We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably, it was even better than our first visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Haute Traversiere
Ranked #1 of 4 Francueil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Unbelievably, it was even better than our first visit!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was our (my wife and I) second visit to La Haute Traversière. We were first here in 2011 and loved it so much, we absolutely knew where we had to stay on this return trip to the Loire Valley. And we weren't disappointed! Au contraire, (nice bit of French, eh!) we were totally blown away!

Since we were going to be there for a whole week, we opted this time to stay in the Gîte, a fully self-contained little cottage apartment, separate from the main house. And what a place it is! Carved out from what was basically the barn of this classic 19th century farmhouse, like the rest of the property, it's been very carefully restored, so that it retains its original charm and ambiance, but has all the mod cons.

And by “all the mod cons”, I mean just that (except for air conditioning, of course - after all, we are in France!): the kitchen (see photos), which is open-plan onto the large, fully- and tastefully-furnished lounge, has a large 'fridge/freezer, modern oven and separate range (complete with hood extractor!), full-size dishwasher, a microwave, and the full range of kitchen equipment/accessories, including food-mixer, coffee-percolator, single-cup 'Keurig'-style coffee maker, etc., and enough kitchenware, pots, plates, glasses, cutlery, etc to serve an army. Indeed, if you think you're missing some special utensil or other, just open one of the many cupboards or drawers, and I'll bet you find one there!

The modern, fully-tiled bathroom is both large and airy, with a gloriously sized shower. The toilet is located adjacent to, but separate from the bathroom.

There are two bedrooms: one with a very comfortable, queen-size bed and large wardrobe; the other with two twin-beds and a third bed in an overhead loft, reached from within the bedroom by a sturdy staircase. Both bedrooms have lovely 'stable-door'-type doors opening onto the delightful gardens.

The gardens themselves, which are restricted to guests of the Gîte, are huge. Beautifully and caringly maintained (by your hostess' father), they are full of fruit trees, roses and other flower beds. The door from the double bedroom opens onto a neat little patio, table and chairs and, wait for it, yes, a brick-built barbecue! Oh, and I didn't mention the large, above-ground pool, did I, which is also reserved for guests of the Gîte!

For a family of five, or less, the Gîte has to be the most wonderfully economical way to explore the Loire Valley. It's superbly situated as a base for day-visits to nearly all the chateaux and the facility to buy and cook your own food in your own kitchen/bbq makes it incredibly affordable.

And talking of food, just make sure you take the opportunity to experience the pièce de résistance of this wonderful hostelry – the food! How Isabelle and Janick, the absolutely delightful couple who run this place do it, I don't know, but I guarantee you won't find better, home-grown/locally-produced cuisine anywhere!

I won't bore you here with all the details of their incredible five-course dinners or their delectable breakfasts (take a look at my prior Sept, 2011, review or the reviews of any of the other travelers who've been lucky enough to stay here), just don't miss the opportunity to sample it! You won't regret it!

I will, however, repeat the summary of my prior review: this place is brilliant! Lovely, unspoiled location, comfortable rooms, outstanding food, charming hosts, and all at a superbly affordable price.

Oh, and there's lots of secure parking on the property, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menifeemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We will return without a doubt! Isabelle was extremely welcoming and went out of her way to make sure all was right. She speaks some English although I enjoyed using my French. It is such a tranquil place with the cooing of the turtle doves and ring of church bells ( only between 7 am and 10 pm). So very French! You can walk a short distance to a small grocery. We had a little fridge and a microwave. The rooms surround a sweet courtyard with tables and chairs. Breakfast with many homemade jams was served in a lovely dining room. And we opted for the table d'hôte our last night there which stood out as one of the very best meals of our whole 3 week trip. We had my 14 year old granddaughter with us and the room worked well with her. It was so close to the sites - 5 minutes to Chenonceau. Highly recommended! Thank you, Isabelle! And we hope you will come visit us in the States soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We chose to stay at La Haute Traversiere based on its ideal location for visiting Amboise and the many beautiful chateaux in the area but primarily because of the multiple excellent reviews. It is only 5 minutes from the Chateau de Chenonceau and 20 minutes from Amboise where we found an excellent chocolatier!

This B&B is a charming 19th century farm which has been beautifully restored to retain its charm and ambiance, but has all the modern amenities. It has a delightful courtyard with a large garden in the back and plenty of secure parking. We stayed in the Puerto Angel room which felt so authentic with its vibrant colors that it really felt like we could have been in Mexico. There was plenty of room for the 3 of us with comfortable beds, nice bathroom with plenty of hot water and the room was immaculate. It also had a convenient kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and a litlle dining area.

The best part though, was the hospitality and Isabelle's food! The continental breakfast started with bread, pastries and a multitude of organic home made jams with some intriguing flavor combinations. The dinners... amazing. Wild boar the first night! we knew we had chosen the right B&B. I had had boar before, kind of strong and dry ( visions of Obelix and Asterix) but this one was divine, it literally melted in your mouth, My son who is unbelivably picky had 3 slices. Next day, Isabelle made an appetizer of Madeleines with Roquefort. My son who refuses to eat French cheese because they have too much flavor, could not stop eating them. I could go on: apperitifs, salad from the garden, main course, cheeses, desserts, wine and digestif- all absolutely delightful. Our only regret is not having eaten there every single night. Make sure you stay for dinner. We also enjoyed having meals with the other guests.

Isabelle and Janick are simply wonderful hosts and I don't know how she does it all, including all that cooking. They are both charming, friendly, accomodating and extremely helpful. Another plus for anglophiles, they do speak English. If we go back to the Loire, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planthiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at La Haute Traversiere on our way back from the UK. It was an ideal location for visiting the lovely city of Amboise and magnificent Chateau of Chenonceau. The "Iguana" room was spacious and clean. The house and gardens are delightful. We enjoyed having breakfast with other guests. Isabelle's Mum's homemade jams were delicious. We would certainly recommend La Haute Traversiere for a short, or long stay. On our next trip we will eat with our hosts, as they offer a superb evening meal, if required. Isabelle warmly welcomes visitors and enjoys providing excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penjen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stayed here for Easter 2012 with my two daughters. The room for us was perfect for a family, with a loft bedroom and two single bed upstairs and a double bed and bath downstairs. But more importantly, our hosts were amazing. You would be very foolish not to eat here every night. The food is divine and wine flowed freely as we enjoyed both the company (repeat guests from Belgium) and the traditional Easter dishes form the area. It is a convenient location from which to visit multiple chateaux, by car or by bike (there is a bike trail at the bottom of the hill that apparently goes all the way to Chambord -- but really, you should make sure you are home in time for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanTKPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Thanks to previous reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to stay at this B&B and were not disappointed. Isabelle and Janick's hospitality is outstanding! We enjoyed two lovely dinners and the fresh bread and homemade jams for breakfast were delicious. It was also terrific that we met the other guests staying at the B&B at breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmv183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed two nights at this wonderful place. We were travelling with my daughter and partner. We speak very little french however our wonderful hosts Isabelle and Jankick helped make our stay We ate in the morning in a dining room with other guests from France and Tahiti enjoying home made jams and fresh bread The evening meal was very relaxing and good value for money Isabelle tries really hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible We have wonderful memories of this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank australiaClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francueil
1.6 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
811 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Moulin de Francueil
Le Moulin de Francueil
#1 of 1 in Francueil
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
603 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostellerie du Chateau de l'Isle
Hostellerie du Chateau de l'Isle
#1 of 1 in Civray-de-Touraine
65 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haute Traversiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haute Traversiere

Property: La Haute Traversiere
Address: 5 rue Leopold Deschamps, 37150 Francueil, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Francueil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Francueil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the castle of Chenonceaux on the route of the GR41, Isabelle and Janick Chambon offer you charming rooms, a host table (reservations required)and a detached house constructed in this beautiful property where nineteenth tranquility reigns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Haute Traversiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haute Traversiere France/Francueil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing