We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Views and Craic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rannoch Guest House

Rannoch Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bettystown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rannoch Guest House
Ranked #3 of 3 Bettystown B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“The Best Views and Craic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I happened to stop by here on a recent trip to Ireland with my family returning from the North. We were very warmly received by the host Nanette who made us feel very welcome. We had only planned to stay the night before returning to Dublin but in the end stayed for three days. The weather was lovely and the beach and views of the Mourne Mountains were magnificent and always changing. Nanette is very warm and great fun. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    1
    4
    12
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

After booking this Guest House I then noticed the reviews and started shaking in my boots wondering what I had let my Family in for.(24th Nov. 2011) but on our arrival we met with the Lady owner and was made extremely welcome and was given a lovely clean and very warm apartment, fresh sheets etc. This was well over what we had booked and paid for. In the morning we were well catered for with a hearty breakfast and the (craic). Would definiteley book again with no hesitation, and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: sea views are great but you need good heating in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The b&b looks ok from the outside but when we pulled up outside after booking 2rooms for one night, the old lady owner came out and said our rooms were giving to somebody else. We were then brought to another location in bettystown to an apartment complex. It was appalling. No kettle, no toilet roll, the toilet didn't flush. No tv. I would doubt it was even cleaned.

I would have rather slept on the beach! She should lose her b&b status!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barrycu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bettystown hotels

Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

When we arrived they were in the middle of a so called spring clean as there was someone coming to check on them today (monday 4th march). The place was an absolute mess. Going up the stairs there was a ladder from the floor to the wall on the stairs. Their saftiness was atroishes. We went into the bedroom and had a look around. The shower itself was an absolute mess. The floor looked liked it did get a hoovering or even swept. There was no tv in the bedroom and seemingly you've to go downstairs to watch it. How could we and to honest they were in the middle of spring clean with everywhere in a mess.We went out for a few hours around bettystown for a walk etc. On the way out the front door there was a hedge clippers near the front door, luckily enough for me i spotted it before i stood on it. When we returned i told my boyfriend i felt uncomfortable and wanted to leave. We did. Thank god we didn't stay as if i'd an asthma attack they probably wouldn't look after me. When we told the owner we were leaving she raised her voice at me and shouted to get off the tiles. Then as we left she pleaded with us and told us to come back in june. Well we have no intention. As for tea or coffee, well if you drink them don't expect to see a kettle, teabags, coffee etc in the bedroom. We both decided it was time to leave. I wouldn't recommend anyone stay there as their not very accommodating and their service is way beyond the standard it should be - extremely low. Also it seems to be the two foreign girls that are doing the work for the two owners.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank sylvia3269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

The room was filthy and had clearly not been made up after the previous guest. We tried to bring this to the attention of the woman who ran the place however she was completely disinterested and after muttering something incoherant about it being some girls fault she suggested we just clean the room ourselves. We left immediately

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Arrived by chance to be met by a student who had been left in charge on his first day. However, he was great and did a good job. The room was fine if a little uncared for, and the garden and beach are lovely. The real difficulties were the following morning. The information in the room said breakfast from 8.00am, and we wanted to get away early, but there was no one around at 8.00 or 8.15 or 8.30. The poor student couldn't get in to the owners section, and ringing the doorbell and knkocking failed to raise her. The owner did finally make an appearance just as we were about to leave. The breakfast menu did not appear to operate. Some toast appeared - warm bread for us, and cinder for the other couple staying. Then a fry up which was poorly cooked and very cheap ingredients. She had run out of eggs so these appeared after everything else was finished! Glad to get out, and glad we were only there one night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

I stayed here with my wife and daughter for 4 nights during July and found the place to be great value for what it is. Its only 2 minute walk to the village and has some beautiful views from the gardens over the beach. One thing was a pity is that we didn't have a sea view from our room, but other than that, breakfast was great and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesun49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bettystown
4.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Reddans of Bettystown
#2 of 3 in Bettystown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tara House
Tara House
#1 of 2 in Laytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rannoch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rannoch Guest House

Property: Rannoch Guest House
Address: Rannoch Coast Road, Bettystown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Bettystown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bettystown
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing