We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I arranged a spa afternoon here for my sisters birthday and felt completely let down. I initially booked Aldwark Manor as it looked stunning and I thought the service would be of a high standard. On arrival to the spa reception we advised that we had the discovery package booked but also wanted to know if there was availability to book additional treatments and it seemed like it was an inconvenience. After finally sorting out the treatments four of the party went off for facials and massages. One of the facials took less than 15 minutes when we were told that it would be for 30 minutes. I had booked in for a nail polish for hands and feet and sat by the pool waiting for the time to go to mine. One of the staff came into get me at a time which I don't believe was booked for me and then the beautician told me that we would have to hurry up as she was running late and had someone else booked in. I was rushed to pick a colour and to be honest, I could have just done them myself as the standard was poor, the paint was smudged and it lasted 10 minutes! To be fair the feet were better than the hands and done by another beautician. We expected the cost of the treatments as that seemed pretty standard but for the length of time and quality of treatment/service, I would never gave booked there if I'd gave known how poor it was going to be, it was the worst part of our weekend and would not recommend it as I don't believe the beauticians are of a fully trained class.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Emily K

I was disappointed to read your comments following on from your spa visit.

If possible can you please e mail me with you contact details to pbeswick@qhotels.co.uk and we can arrange a convenient time to discuss your comments.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent 4 pleasant nights here. It is a golfing hotel and although we are non golfers, we found the hotel to be a very restful place to be. Service good, room excellent, spa and gym excellent. The only area where some improvement would greatly increase the desirability and profitability of the hotel, is the food! Service in the restaurant is good, but the menu is limited in choice and the food passable although the soufflé is good. The breakfast is unfortunately extremely poor in content, quality and presentation. A thorough review of this offering will be most welcome! Having said that, I would come again as I believe that this is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Character rooms excellent, especially 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan60ht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Alan60ht

I was disappointed to read some of your comments following on from your 4 night stay with us at Aldwark Manor.

I will be discussing your comments regarding breakfast and the quality of the food that you received with the Chef.

I am pleased that you will be visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Booked in for afternoon tea on Mother's Day. Lovely afternoon, delicious food and excellent service. Beautiful hotel in delightful surroundings. Well worth a visit; looking forward to our next visit already!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nottmdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Nottmdeb

Thank you for your review following on from your visit on Mothers Day for Afternoon Tea

I will pass on your comments to the chefs regarding the delicious food that you had and to the team that looked after you on the day.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Went to this hotel after booking a spa day with lunch for part of my daughters18th birthday treat. not impressed! firstly at the spa reception, the girl didn't have a clue about the deal even though l had printed the deal off the computer prior to coming. l had to read the deal to her as she was clueless about it all. Also, even though the advert said robes and slippers we had to ask for these, then the steam room was not working, the changing room showers dirty, basic facilities, not plush for a proper spa. In general, the spa was not up to the 4 stars awarded. Thereafter we went on to lunch, we were not greeted by anybody, we were left standing waiting to be seated. After a little while a gentleman arrived and told us there was a conference on and we were to join them during their lunch. This shocked us as we did not pay to join a conference lunch! After being seated, we noticed the table was dirty, a jug of water was slammed onto the table and nobody bothered to take our drinks order. Accepting this, we went up to get some food, it was pasta and various other things. The dishes were nearly empty and the sauces were stone cold! Two of us refused to eat this and complained to what we presumed was the restaurant manager. He apologized and turned up the hot plate. Also the food that was laid out there was no description saying what was in the dishes. It looked liked the food had been lying out for some time.
And some if the dishes were empty. We felt that we were eating what was left from the corporate event.
My daughter is involved with events management and made us aware that this treatment was far from acceptable. This will be sent on to the company that advised myself and my party that this venue is not appropriate for spa days and spa deals and soured my daughters birthday treat. Disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dab976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear dab976

I was disappointed to read your recent review following on from your visit.

Can I ask that you contact me on pbeswick@qhotels.co.uk with your contact details as I would like to discuss your feedback with you.

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We attended a wedding at the hotel, and decided to have a room for the night as well - when pre-booked with the wedding you could pay half as a deposit and half on the day, which was handy as its not budget prices.

The grounds of the hotel are great, surrounded by a golf course in the middle of open fields, perfect for a wedding weekend.

The wedding ceremony was in the older part of the hotel. The food was first class, as well as the service.

After checking in to the room we moved to the night do, which was held in the newer side of the hotel with a big conference room to facilitate all the guests, and the bar was well manned.

The bedroom was of a high standard with fantastic views of the golf course. Very clean and quiet.

The breakfast was good, service all day was brilliant and parking was free and easy.

All in all, a lovely hotel - perfect for a wedding.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Jonesg02

Thank you for recent review that you have written after you attended a wedding at the Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the day and that you thought the hotel was a great venue for a wedding. We have great suites and grounds that can make the wedding day a unique experience.

Thank you for your comments

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great weekend, staff very friendly, room spacious and a place that appears larger than it is......capturing a small hotel with good standards and a personal touch. Will return. Toll bridge on route to hotel just sets the tone for the stay....relaxing, enchanting and a breath of fresh air.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Notsakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Notsakc

I was pleased to read your review following on from your “lovely weekend” at Aldwark Manor.

The toll bridge is unique and the 40p charge is a great way to cross the river.

When you are ready to return please visit the QHotels website for the latest offers.

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My sister and I spent 3 nights at Aldwark Manor, where I had stayed previously with my husband.
The room was a good size and clean and well presented and a problem with the bathroom door was sorted whilst we had breakfast. The food was good with plenty of choice and my only complaint was that there were no tongs for the toast. The staff were all very helpful and considerate in particular Kasha and Harry on Reception and phil and Hanna in the Dining room. Also e lady from Cumbria whose name I can't remember.
The spa facilities are also very good.

Room Tip: Take the advice of the staff they know what they are talking about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Janis J

Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent visit to Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa.

I was pleased to read your comments and I will pass these on to them and I am pleased that we managed to sort out the issue with the bathroom door quickly.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,659 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.2 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
681 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range: £89 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing