We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Misurina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Misurina
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

After reading many trip advisor reviews we were very sceptical about staying here. It sounded a bit like "Fawlty Towers".We had no choice as we had changed our travel plans and found that most accomodation in and around Cortina was already booked in what is the busiest week of the Italian Ski Season.
Maybe our expectations were low but we were very pleasantly surprised overall with our stay.
The positives are definitely the location and the view if you ask for a lake view room. We stayed as a family of four with teenage children. The room was basic but spacious and clean,the breakfast was ample and the faclilties like the pool,happy hour,nightly entertainment etc were adequate.The nightly menu left a little to be desired but it wasn't inedible.
The negatives are definitely that this place lacks strong management. So whilst the staff can be friendly or apologetic for not delivering on some issue the fact remains that without direction from the top the service can be lacking and jaded. My husband is an Italian speaker and this is a definite advantage.
Others may find it a disadvantage but we found that the remoteness of the location from Cortina (11km) meant that the place felt more like a guest house. We often played cards or sang along to the cheesy songs each evening and we throughly enjoyed ourselves. We have stayed in Cortina central previously in another 4 star and found that the proximity to the main street meant that our stay was less personal.
This place is not for everyone and is probably more like a good 2 star or 3 star but overall we really enjoyed our stay.
Overall though I think this place represents excellent value for your money in a town that is more expensive than most other resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    194
    115
    73
    47
See reviews for
226
218
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It was the first time that we've been to Grand Misurina, and most probably, the last. First of all, this hotel is certainly not a 4 star establishment. More a 3 star one, but still cannot compete with similar 3 star hotels in Austria.

Standard rooms are quite small, but clean. Equipped with a TV (old type) and fridge, no safe deposit box. We've had occasional problems with heating - our radiators would get cold at times, so it was really hard to dry your clothes after a whole day of skiing.

Speaking of skiing - the hotel is not really prepared to handle skiers. The skiroom is small, located in a room next to underground garage. No ski boots heaters! Access to ski room from a fire staircase - steep and slippery. Ski room is always open, but at the same time there are not enough padlocks to lock your skis in the racks and the hotel refuses any responsibility for any damage or theft.

Food is bland, small portions. The only night with good food was Saturday, when some regional food was served. It seems there are too few waiters in the restaurant, cause we've had problems placing orders for our drinks plus we've had piles of dirty dishes lying on our table pretty much all the time.

Staff is very friendly, but they don't speak good English. So in case you have any queries or problems, unless you speak good Italian, there is a good chance they won't help. The reception team were also unable to give us some basic information regarding the slopes, where to buy skipasses etc. They didn't have any piste maps. This might seem quite unmeaningful, but if you've arrived there for the first time and the nearest tourist information is in Cortina, 15 km awawy, it suddently becomes a much bigger challenge to organize your skiing.

Swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi were OK. Please note that the sauna is charged extra, we paid 8 EUR per person.

The location next to the lake is quite nice, but there is really nothing there except for the hotel, a small gift shop and a supermarket. If you arrive by car - good for you! Otherwise transport to the nearest slopes becomes a challenge. There is no regular skibus - only 1 bus daily! The hotel offers an alternative transport, but the minibus only takes 8 people at a time and it only makes 3-4 runs in the morning and then again in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the side wing, numbers from 40-49 (140-149, 240-249 etc) have a view either overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
279 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have been to Misurina twice this year. It's a lovely spot with easy access to Tre Cime which offers great hiking and wonderful views.

Our room was at the rear of the hotel so no lake view. However, the room was very large with twin beds pushed together, a settee and flat screen TV with no English channels and a big balcony. The furniture was dated but adequate. The shower only bathroom was equipped with toiletries. The hotel had swimming pool which we did not use. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice of hot and cold food. Popular with tour groups. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Parking available onsite free of charge.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is very well equiped; the rooms are small but nice and clean, the furniture is a little bit old but still OK. The pool is big and the water temperature is about 28-29celsius dgr. They also have small whirpool with very hot water - they write there that the whirpool is for children but it is too hot for them so we used it as a very goog but hot whirpool :-). The hotel restaurant is very good as well as the hotel bar with live music. They have their own parking place but not enough big. The location of the hotel is excellent just several meters from the byroad to main and most beautifull part of Sexten Dolomity - Trecime di Lavaredo. It is possible to make several very good trips to the nicestl part od Dolomity Mountains. Just in front of the hotel is the lake Misurina. We were there at the begining of summer and the weather was nice. Of course with some rests of snow even on the mountains paths. It is better t be prepared to the possibility to meet really big areas of snow which have to be somehow owercame. You will need good shoes. If you want to stay in good hotel atl the best location in Sexten Dolomity - go there.

Room Tip: The best rooms have the windws drected to the south - so to the lake. The other rooms have view to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. It's more a 3star hotel. The food is good and the setting is breathtakingly beautiful. I would recommend short stays and booking at least a week or two in advance to get the best rates. I used booking.com. 3 of us booked a room with half board for €150 a night. We then decided to stay a second night and the best rate we could get was €185 for bed and breakfast only. The rooms are clean but old fashioned.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogecko747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent and that's it. Definately not a four star hotel in my eyes. I always stay in four and five star hotels when I travel (and I work in a five star hotel). On arrival to our room, we found the heating was not working and -15 degrees outside was met in the room also. We asked at the reception three times to have it switched on. Our refrigerator in the room did not work also but eventually the staff repaired the heating and the refrigerator. We had a hired vehicle and when we asked to park our car in the underground parking were told that it was full and that we had to park outside. We asked for two locks to lock up our skis and were told that there was only one lock available at the time. We then asked for assistance to put the ski chains on our wheels and the man that had a look told us that the chains were the wrong size and they do not fit. On looking at the package that the chains were in we noticed that the chains fitted many size tyres including the tyres we had on the car. The hotel charged us for everything including the swimming pool, the hat that we had to buy to use the swimming pool (which was very cold) and also the use of the underground parking when we did get the parking for the car. The wine list was a joke. We ordered three different wines which were advertised and not available. Eventually we settled for the waiters choice which was not great. The hotel was full of children making noise continously. The meals as we were on half board were good. If it wasn't for the chef with his good meals we would have left the hotel sooner. The internet which was only available in the hotel lobby was far too slow and very frustrating. Over all a very poor show for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy50happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We got a very good experience for the money we payed.
It cost 85 euro for a night, and we got meals for the whole day. The food was good.
The staff was very nice, they were happy to help and tipped us about the places to walk and to see.

The only bad thing: the pool was too cold.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sveta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misurina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorapiss
Hotel Sorapiss
#1 of 7 in Misurina
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
QUINZ Locanda Al Lago
QUINZ Locanda Al Lago
#2 of 7 in Misurina
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lavaredo
Hotel Lavaredo
#7 of 7 in Misurina
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Dolomiti Des Alpes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Misurina
30 reviews
6.2 mi away
Nord Hotel
Nord Hotel
#38 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Misurina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Misurina

Property: Grand Hotel Misurina
Address: Via Monte Piana 21 | Misurina Lake, 32041 Misurina, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Misurina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Misurina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Misurina 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Misurina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misurina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing