We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Aldwark Arms

The Aldwark Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Aldwark Arms is a beautiful village dining pub offering locally sourced, freshly cooked produce. Our menus change seasonally throughout the year. A la Carte, Early Bird, Special Event Nights and extensive lunch menus are available. We have an excellent selection of fine wines, stunning gins and many changing real ales. Members of Camra and Cask Marque accredited. We also received a tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence every year since we have been trading and have 5 stars out of 5 for our food hygiene rating.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely experience at The Aldwark arms. The decor gives it a warm and inviting feeling. The staff are friendly and very attentive. The food was superb and great value for money. Highly recommend and will certainly be going back again! Finally a place that is a cut above!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jke1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    102
    30
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Re-opening???? So happy.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

So I hear the Aldwark is reopening in the next few weeks.
Ecstatic if this is true.....be so great to have a pub in the village again, just before Christmas.
Can't wait!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HHughespayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Arty Farty presentation”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I don't like arty farty presentations. Honest to goodness presentation is what I wanted and got chips in a small basket, awful tasting peppercorn sauce and blood running from a steak that was supposed to be medium cooked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Arrived on a beautiful summers evening completely spontaneously to find a warm friendly village pub atmosphere with excellent service. The food was a perfect portion size and cooked exceptionally. Overall a highly recommended pub/bistro!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMarple86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytholmroyd, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Website very misleading!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Aldwark Manor hotel with my partner which is half a mile down the road from the Aldwark Arms. Having researched places to eat in the area we decided this looked like a better option than dining at the hotel itself. The pubs website boasts about the quality of food, awards they have been nominated for and has an impressive looking menu so i was excited to try it out. I even considered ringing to book a table in case it was full but thought as the website states FOOD IS SERVED 4 - 9 Tuesday - Friday if we got there in plenty of time it would be ok. We got dressed up and decided to walk there arriving at 7.30pm on a sunny Thursday evening in the middle of summer to find the place was dead and the staff sat round playing domino s, not what i expected at all!!! I then asked i they were serving food only to be told that they weren't as they stopped at 8pm....even thought it was only 7.30 and the website states 9pm!! I didn't argue as i had been completely put off the place by then. Having planned our one evening away around a visit to this restaurant i was thoroughly dissapointed. The staff are clearly lazy and the website misleading, don't waste your time on this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Aldwark Arms also viewed

Crayke, Easingwold
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
 
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
Newton on Ouse, Easingwold
 
Newton on Ouse, Easingwold
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Aldwark Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing