We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, but wouldn't rush back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Le Moulin Fort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Francueil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Le Moulin Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, but wouldn't rush back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

This campsite serves a purpose in a good location. We booked a pitch by the riverside which was nice - cant complain about the pitch or the location. It was ideally located for everything we wanted to see and visit.

The facilities were clean and functioning ok. Site was well maintained and the shop and bar were useful but all this is what you would expect from a 3 star site and the prices we paid. We are not experienced campers so we cant compare to other sites but why was there no soap in the wash cubicles?? A dispenser would have been helpful as every time you want to use the toilet you need to remember to take soap in with you. Sorry but no excuse - cost, maintenance they are poor excuses. They could have fitted industrial dispensers at least. The lights don't stay on long enough so when showering if you are the only one in there at night you can end up showering in pitch black again comes down to cost and you feel like they are penny pinching.

On the whole the staff who worked there were friendly, but less could be said for the owners. You get a feeling they are doing you a favour than the other way around. We are the customers - please please remember that. Not overly welcoming.

On the whole we enjoyed our stay a few minor grumbles and this site needs a bit of work to make it worthy of a 5 star rating.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    28
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a really enjoyable 15 night stay here and I'd go back tomorrow if only I had some more holiday. It was peak time in France and it's true that it's not the cheapest site available but it is certainly not the most expensive we'd looked at when we were planning our trip.

We were 2 couples, one with an 18 month old and got the adjacent shady pitches we'd asked for when booking. Our pitches were 1 row back from the riverside which is really stunning. Some of the pitches are huge and ours were more than big enough for our large tents, gazebo, cars, an eating area and playing area for the toddler. What I really liked was not being made to pay for the full duration of our stay when checking in (which many campsites were asking for). In the end it made no difference as within a day we were clear that we would stay for the duration but we wanted the flexibility.
The toilet/shower blocks were kept really clean during our stay and were enough to cope with the almost full site as it was. The staff in our experience were all very friendly and helpful and worked very hard to make it an enjoyable place to stay.

The location is fantastic for visiting some of the many stunning chateaus or excellent wine villages in the area. In 2 weeks we did a fraction of what is available in the area. The bar terrace is a really nice area to sit early evening for either sun or shade and have a beer or some extremely good value wine. The food their was fine for the one meal we ate there.

It seemed a really friendly campsite with a number of people we met being people that have been coming for years.

Overall, we had a great stay and would not hesitate to go back or recommend this site to others.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolyon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Quite pricy, two nights for two in a two person tent cost €46. The same in Vouvray cost €32. Over in Avallon, Morvan it was €26! Toilets were OK but got a little smelly with shower cubicles in the same block as toilets. But the worse aspect was the service. On the day I was to leave I found my car battery flat. When I asked reception if they could help (I had jump leads and the know-how, all I needed was a car to pull alongside) I was told by Sarah that she was 'not prepared to help', she then wandered bac upstairs! For anyone who wants a bit of the worst of England abroad this is ideal. Pricy and poor service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank KolobAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My partner and I stayed on a riverside pitch at Le Moulin Fort from May 31st to June 2nd 2013.

This was our last stop on a motorhome holiday in France and Italy.

The site is well signposted, very well kept and spacious and airy. The facilities are good with an onsite bar/restaurant (and small shop in peak season) You could also order fresh bread etc for the following morning. The motorhome service point was the best I encountered during our trip!

The location is excellent for visiting Chateau Chenonceaux (30minute walk/5 mins in the car) and the wider Loire region or for relaxed days by the river.

There is a train line about 1/2 mile away that you can hear but the trains were infrequent and did not bother us at all.

The site had mainly English campers and being run by an English couple did loose a little bit of the experience but I think this may be the appeal as a lot of people we spoke to were repeat customers returning year on year. Given the site and the surrounding I can understand this.

All in all a lovely place to finish our holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We found Moulin Fort open just as many of the larger campgrounds were closing down for the season (3rd week of September). Although officially rated three stars this campground easily exceeds this, facilities are very clean and better than most we have visited in the South of France.
The hosts were extremely helpful, the location is perfect for access to towns and Chateau's, and we would recommend this ground to anyone, a very pretty and easy to access location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilDeb847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Not the easiest of campsites to find but once we found it we loved it. We got a pitch next to the river overlooking the willow trees draped across the river bank and a beatiful stone bridge. The pitch was a decent size, and the campsite was quiet and tidy, with decent facilities, including toilets, hot showers, and washing up area. There was also a small shop next to the reception where we could order fresh croissoints for the following morning. There is a small town about a mile or so from the campsite, which was a typical French village, with beatiful architectiual buildings and one or two restaraunts. There is a small swimming pool by the main house, which has a small bar and restaraunt, however we did not eat there. And ofcourse the chateau just down the river, well worth a visit. The owners at the site were very friendly and welcoming. Would certainly go back, and rated as one of the best campsites we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a pitch by the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2goornot2go127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

For once this summer's poor weather was to our advantage as it meant we had 6 nights in a prime riverside spot the last week of June.

We had spotted this site in the Cool Camping France book and decided to book in for break as we could explore by bicycle and it was within reach of several chateaux.

The site is easy to find (there is another site on the other side of the river though, so make sure you have the right one) outside high season reception is not open all day but arrived after 4pm so checked in and as site was not full we could choose a pitch. We opted for number 99 right on the river.

What we really liked about this site was riverside location and easy access to bike paths. You can get to Chenonceax in about 10 mins and there are lovely paths by the river. You can also bike up to the small supermarket in Francueil. The site shop is open in high season only. Fresh bread and croisants are available to order at reception (good news as we arrived with no food at all) and there is bar and restaurant open each night except Wednesdays. Food was very good and reasonably priced.Really appreciated this on the evenings when the weather was wet. Also a nice terraced area which was lovely when the weather was good. However, on a warm evening, watching river-life and hot air balloons while BBQ-ing was really relaxing.

Shower blocks were both very clean and well maintained. As the site wasn't full, we didn't have to queue at any point.

Quite a mixture of guests, generally very friendly and relaxed atmosphere at all times. Not too many noisy kids or dogs. The site is supposed to have a silent policy after 11pm, it wasn't enforced but most people respected it or at least kept volumes down.

The owners arrange some events for guests, including walks and quizzes. Probably the only time we will be part of anything "International" and we won!!! Who needs the European Cup?

Any downsides? Slight road noise at times. You are in a rural area so farm vehicles are about plus the main access for boat trips in on the other side of the river. Mosquitoes were a little bit lively one night but generally we found once repellant was applied you were left alone.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would happily return, in fact we owe them a quiz now :o)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francueil
1.1 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
15.4 mi away
Camping les Acacias
Camping les Acacias
#1 of 1 in La Ville-aux-Dames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Le Moulin Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Le Moulin Fort

Property: Camping Le Moulin Fort
Address: 37150 Francueil, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Francueil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Francueil
Number of rooms: 137
Also Known As:
Camping Le Moulin Fort Hotel Francueil
Camping Le Moulin Fort France/Francueil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing