With regards to the pub, last orders are 11pm so no loud late nights, it would seem, for anyone staying in the pub. There was a very good selection of real ales and other drinks all at fair prices.

Staff were friendly and helpfull, as was the taxi driver Dave, although they didn't have an answer to 'Where does the name Swaffham Bulbeck come from?' but no complaints from me. Taxi to Newmarket race course was £10 ish each way for the 10/15 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben hollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham Bulbeck
3.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
5.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
481 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: 35 High Street, Swaffham Bulbeck CB25 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Swaffham Bulbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaffham Bulbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic village of Swaffham Bulbeck overlooking the village green. The Black Horse Inn offers a warm and friendly welcome. Locally sourced food served daily and a great selection of Wines and drinks available at the bar including locally brewed ales. The accommodation comprises of 7 converted stables in a courtyard setting, all rooms are en suite with complimentary toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Inn Swaffham Bulbeck, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing