We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best that you could ask for!”

Japanese Kitchen Sakura
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Pukekohe
Price range: US$45 - US$52
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Private Dining
Description: Would you like to experience the real Japan? We are a Japanese Kitchen Sakura Group who tries our best to provide this unforgettable experience. We are providing this wide range of business to let you experience the real Japan: - Restaurant - Catering - Cooking Class - Customise Japanese Ingredients -------RESTAURANT-------- - Our concept is omakase style or chef selection of many small dishes. This can vary from 12 to 16 Japanese authentic dishes depending on the fresh and local ingredients that are available in seasons. Menu is changing daily and we will try our best to accommodate your preference. The menu consists of recipes rich in nutrients and balance. -We will prepare your table based on dinner reservations only. We accept few groups per night up to 26 guests (for booking over ten guests will be considered as private function and no other table will be accepted unless discussed and agreed). Using safe and healthy ingredients. No additives in our food. All ingredients are fresh. Chicken, eggs and pork are free range. Vegetables are also fresh and local grown organic produce. Please bring your favourite music and costume. We would like you to relax and enjoy the same music as though you were at home. Any occasion, Birthday, Work functions, Hen's night, etc or just a relaxing night out. -------CATERING-------- - Catering for Home and company any function anywhere - We can make Party Platter, Sushi Platter and Bento box for your request. -------COOKING CLASS-------- - Private Cooking Class -------Customise Japanese Ingredients-------- - We sell an authentic Japanese sauce and Gyoza (Japanese Dumpling) that originally made by our head chef.
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I am a huge fans of food and always keen to try new place. First time I tried sakura was about 3 months ago (the first time I moved to Waiuku), then I became a regular customer that come almost every sunday lunch. Throughout my experience with this restaurant, I never feel dissapointed. I love the way they set the open kitchen and how fresh the food is (I believe freshness play a big role in Japanese food). The owner/chef is also very kind and willing to explain each of little question or curiousity about the food. The price of the food is very valuable if you compare with fancy jap restaurant in town. This restaurant is definetely a pleasure for people who life in pukekohe. Ps: I would be happy to drive all the way from Auckland just to have lunch here because this experience is a happiness.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Njusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKitchenSakura, Public Relations Manager at Japanese Kitchen Sakura, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Hi Njusz,

We are happy to know that we never disappoint you and happy to have you as a regular customer. We always try our best to deliver good food and it is a compliment for us that you love our food and atmosphere. We hope we will be able to always bring happiness to you and see you soon for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Japanese Kitchen Sakura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This place is a little hard to find as it doesn't have big signage and is located off a supermarket carpark. The food is authentic Japanese, The Chef is really nice, and quite often brings out little extra tastings to try. In summer it is a great place to sit on the roof top for lunch, food and Asahi beer in hand! This is more of a lunchtime thing, or a large group by dinner.

1  Thank DHC2-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKitchenSakura, Public Relations Manager at Japanese Kitchen Sakura, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hello,


Thank you for your review and apologise for the delay on replying your review. We are happy to deliver good food and glad your enjoyed your lunch experience.

Hope we will see you soon in your next visit, dinner perhaps? =)

Kind regards,

Japanese Kitchen Sakura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Visited for a birthday celebration with 8 friends. Well what can you say, a perfect evening full of good cheer and great food. I wanted to give this unassuming restaurant a try as i enjoy unusual dining experiences. Everyone enjoyed, it seems, and many said oh yes we are going to go again with .... Result. I was a little concerned about the quantity of food as Japanese cuisine can be small portion,s but with about 13 or so tasting courses no fear, and not one dish was to disappoint. That is some achievement. The classics sushi, sashimi, wagu beef all beautifully prepared and served to name a few and the homemade green tea ice cream was to die for. All dishes served up with a smile from our Japanese host, waiter, chef and entertainer. This is a must visit (and must book) experience with a group of friends. (tip go and visit when making booking and chef will tailor make your menu for your group) Go agian? You bet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tooroughforafriedegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKitchenSakura, Public Relations Manager at Japanese Kitchen Sakura, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hello,

Apologies for the delay on responding your review. It was a pleasure for us to be able to provide a good cheer and provide good food. We are always trying our best to use local product and best ingredients to deliver great dishes. We also try our best to accommodate our customer preference and ensure everyone is happy.

Thank you very much for your compliment and great review. Hope we see you soon in your next visit and we are very excited to share and provide Japanese dining experience.

Kind regards,

Japanese Kitchen Sakura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

very small and personal Japanese restaurant, you are pretty much sitting in the kitchen and can see everything being prepared, its awesome! Food is incredible and make sure you checkout the electronic Japanese toilet they have installed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKitchenSakura, Public Relations Manager at Japanese Kitchen Sakura, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hi Ryan,

Apologies for the delay on replying your review Thank you for your visit and your time on reviewing us in trip advisor. We are glad that you happy with the food and our setting. Happy to share some of Japanese experience, with the electronic toilet, for example.

See you in your next visit to Japanese Kitchen Sakura.

Kind regards,

Japanese Kitchen Sakura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Our first visit to a resturant in Pukekohe and we couldn't have picked a better one!
The resturant is small and with seating for up to twenty people is intimate and comfortable; it's upstairs so is above the hussle of the street below.
The service was welcoming, engaging and prompt with dish after dish coming straight from the open kitchen in timely manner.
The food was fresh, fantastic and well presented. My pick is the mushroom stuffed with cream cheese; however whether it was the prawns or beef, everything was beautiful.
The portions were the right size for the style of dinning and at the end of the night, we left satisfied with the experience and certainly not 'heavy' from indulgence.
Our host was wonderful, good conversation and infectiously happy!
At $65.00 per person it was well worth every dollar, we'll be going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIWI_JP, Owner at Japanese Kitchen Sakura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Hi Dean

We sincerely thank you for using Japanese Kitchen SAKURA.
We felt relieved in what you enjoyed.
We are devoted to become the better every time.
Please use our restaurant habitually now...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Japanese Kitchen Sakura also viewed

Pukekohe, Auckland
 
Pukekohe, Auckland
Pukekohe, Auckland
 

Been to Japanese Kitchen Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing