We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Touchwood Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pukekohe
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

What a great little motel.

Owners were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Rooms clean, crisp clean linen, comfortable bed, everything was spotlessly clean, everything in good working order, shower pressure excellent, room very large, comfortable seats, large dining room table - you can see the attention to detail.

Great tv - lots of channels

Gym available about a 3 minute walk away - it is just a local gym so you just pay the casual rate - super friendly staff.

I ordered scrambled eggs for breakfast, well cooked, nicely presented

Supermarket close by and nice restaurants - all about a 3 to 5 minute drive away

To be honest I just couldn't fault it - well done to the owners good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewZealandMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    36
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
37
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed just the one night while in Pukekohe while attending a 21st birthday of a friend's daughter.
Nothing bad to report, units are a little small if any more than a couple were staying but we spent little time in the room anyway.
Clean and tidy and a resonable nights sleep. Good to have a full range of Sky digital channels to choose.
It is what it is, a stock standard motel.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BulaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilys60, Owner at Touchwood Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. we appreciate your comments

Dilys and Neil
Touchwood Motor Lodge
Pukekohe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toyokawa, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I decided to stop in Pukekohe before returning a car in Manukau the next morning. I've been staying at backpackers most of the time, so I wanted to give myself a treat and stay somewhere nice since it was the very last night of my 5-week trip in New Zealand. I looked up on Tripadvisor and made up my mind on Touchwood Motor Lodge, which turned out to be a very good decision.

I paid $120(NZD) for a spacious studio room, which had a comfortable bed, big screen TV with Sky Channel, clean bathroom and its own small terrace. In the back was a small garden, which I liked because it's always good to look out of the window and not see a parking lot or road busy with traffic. They have free tea, coffee, milk, sugar, cookies, and to my delight, hot chocolate!! The use of a washing machine is free. The dryer isn't, but there's a washing line - so if it's sunny, you can just hang them outside. The thing I liked most was the free wireless internet. They gave me a voucher for 400MB, valid for 24hr, which is worh $20. I just stayed for one night, so 400MB was more than enough. The owner was away for a week, so the couple, who was looking after the place, met me on my arrival. They were lovely people - welcoming, helpful and very warm. The owner is responsible enough to leave the property to decent people, which means they take their business seriously. I didn't get to see the owner, but I presume they're good people as well.

Pukekohe has a nice variety of shops and restaurants and the people at i-site will help you find what you need. It takes about half an hour drive to Auckland Airport, so it's a perfect place to stay before flying out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elysiriarelsila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilys60, Owner at Touchwood Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Dilys and Neil
Touchwood Motor Lodge
Pukekohe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent 2 nights in the executive suite while doing a tension filled weekend of house hunting. Our suite was a lovely refuge to come back to.
It was confortable, clean and spacious and although the weather was humid the breeze wafted through the windows and kept us cool.
We found the perfect house and enjoyed perfevt accommodation.
Thankyou

Room Tip: The upstairs room are cool during humidity
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeNgae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Lovely big clean rooms in a residential setting just north of the town. Friendly hosts, Sky TV. Who could ask for more!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Bit late writing this review, my husband and i spent 6 nights at the Touchwood in November 2011 part of a 3 week trip around both islands. This was the one place that we did not expect much from, it was just somewhere to sleep, as we had a friend at Papakura and knew we would spend most of our time there. When we booked in and were shown to our room, we were amazed it was a mini apartment not just a room. What a brilliant surprize. The owners were extremely helpful, helping us with directions and train timetables etc. If we are ever fortunate to visit a lovely country again, we would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed here for a wedding for two nights. Can't fault it. It is excellent and definitely worth booking.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roonbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pukekohe
5.1 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
139 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.0 mi away
Aveda Motor Lodge
Aveda Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pukekohe
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BK's Counties Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Pukekohe Motel
Pukekohe Motel
#3 of 4 in Pukekohe
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Pukekohe
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touchwood Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchwood Motor Lodge

Property: Touchwood Motor Lodge
Address: 146 Edinburgh Street, Pukekohe 2120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Pukekohe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pukekohe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Touchwood Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Pukekohe, just to the south of Auckland, 35 minutes from Auckland airport. Spacious grounds in a country town setting.We offer 16 clean and comfortable units including Studio, 1 bedroom & 2 bedroom units, serviced daily.A room to suit every budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Touchwood Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing