We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tequila
Certificate of Excellence
San Anselmo, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unexpected Oasis”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just got back from a business trip to Guadalajara and Tequila Mexico, and lucky for me Los Abolengos offered a really great respite from the dusty streets of Tequila. Great service for this little town, and really pleasant staff. The grounds are immaculate, and the rooms, though small, are fully stocked. the rooms are actually very old steel doored stables that have been converted into stylish rooms. The restaurant is bright, cheery and opens to a beautiful grassy area. service can be slow, but welcome to Mexico!

My only complaint was that the wifi was poorly distributed, and wifi in the rooms themselves was impossible. They need to upgrade their system.

very nice place to kick your heals up after a day of tasting Tequila.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool. try and skip room #'s 108 and 109 as they are on a service path, sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for your kind review, we are always happy to learn our guests enjoy our hotel. Please do come back we will be happy to serve you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    49
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
60
69
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is a quaint hacienda style place. I found the hotel to be extremely clean and comfortable. It's also in a great location in the middle of town. The Sunday breakfast buffet had excellent authentic food. I wish I had more time to speak with them management or owners, but I was a bit occupied and always on the go. They also have their own free parking on site. I have no complaints. The rooms made me feel like I was in Mexico, but with all modern amenities. The bathroom shower area was very large and comfortable.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like, but mine faced the pool and I felt it was a nice lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank need4speednj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for your review on your recent trip, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our premises and hope to be of service on your next visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Only ate at the restaurant but was amazed at how beautiful and clean the grounds are! Because we were a very large group our service was extremely slow but we enjoyed sitting in the restaurant and admiring the view. The food was okay, better than most places I've eaten at in Tequila, however, it wasn't amazing. The biggest disappointment was the tortilla soup; lacked in flavor!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Visitor: Thank you so much for your review, we hope on your next visit you can try more of our delicious dishes. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I had the opportunity to take the train that goes from Guadalajara to Tequila. Which is also an extraordinary experience, regarding food, entretainment, drinks, fun. When getting to the town of Tequila I stayed here, truly wonderful decision.
Its great to see the combination of a very typical mexican-like house combined with all the conforts and amenities you can think of.
Not mentioning the most confortable beds, outstanding service, and DELICIOUS food!
The buffet on Sunday is a must! There is a cook, preparing omelets, hot cakes, and fresh flour quesadillas with different ingredients, my favorite was mushrooms.
On Saturdays there is Bohemian night, with live music which is also pretty fun to be at.
LOVELY PLACE!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mast9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, we love to hear that our guests enjoy their vacation experience with us, do come back as soon as you can, we will be waiting to serve you! Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, MA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We reserved their top priced room, luxury executive, for $180 US which was suppose to be a king bed. Decided to spend this based on all the great reviews. Well, HUGE disappointment. Our room, #104,has 2 queen beds, overlooks the roof with AC units, bathroom window opens up into lobby so you hear all the noise and it is small compared to other rooms. We went to front desk twice to confirm this was what they considered their, top of line room and were reassured it was. Then the front desk woman, who was very nice, showed us two rooms in the building that houses the restaurant. One of them was gorgeous, king size bed, small table, beautiful bathroom but it was reserved. Why she showed us this I have no idea. The other room she showed us was larger but my fiancé was tired and did not want to move our luggage and repack for the little we gained.

We walked around town and came back to our room at dusk. Tried to turn the room lights on and they did not work. Went to the front desk to tell them and they said they would call maintenance. After 30 minutes and now sitting in the dark I went back to the lobby. The clerk came to the room and showed us your room key has to stay in a card reader by your door for the lights to work. No signs and they never showed us or told us????

For a high end hotel I am shocked they had no maps of the town. Also, every place we have stayed on this trip includes some type of breakfast but not here.

I also agree with a other TA review which states they assign you whatever room they choose and not what you pay for. Go somewhere else and save your money. We stayed in Tlaquepaque for $90 a night including tax, breakfast and king size bed and it was far better then here.

The grounds here are gorgeous and the restaurant looks beautiful. We are going to eat here even though we are very unhappy with what is going on with our room and really don't want to give them anymore money.

I have learned a very valuable lesson which is look at the room before paying but I guess we rarely have problems with rooms we have researched. If this was for $90 I would say ok but not $180!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest: First of all thank you for your review, we understand we can not meet everyone's expectations and we are sorry that was your case. We strive to meet our guests needs to provide the best vacation experience, however, sometimes situations beyond our control can happened we we will only be ready to make the best of the situation. We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

It's just the best little hotel only a short two block stroll from the town centre.
Secure off street car park (if you rent a car to come for your Tequila experience.. Highly recommended as it gives you the freedom to take your time).
Stayed in the basic room and it was small and dominated by a huge bed. Nice shower and bathroom and even free water from the volcanic vicinity (I was particularly impressed with the free water as a lot hotels think its ok to charge 5 times the price of something so basic, it was a very nice touch).
The inside of the hotel is very impressive in a homely kind of way with well maintained garden and lounging area.
We did not get a chance to eat in the restaurant, just had a few pre drinks of their very extensive Tequila range. However, our impression of the other guests' meal was very good and they appeared very satisfied as they left.
No issues at checkout, and can't wait to be back when I re-visit Tequila with other friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lextsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaabolengos, Gerente at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
thank you for your comments will be a pleasure too see you again in LOS ABOLENGOS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We took a two day trip to tequila last week and stay at Los Abolengos Hotel. It is truly a special find. I understand it was converted from a family vacation home and horse stable to a hotel. It also has a fantastic restaurant complete with tequila barrel stacked against one wall and and entire other wall showcasing hundreds of high end tequila. Our room was incredible. Comfortable beds (each had seven pillows on them) Everything was brand new, flat screen TV and the bathroom had a shower in it that had the best pressure I have ever encountered in Mexico and it was about 8 feet by 8 feet large. There is a gorgeous courtyard and pool that is a perfect seating for a quite night outside while enjoying cocktails or just talking. This is a quint hotel and not anything rowdy. In the restaurant the food was fabulous. I can't explain each dish, but OI will post photos.

Room Tip: AS far as I could tell, there isn't a spot in the hotels that is better than another. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director of Sales at Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, what a delight! We love to hear our guests enjoy their vacation experience with us. We hope to be of service in the near future. Hasta Pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tequila
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solar de Las Animas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Rubio
Hotel Plaza Rubio
#5 of 6 in Tequila
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rienda Mision Tequillan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Dulce Maria
Casa Dulce Maria
#6 of 6 in Tequila
42 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Matices Hotel de Barricas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila

Property: Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila
Address: Calle Mexico 138 | Col. Centro, Tequila 44600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Tequila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tequila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encircled by tradition and crowned with an Agave plant a unique Grand Class Hotel concept emerges.With a modest facade but surprising and wrapping warmth, Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel locates at the heart of Mexican tradition, the magical town that gave its name to the fruits of the agave plant , Tequila, Jalisco.In each corner of this magical place you will find a combination of warmth, simplicity, comfort and history.At Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel you will find 20 comfortable rooms with King and Queen size beds, pool, Jacuzzi, business rooms, Spa with steam and sauna rooms, restaurant-bar, terraces and gardens for events, exclusive parking, exhibition and sale of the best tequilas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel En Tequila Mexico - Jalisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing