We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A lovely relaxing time at Aldwark Manor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Lake district uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing time at Aldwark Manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We have just returned home today after a trip to Aldwark Manor which was a package deal booked with Golf Breaks who were very helpful.

I went on this trip with my husband and another couple. Our husbands played golf for three days while we relaxed in the pool, sauna ect. We also went on a trip to York. We went into York via the Local bus which is not very frequent, however we did manage to get a bus at 9:30 am, and returned at 3:30 pm from York. This was excellent value as it takes 30 minutes, the cost only £2.50 per person, if you are a OAP you can travel for free on your bus pass, the bus even stopes outside the gates of Aldwark by request.

Besides having a lovely relaxing time, the fool was of excellent quality and really enjoyable. Also, the staff are very friendly and very helpful. I must make a special mention to Merill, from the restaurant, we did have a little hic up, Merill sorted this out in a very professional manner and made us feel very special, please note Management, you have a very special member of staff in Merill, we would like to sent our sincere thanks to her for all her help.

In summary, I would say to anyone to use this Hotel, it is in lovely grounds, lovely and relaxing, and the staff are lovely - Book Now.

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicelady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWhittaker, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future. Steven Whittaker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    471
    273
    122
    65
See reviews for
202
778
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

we stayed at this hotel for one night on a pre booked package deal. We initially had to park in the overflow car park which is quite a walk to the hotel as the main car park was full by the golfers. Good points: Lovely location and grounds, The room was very spacious, bathroom was of a good size, evening meal was excellent and breakfast was also very nice. The pool was clean and we enjoyed the sauna and steam room however the jacuzzi was out of order.
Bad points: We had booked facials and we found the the spa receptionist was quite unfriendly and not particularly helpfull. My friend was rushed through her facial and wasnt offered any of the products used or advice, where as i was offered advice and given recomendations. We found the staff in the resteraunt to be quite stand offish and service could be improved. In general the good points did out weigh the bad .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beleewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWhittaker, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future. Steven Whittaker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

I booked a 2 night spa break package with a party of ten ladies for my hen do and it was a spectacular weekend. We all thought the service was fantastic and staff could not do enough for you. We enjoyed our meals restaurant, including my sister who is a chef and not easily pleased! The menu changed daily and they were beautifully presented. The spa was clean and had eveything we needed. Everyone had treatments and found staff to be knowledgeable, informative and organised. The grounds were beautfiul and it only 30 mins to go shopping in York. The only thing that needs immediate attention is the carpets up the stairs on the way to the rooms. They are worn and tatty and need replacing. Apart from that we all enjoyed a relaxing weekend and I would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevensonvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

2nd visit to Aldwark Manor. My friend and I stayed last year for a Spa break and enjoyed it so much we returned this year.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the leisure facilities great. We had lovely meals in the restaurant, and enjoyed a few after dinner drinks in the Terrace bar.
We enjoyed the free airshow as the planes went past. Close enough to see but far enough away so there was minimal noise.
Can't wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWhittaker, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future. Steven Whittaker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

My wife and I booked a room at this hotel over 6 months earlier, so that we could enjoy a full day and night at the wedding of one of our good friends, without the hassle of having to get cabs to and from the venue, 11 miles from our house in York.
The wedding day was great and the food/service pretty good as well.
That's about were it all ended!
We were given the keys to room 202 and I have to say we were truly shocked by this pokey, grubby, small single bedroom with a double bed squeezed into it. Outside was not much better with the steady throb of the extractor fan outside the window and had pipework and drains running along the wall in full view.
I went downstairs to be told they only had one other room, 408, which I went to inspect.
The previous owner had left in a hurry, the bed was unmade and the room untidy. The room was very warm and I opened the window to find a wasps nest outside. I later found out that another wedding guest had been moved earlier due to the wasp problem.
The manager then offered us a small twin (204) or a disabled room that she said even she would not stay in!!
And that was it, we had nowhere to stay and ended up driving home and getting taxi's to and from the evening reception instead.
This hotel has a policy of not letting single night rooms at the weekend, and I guess they want to keep their golfing customers sweet by giving them preference, but when you are a guest at a once in a lifetime event, that has cost a friend nearly £10k, is giving a them a decent room too much to ask?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

beautiful setting but needing a good clean. The older part of the hotel is needing totally refurbished. Avoid rooms on the 2nd floor they are very dated and tired. The new part of the building is getting new carpets and this has made a huge difference. The dining room is lovely but was filthy, the floor was dirty and the seating had crumbs on seats and stains which was a shame as it could have been stunning if extra care was taken with cleaning.
The food - was first class, we had a dinner bed and breakfast deal and it was well worth the money, There was a large choice and the roast beef was amazing.

The staff - were very friendly and helpful and smart in appearance.

Not much to do in the evening after your meal, the terrace lounge again was grubby , bar in lounge area closed . there is an outdoor terrace to sit in but it was not swept and had a lot of cigarette butts in ashtrays and on ground .

Value for money. rooms on 3rd floor to 5th floor better as very modern .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happywalkers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Firstly just to put you in the picture - I was one of a group of 6 fellas on a three night DBB - 4 rounds of golf break.

Having read most of the reviews on this hotel before we left, I was like many a little nervous.

I can put all your fears to bed, the hotel was delight and I have joined Trip Advisor just to sayso!

It is exceptionally clean, all the staff I met were curtious and polite and nothing was ever too much trouble.

The golf was superb - 9 old holes plus 9 new holes over the river, now its not Augusta or St Andrews but it is a fair course that will get you thinking, and the greens are very receptive to a good approach shot and the pin positions can be tricky.

The food was very good - I didn't see the main courses vary very much during our stay only the accompanying vegetables but I suppose that would only become an issue if you were to stay longer than a week. Breakfast was of a similar standard to the evening meal V Good.

The Spa (sauna, pool steam room) area was very clean - i used this every morning and evening, the only thing I could see that needed changing was the handrail in the jacuzzi area but other than that I was impressed.

My only real gripe was the bar prices £3.40/pint - £4.50 for a bottle of cider, no local pub nearby. There is a Gastro pub in Aldwark village but it was to our taste - no pool table juke box etc. We found it cheaper (and more lively) to get a mini bus for the 6 of us into york each night and go drinking there. (£60 return for 6).

Would we go back (as a group of golfers no, there again we very rarely go to the same place twice).
Me with the wife then Yes, a long weekend away -game of golf some shopping in York, lazy mornings then a definate yes)

Comeon mr manager offer me a nice pacakge deal LOL.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK3LLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWhittaker, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future. Steven Whittaker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
22.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
21.2 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 85 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Property: Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing