We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired and dated”
Review of Aldwark Manor Spa

Aldwark Manor Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Aldwark
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are looking for a relaxing spa break, spa day or spa treatment in North Yorkshire, the team at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel is skilled in the art of relaxation. From a soothing facial to the gentle easing of muscles with an all over body massage, the tranquility and calm encapsulated in our spa will ensure your body and mind are transported to a state of total well being. Our spa, which is home to a fabulous health club, 7 spa treatment rooms, a relaxation room, indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and a dedicated lounge for spa guests, is open seven days a week!
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“tired and dated”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I visited Aldwark with friends and was very disappointed. the changing rooms were dirty and so was the shower area. The windows are filthy in the pool area, and there was no where to sit as very few loungers. I had a lash tint which I had to complain about as no one could tell I had had it done!. I will not return, very disappointing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RuBear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    38
    32
    35
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth Northumberland England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spa day”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good value-shame the pool is small and only 4 loungers-also they shut jacuzzi and steam room Monday together

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CazzaD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing Spa Afternoon”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We visited the Spa yesterday and came away very disappointed by the whole experience. The spa is very tired and very basic. Unfortunately the steam room was out of order, which seems to be a common problem after looking at other reviews. There are only 4 sunbeds that were all reserved by other guest's towels. The windows were filthy! Sauna, jacuzzi and pool were all clean and a nice temperature.

The most irritating issue was the fact the spa had apparently run out of robes, as we were informed by a very unapologetic receptionist. I asked if should any become available throughout the afternoon if we could please have them, to which she agreed. However this never happened, even though everyone else that walked in after us was wearing a robe! When we left the pool area to go into the 'relaxation area' (not that relaxing listening to a squeaky aircon unit) we asked again if any robes had become free. Still no, despite the fact there was a basket full of used ones by the changing rooms. We were told we were able to sit in our (wet) towels and were given some dry ones to sit on so we didn't spoil the furniture. We felt rather stupid surrounded by every other guest wearing a robe or other guests who were fully dressed! Not exactly relaxing. I understand this seems like a small problem, it just was something that have could have been solved so easily that wound us up as the afternoon went on. We would have taken our own had we not have been told they were available to hire. Surely they should be reserved for those who had placed bookings?!

We then each had a treatment which although were lovely, they were both very rushed and I was back in the bar area within 20 minutes. When booking the spa afternoon I was really pleased to see positive reviews and was really looking forward to it. We also recently attended a wedding fair and we were very impressed with the hotel surroundings. Not sure if yesterday happened to be a bad day but it's safe to say we won't be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank NR123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spa”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Reception staff were very welcoming , the pool was very warm and never overcrowded the facilities in the changing rooms were. Dry good

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Lynn F,

Thank you for the response and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the Spa facilities.

We hope you return soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Beswick

General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SPA DAY SPOILT”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After a 40 minute journey we arrived only to be told the swimming pool and Jacuzzi were out of order, so only steam rooms available. We were very disappointed as this day was to celebrate my friends 50th Birthday, plus the fact she had been seriously ill earlier on the year and this was going to be a nice relaxing day for us. We were told we could re-book for another day. The staff on reception were very apologetic and nice, however a phone call would have been appreciated as they had known it was out of order since 5.30am. Will re-book and hopefully our experience will be much better, but this still spoilt what should have been a lovely day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank y0rksarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear sarah,

Sorry for the inconveniece of the pool being out of action for the day, as it was something which was out of our control. We hope you enjoyed Spa day in the end and you can return in the future.

Kind regards,

Paul Beswick

General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldwark Manor Spa also viewed

 

Been to Aldwark Manor Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing