We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aldwark manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We recently spent a few days at Aldwark manor and we had an amazing time from the moment we were greeted at reception until we left we were given first class treatment. Unfortunately our grandson had a fall whilst at the hotel and the staff were so kind and helpful we cannot thank them enough really wish I could remember the member of staff who assisted us I do know that he was the trainer for the lifeguards but a big thank you to him. Will have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Lynn F

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following on from your recent stay with us.

I will pass your comments on to Arron who was the person on duty and we all hope that your grandson has made a full recovery.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Aldwark Manor in the future,

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,823)
There are newer reviews for Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very expensive night £140 for one night

Spa..... Very very poor.. Pool area , pool very smalll and def not clean. There was a jacuzzi which could fit a max of prob five people in (the spa was full of girly weekenders). There was only four chairs poolside, again not enough for people to sit around. The windows were filthy, look like they havent been cleaned this year.. Robes were tired and ripped.
Cafe area in spa ... No iced water or juice etc on tap. There were several chairs outside however as i said before if they were in use there was nowhere for you to sit... The chairs were filthy, look like they hadnt been cleaned for years. This outside area was also in full view(only ten ft ) of all the golfers going past, this wasevery five minutes..... It wouldnt have taken much thought to put a discreet low hedge or someyhing to block the area.

Food in hotel
This was the only saving grace of the hotel... Food was pleasant, not to expensive and quite tasty.

Bar area
Nice bar, pleasant staff, but again ouside seating area poor standards.

Overall this hotel is predom aimed for golfers, the staff were friendly enough however even the staff say it is outdated and needs to be revamped, they state it is going to happen over the next several years..... Bit too late for us though.

Rooms. No better than a premier inn. Windows came of the hinges... Couldnt use the phine even to ring reveption.. Wardrobe door not on hinges.

General hotel.
Carpets filthy, food on chairs. Needs a really good clean


Wouldnt go back. Maybe when its been overhauled in a year or two.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear ann B

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am disappointed to read that your experience wasn’t as you anticipated. Our Spa and Leisure club do get extremely busy during the course of a weekend with both hotel guests and external members and whilst we take every opportunity to ensure that all our guests have a thoroughly pleasant experience it is the challenge that keeps all the team focused.

I have taken your comments on board and we always welcome suggestions on how we can change or improve things going forward. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the moment you walk in there is no one on reception to great you just a telephone that rings and rings until you eventually have to go find someone yourself. There are dead flys, spiders and dust everywhere from your bedroom to the bar. The shower even had a lovely cobweb hanging from the wooden beam in the bathroom. A lovely piece of toilet roll stuck in the side of the bath to fill a gap and a bedroom door that could have me pushed open with some force. Not the safe and clean environment you expect for over a 100 pounds a night. Dirty glasses and plates are presented to you with a " I can't be bothered to serve you " attitude from all the staff. DO NOT STAY HERE! Awful isn't even the word to discribe it let alone being disgustingly overpriced and dirty

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Lauren S

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at the hotel.

I am sorry that you feel you have had a bad experience with us. I have addressed your issues with the Housekeeping team and, due to the location and age of the building and the recent warmer climate, it is unfortunately inevitable that insects appear in and around the hotel quickly. The Housekeeping department do make every effort to keep this to a minimum so our guests can have an enjoyable experience with us.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Came to this hotel for a family wedding in the area. Knew the price was high but decided as a family to spend the money and enjoy our time here in a luxurious hotel. Extremely disappointed at the service, rooms and especially the cleanliness!!! Flies and spiders all over the hallway, bedrooms not up to standards- sofa bed horribly uncomfortable and even normal beds old and very used!! Was told we would be considered a cheaper rate as many of our friends and family were staying here, however apparently this is something they never do! Therefore a false promise was made, and then no apology when it turned out to be wrong. After speaking with the manager who was not very helpful we were offered 20% off which although again we didn't feel was enough, we agreed to. Went to the desk to pay and then realised they had only taken 10% off.... again we had to speak to the manager.
Would never recommend this hotel to anyone unless you want to pay an extreme amount for a stay more tragic than a bedsit.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annaaarachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Annaaarachel

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following on from your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that you feel your stay was disappointing. We do offer advanced discounted rates which are all subject to availability at the time of booking. We also offer a further discount rate on rooms that are booked for weddings held within the hotel and I believe this is where confusion has arisen from as we have listened to a playback of your call and there was no mention of extra discount on offer.

Thank you again for taking to the time to provide feedback to us. We do take all feedback seriously and endeavour to ensure that all our guests have a wonderful experience at the hotel.

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a great spa day at Aldwark Manor yesterday to celebrate a friends 40th. Excellent value and friendly staff. We were on a two for £99 deal to include facial and lunch.Had the best ever facial by Caroline. Would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Stuart S

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following on from your spa day with.

I will be passing on your comments to Caroline who is one of our most experienced therapist and we look forward to welcoming you back inn the future

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just had 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast in the Aldwark Manor and wanted to say how much my wife and I enjoyed our stay. Location, accommodation, catering and all the staff were simply excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Suites in the old part of the hotel overlooking the golf course are lovely rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnben2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Johnben2008

Following on from your “Excellent Experience” with us at Aldwark Manor can I thank you for your great review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

When you are ready to return please visit the QHotels website for the latest offers,

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked hotel for a customer and went to join him for dinner tonight. Very disappointing food. Menu looks good but is pricy. Far too heavy on the salt. Dirty plates and cutlery. Melamine peeling off the tables. Runny chicken liver parfait! Poor bread. Chips lack lustre and undercooked. Very slow and disinterested service. Wine list very expensive and bottle of Rioja blanco at £26 was of a quality I would expect to pay sub £10 for.
Area around the ladies toilets is disgustingly dirty. There is no pride in this hotel at all. Avoid.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Samantha M

I was disappointed to read your review following on from your dinner with your customer.

At Aldwark Manor we do pride ourselves on the quality of food that we serve and I can assure you that I will be discussing your comments with the head chef as these are not indicative of our usual standards.

I have already spoken with the housekeeping team regarding your comments about cleanliness and action has already been taken.

Thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
23.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,620 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,279 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,655 reviews
11.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range: £88 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing