We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
347
10
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
347
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden cottagesconeshoneymoon cottageirish seaapple lofton arrivalrelaxing holidayhome from homebutter and jamperfect place to relaxself catering holidaylittle piece of heavenowners lizshort strolla wonderful staygardens are beautifulfantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The property was exactly as described. It was quite cozy, and was like a home away from home. You are right on the beach, offering a spectacular view upon waking each morning. Our hosts were more than willing to answer all our questions, which were many, and helped make our trip a better experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank virgilchandler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottagesIreland, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Virgilchandler1,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your time at The Cottages. We're delighted that you felt so at home and enjoyed the stunning views, the beach truly is good for the soul. Thanks too for your kind words about our service, always a pleasure with such lovely guests. We look forward to having you back with us another time soon. With warm regards, Roger, Liz and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Very nice stay to very very kind and warm proprietors, the cottage was superbe and the accommodation high standard as hotels 4 stars, but in a house really, with many place/room, It was very clean and charming. In addition to that the place with a direct access from the road and on the other side direct ON the beach is perfect.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 926jeanphilippek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottagesIreland, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear 926jeanphilippek,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time at The Cottages. It was wonderful having you here for the amazing 2017 European Sandyachting Championships, what a truly spectacular event! As 5 Star luxury self catering accommodation we are thrilled that you found your cottage to be spacious, superb and charming! Delighted too that you enjoyed having direct access to the wonderful 6 mile sandy stretch that is Laytown/Bettystown beach. We're certainly missing the championships and having the endless rows of fluttering flags and the racing sand yacht bobbing past The Cottages! Looking forward to having you back with us in the future. Till the next time, Warmest Regards, Roger, Liz and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

just returned from another wonderful visit to The Cottages- hospitality was outstanding, accommodation was beautiful , location is breathtaking - an absolute delight and we are already planning a return visit .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katherinesj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottagesIreland, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Catherine, Thank you for that excellent review. We're delighted you had a good time, enjoyed your stay in Honeymoon Cottage and had a great time at Laytown Races. Looking forward to your next visit which sounds like it may be sooner rather than later. With warmest regards, Roger, Liz and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I have just spent five nights in the Garden Cottage and could not fault it. The view from the living room window was wonderful and I enjoyed looking out at the gardens every day. The facilities were excellent and the wonderful king size bed in the upstairs bedroom was so comfy both myself and my husband slept really well. We were over to visit family who live 20 minutes away so the location was perfect and of course being so close to the sea made it even more ideal. All the staff were lovely and we really appreciated being able to watch the Laytown races with Roger just outside his stunning cottage overlooking the beach. What a very friendly man he is and could not have made us feel more welcome. We will definitely return as we were sad to leave having had such a restful, relaxing time in wonderful surroundings. I cannot recommend the cottages highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RuthieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottagesIreland, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Ruthie, It was such a pleasure to meet you both and to have you with us here at The Cottages. We enjoyed having you with us for Laytown Races, what a unique event that is and you got to experience one of the best meets in recent years. Great that you loved Garden Cottage and the gardens, thank you for your lovely compliments too! Really pleased that you got to see your family, to explore the Boyne Valley and enjoy all it has to offer in terms of visitor attractions and restaurants. Looking forward to having you back with us in the future. Till the next time, Warmest Regards, Roger, Liz and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We stayed at Thatchers Rest cottage this time, it is a beautiful picturesque cottage with a fantastic sea view from the large bay window. The cottage is cosy, very comfortable and well equipped, lovely to return to after a day out. We had a few walks on the beach which is accessed from a coded gate at the end of the garden. Liz, Anna and Mel very friendly and helpful. We hope to return for another relaxing break in the future.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Therese2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottagesIreland, Owner at The Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Therese, It was great to have you and the boys back with us for another holiday in Ireland. We love that you got to relax and enjoy the surrounding area as we appreciate how busy your schedule is. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in Thatcher's Rest Cottage. Always a pleasure to have you with us, we look forward to your next visit.
With warm regards, Roger, Liz and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews