We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't find a better nights rest after a tequila experience if we tried.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tequila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

It's just the best little hotel only a short two block stroll from the town centre.
Secure off street car park (if you rent a car to come for your Tequila experience.. Highly recommended as it gives you the freedom to take your time).
Stayed in the basic room and it was small and dominated by a huge bed. Nice shower and bathroom and even free water from the volcanic vicinity (I was particularly impressed with the free water as a lot hotels think its ok to charge 5 times the price of something so basic, it was a very nice touch).
The inside of the hotel is very impressive in a homely kind of way with well maintained garden and lounging area.
We did not get a chance to eat in the restaurant, just had a few pre drinks of their very extensive Tequila range. However, our impression of the other guests' meal was very good and they appeared very satisfied as they left.
No issues at checkout, and can't wait to be back when I re-visit Tequila with other friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lextsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaabolengos, Gerente at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

thank you for your comments will be a pleasure too see you again in LOS ABOLENGOS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

We took a two day trip to tequila last week and stay at Los Abolengos Hotel. It is truly a special find. I understand it was converted from a family vacation home and horse stable to a hotel. It also has a fantastic restaurant complete with tequila barrel stacked against one wall and and entire other wall showcasing hundreds of high end tequila. Our room was incredible. Comfortable beds (each had seven pillows on them) Everything was brand new, flat screen TV and the bathroom had a shower in it that had the best pressure I have ever encountered in Mexico and it was about 8 feet by 8 feet large. There is a gorgeous courtyard and pool that is a perfect seating for a quite night outside while enjoying cocktails or just talking. This is a quint hotel and not anything rowdy. In the restaurant the food was fabulous. I can't explain each dish, but OI will post photos.

Room Tip: AS far as I could tell, there isn't a spot in the hotels that is better than another. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, what a delight! We love to hear our guests enjoy their vacation experience with us. We hope to be of service in the near future. Hasta Pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel was fabulous and a magnificent work of art. It is a hacienda with authentic architecture that blends old and new while incorporating wheel chair accessibility throughout the hotel. The gardens are beautifully maintained surrounding a lovely swimming pool. The food at the restaurant was great and prices were incredibly reasonable. The rooms were clean and fresh. We require COMPLETE accessability when we travel and the bathroom/shower arrangement met our needs and exceeded our expectations. My husband and I were thrilled to finally find a hotel that had all we needed and more! I highly recommend Los Abolengos when visitng Tequila!

Room Tip: Obviously it helps if you speak spanish, but when making my reservation I asked to speak to someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VallartaChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Traveler: How great to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations, thank you so much for your review and please do visit us again, it will be our pleasure to serve you again. Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I rather refer to this hotel as a magnificent work of art. It is a hacienda with beauty and authentic architecture that blends old and new without removing the nostalgic feel of romanticism as you sit and enjoy the magnificent gardens or the fabulous dining area with an assortment of fine tequilas. Service is wonderful, rooms are very clean, and the food is fantastic. At last, an hotel that has it all and more! I highly recommend Los Abolengos when visitng Tequila!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Traveler: Although a bit delayed we want to thank you for your beautiful review, we hope you had given us the opportunity of serving you again. If you have not returned we invite you to do so, as we are sure you will be able to find much more of the great service you found on your first visit. Nuestra casa es su casa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for part 1 of our honeymoon. We booked directly with the hotel with the help of a Spanish speaking friend (I'd recommend using bestday.com if you do not speak Spanish). The hotel is beautiful and practically new and it is hidden - you would not know it is located on a busy street and we passed by it several times before we finally realized where it was. The grounds and the rooms look just like they do on the website. There was only one other couple staying there during our stay (right after the New Year). For a really nice hotel in the heart of the town of Tequila, it cannot be beat. Alfredo was our main contact because he spoke the best English. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. Maybe because it is so new, there were a few kinks. Like the windows did not have any screens, the beds were really hard, the pool was not heated and the kitchen hours were inconsistent. Nothing that shouldn't get better in time. The location is great - everything is within walking distance! We definitely recommend going to the town square where the chuch is located and sign up for several different kinds of tequila tours to get the best exposure to all of the distilleries.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tulumtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Traveler: It was wonderful to read your review, we notice your anniversary is coming soon, perhaps you would give us the opportunity of having you again to celebrate we would love to be your hosts. Felicidades!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Three of us stayed at Abolengos this past week. What a find! A truly magnificient hotel, not at all what you would expect to find in Tequila. Highly recommended. If you are going to Tequila make sure you stay at Abolengos - you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: we got a great rate via Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review and your recommendation, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future. Bienvenido!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We were returning from Michoacan this week and found a new hotel in Tequila. It was odd since I found it on Expedia on my ipad while driving but, according to Expedia there were no rooms available. Their website is totally Flash so, I couldn't get info online on my ipad but, finely found a phone number, called, and booked.
It is, in a word, great! It is really nice to finally have a quality hotel in the heart of downtown. Prices are a little higher but, it is totally worth it.
The hotel opened approximately 6 months ago. It is a historic house that has been massively and beautifully remodeled. There are 20 rooms with lovely and often historic decor, an excellent restaurant and bar, a spa, etc. The only downside was the tequila selection at the bar but, we met the owner and he assured us that would be remedied. They have a beautiful liquor display cabinet along one entire wall and sell tequila by the bottle with a pretty good selection.
Our room was spacious, nicely appointed, had a VERY comfortable bed with 6 pillows and lovely European sheets. We had a 42 inch flat screen tv with cable (even some English channels); there is wifi and wired internet that is complimentary. There is air conditioning and ceiling fans in the room as well as the bathroom. And the bathroom, wow! The shower was huge, probably 20 square feet and two shower heads with plenty of water volume and pressure. Easily the best shower I have had in Mexico.
The staff are very nice although not much English spoken. The restaurant is nice and food is very good. Worth a stop just for lunch or dinner. The grounds are beautiful and there is private parking on the side.
All in all a very nice experience that we will repeat, often. Blanca and I have normally stayed in Guadalajara which is just not convenient. I like the rooms at Cofradia but, it is not the same as being downtown within walking distance of everything and at night it is pretty "lonely". The hotel is about 2 blocks from the Mision Tequillan and the main street of Tequila (which by the way is torn up under construction)
Strongly recommend you give it a try.
You can see pictures and get more information on their website below.

Los Abolengos
Calle Mexico 138
01-800-000-4242 reservations inside Mexico
374-742-4242 local number
http://wwwlosabolengos.com (Spanish and English versions)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry-Blanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Traveler: A quick thank you so much for your review, we love to have you back when your vacation plans bring you to this beautiful part of Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tequila
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solar de Las Animas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Rubio
Hotel Plaza Rubio
#4 of 6 in Tequila
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Dulce Maria
Casa Dulce Maria
#6 of 6 in Tequila
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rienda Mision Tequillan
1.2 mi away
Matices Hotel de Barricas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila

Address: Calle Mexico 138 | Col. Centro, Tequila 44600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Tequila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tequila
Price Range: £63 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encircled by tradition and crowned with an Agave plant a unique Grand Class Hotel concept emerges.With a modest facade but surprising and wrapping warmth, Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel locates at the heart of Mexican tradition, the magical town that gave its name to the fruits of the agave plant , Tequila, Jalisco.In each corner of this magical place you will find a combination of warmth, simplicity, comfort and history.At Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel you will find 20 comfortable rooms with King and Queen size beds, pool, Jacuzzi, business rooms, Spa with steam and sauna rooms, restaurant-bar, terraces and gardens for events, exclusive parking, exhibition and sale of the best tequilas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel En Tequila Mexico - Jalisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing