We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely friendly hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As we had stayed here before I booked a break for our 40th wedding anniversary we had room 203 which was beautiful overlooking the terrace first 2 nights even with a wedding going on was fine but on saturday night a birthday bash for about 20 was in the squadron bar directly below us it got to 1 oclock in the morning it was very noisy and the door to the terrace was crashing constantly as people went outside to smoke we phoned reception asked what time that bar closed she said it was 24 hours but would send someone along to tell them to keep noise down, they didnt and they actually all went at 3 in the morning, we complained next day and was moved to another room it did spoil what was a lovely break but the manager did a brilliant job. I must say I agree with the other reviews for that weekend in the restaurant it was abyssal on sun and monday night you waited so long and then they forgot what you asked for the staffdidnt seem to know what they were doing we had to ask for everything twice we did hear lots of comments from other guests one thing was we ordered a bottle of wine it arrived we asked for a wine cooler they couldnt find one so got a small bucket filled it with iced water put it on the table put bottle in then 10 mins later discovered said bucket was pumping water all over the table did advise waiter I had a hole in my bucket sadly didnt get what I was saying by this time we were in hysterics at least ended the day with a laugh

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room 203 is over a bar but the views from that room are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear ginger197

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following on form your 40th Anniversary stay with us.

Room 203 is one of our feature rooms in the Manor and has great views over the golf course but as you said this is over the terrace. I apologise for the noise from the residents in the bar below you and I can guarantee that the night team did ask them to keep the noise down.

As a return guest of the Hotel you are aware that service in the restaurant that weekend is not indicative of our usual standard of service and I hope that this has not put you off returning again in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    515
    295
    139
    77
See reviews for
233
848
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

On 18th April I stayed at the hotel for 1 night. I purchased the spa package which cost in total for 2 of us, £240 due to it being on a bank holiday. I was very much looking forward to the break as it was to celebrate my 29th birthday with my partner.

Overall the stay was enjoyable, but there were a few issues.

Unfortunately there was a mix up with treatment times. I thought I had booked the treatment for 5pm but when I got to the spa at 3pm I was told the time I was booked in for was 2pm and we had missed our treatments. I requested the hotel staff to check the voice recording which they did and stated I said 2pm. I asked if I could listen to the whole recording just to satisfy myself that this was correct. They agreed but found it difficult to replay the whole message and could only replay part of the recording. I stated that I thought I changed the times later on in the conversation but they did not play the whole recording so this obviously filled me with doubt which spoilt the experience. I had to call on my own mobile using on an expensive number to satisfy my curiosity which was a bit annoying. It was unfortunate I lost out on treatments on my birthday. To add to my annoyance I was not put on hold during my phone call at the spa and I could clearly hear a women in the background being rather rude. This was quite unprofessional. The spa staff stated that she had tried to call me but it did not connect. There was no signal in the area so my phone did not record any missed call. We had left the restaurant just after 2pm and sat in the bar 2-3pm. The lady stated she had looked everywhere but we were only in the next room and no-one looked in there.
The lady then did offer to move one x 25 minute treatment to the following day at 10:30am. We took it but this did mean us cancelling our lunch reservations in York which was very disappointing. I was called up at 10:45 and was in the relaxation room just before 11am which was less than 15 minutes in total- I found this highly disappointing after the whole palaver the previous day. The price list stated that this treatment should cost £25, this is a lot of money for what was essentially less than a 5 minute massage as I spent a few minutes filling in a form and changing!

I called the hotel to check the booking on 16th April stating that I had not received any confirmation and the response was to simply 'turn up on the day', I wanted reassurance regarding times etc and was told I would be given everything at the reception. You only get dinner time reservation when you check in in so write everything down as the only correspondence I received via email is the review email!!

In the evening we had a £26 meal voucher each- you will need to put extra in. We spent an additional £50. We both had a starter, main, 1 x sides, desert and bottle of wine. I think they were short staffed on the night as we were in the restaurant over 2 hours but the food was very nice and the restaurant staff very friendly.

The hotel and grounds were great, the weather helped! There is a pub a short walk away and the area itself is a very laid back with a great atmosphere. Would I go back again? Yes, but maybe take a bottle of wine for the room as the bar price are quite high and try the 55 minute spa treatment in the hope you would get a better experience!

In all, a nice place and good hotel and staff. I think they definitely need to send confirmation with all times over email as I am used to that from other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear 67Alison

Thank you for your review following on from your spa break.

We would like to discuss your feedback with you. If at all possible can you e-mail me on pbeswick@qhotels.co.uk with your contact details and a convenient time and either myself or Tony the Leisure and Spa Manager will be in touch.

I look forward to speaking with you soon,

Kind regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a one night spa break direct with Qhotels and had a lovely stay, but some elements of the break were disappointing. The hotel and setting are beautiful, set in lovely grounds surrounded by the golf course and gardens. However in many places the hotel is in need of redecoration, particularly our room (504) which was very tired and basic, and could have been cleaner. The spa was very nice, treatments good and staff friendly. However changing facilities were tired and not very clean or tidy. The service for lunch in the restaurant was very poor. We arrived at 1.20pm and the main parts of the buffet lunch were almost empty. When we asked if it would refilled the waiter was very slow, offhand and disinterested. When some bowls were refilled the food was nice but there was very little choice. Dinner on the other hand was lovely and the service was excellent. We had some drinks in the lounge bars which were very nice and buffet breakfast next day was good although the hot food was only warm. Overall the hotel is charming but attention to detail is lacking and it needs quite a bit of TLC. It was reasonable value for money but could have been much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Jaxter01

I was disappointed to read some of your comments following on from your recent spa break with us.

I will be discussing your comments regarding your room with the housekeeper as it is not acceptable that you feel the room was not clean. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner and I will pass your comments on to the Chef and the restaurant team.

Thank you for your feedback and despite the set backs I hope that you will return to Aldwark Manor in the future.

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked it last minute and really enjoyed the break! The spa treatments were excellent, our 15 year old daughter had her first facial and the therapist Pam talked her through everything she was doing! The pool and sauna were excellent, thoroughly enjoyed them. Breakfast was good, slight problem with evening meal, but the staff handled it very well. All the staff were very pleasant and really helpful. If you get a chance to go, don't think you will be disappointed. The grounds are amazing, we went for a lovely walk in the evening along the river which is easily accessible. A true gem in the Yorkshire countryside. Can't really understand negative reviews on here, but each to their own!!! We will go back!

Room Tip: We had room 201 at the back - sunrise and amazing sunset seen!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Wendy P

I was pleased to read your recent review following on from your Easter Break.

I will pass on your positive comments to Pam in the Spa and I agree with you that the grounds are amazing and the walk along the river at dusk is spectacular.

I hope that you get the chance to return to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here on a Spa Break as a b'day treat - booked direct with Q-Hotels and to be fair the overall package was really good...although not cheap. Hotel is set in lovely grounds and rooms look to have recently been refurbished, Spa area pool steam room etc all really nice too but....

Was really disappointed with my Spa Treatment - was supposed to last 50 minutes but only just broke the 30 minute mark and didn't think massage was actually that good which was a shame as had been looking forward to it for weeks.

Food on the whole was good - although strange seating arrangement in the restaurant where you almost sat on the same table as other parties divided by a little planter - we heard all of their conversation and they heard all of ours (!) - not exactly conducive to a relaxed romantic evening meal. Break-ie was buffet style but a lot of the food was just loop warm, the spa-lunch though was excellent.

Only other issue was the dance music blasting out from the wedding that was also being held at the hotel - probably depends on which room you get and it did finally finish up a while after midnight.

Think average probably sums it up!

BTW food the pub in the village is excellent and worth a visit only 5 mins walk!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53anc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear 53anc

Thank you for your recent review following your spa break and I was disappointed to read some of your comments.

I will address the treatment time with the Leisure & Spa Manager but the 50 minutes does include the consultation time. I will re look at the restaurant configuration with the Restaurant Manager to see if there is a better way to position the table.

53anc, once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have visited this hotel a number of times previously and been happy with it, but standards seem to have slipped significantly. We just had a standard room, no. 309. It was ok, but looking a bit tired. We did not say anything about this, but felt we had to complain about the restaurant. It was really busy on the Sunday night, and we waited 40 minutes for our starter. The food was ok, but we had further delay for our main courses, which were overcooked. I had plaice, which was dry, and served on a piece of wood too small for the meal, and bits kept falling off onto the table. We did not bother having a dessert as we did not want to wait again. We could hear other diners grumbling too.
The next morning, just after 9am, breakfast items were very much depleted and not quickly replenished e.g. A cheese plate had one slice of Emmental, and the croissant basket was empty. We didn't want to make a fuss, but the manager did ask us if we had enjoyed our breakfast so we told him of our negative experiences.
On a positive note, I had a spa treatment for half price which was lovely, in no small measure due to the therapist, Pam who was really nice. Also my husband enjoyed a round of golf on the excellent course.
Overall, did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Jean E

Thank your for taking the time to give me feedback following on from your recent stay.

I can assure you that I have discussed your comments with the relevant managers and we have already changed the presentation of the plaice and put procedures in place to prevent the restaurant booking situation happening.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your spa treatment from Pam and that your husband enjoyed the golf.

I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Arrived at Hotel, a bit more out the way than we thought. We were greeted by reception in a friendly manner, and was treated like a VIP.
Was with my mum and son and rooms were next to each other, very spacious and very clean and had all we needed, asked for robes and were delivered to my mum within 10 mins.
Food and service from restaurant staff was excellent and well looked after, and used spa was great, and my mum had treatment and enjoyed it.
Housekeeping left extra tea for mum, and provided fresh milk as needed
Overall had a great stay and all staff were well trained and treated us very well, Thank you

Room Tip: Great view from back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenP443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear StephenP443

I was pleased to read your recent review after your “Excellent Stay” with us at Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel.

I will be passing on your comments to the team especially the reception and housekeeping team who kept the tea and milk topped up for you.

I hope that we get the chance to see you at Aldwark Manor soon,

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
23.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,563 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,219 reviews
11.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Property: Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing