We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable port in a storm”
Review of The Eight Bells

The Eight Bells
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Jevington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Kent, England
Level Contributor
429 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“A comfortable port in a storm”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Having come from Birling Gap on a particularly wet and blustery winters afternoon we were looking for somewhere warm, comfortable and uncomplicated for Saturday lunch. For that, this fitted the bill perfectly.
My wife had steak and mushroom pie which looked good and came with a particularly good choice of vegetables, I had fish and chips which was, well, what you'd expect it to be.
They have a good choice of well kept Sussex bitters and my wife who chose a glass of red wine was offered a choice of three from the bottle which we prefer to those taps on the bar offering red or white.
This is not a gastropub, and doesn't pretend to be, but is a comfortable watering hole which I'd happily visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    64
    34
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Soooooooooooooooo Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We’ve been here many times before over the last 10 years & have always felt at home & very pleased with the food & prices.
We haven't been over the summer, gets a bit crowded with the walking brigade.
We went there last Sunday & what a disappointment.
The menu has shrunk from at least 8 starters, 10 mains & deserts to many to count to 3 starters, 6 mains & 6 deserts.
There were no steaks or grills just very bland pub grub.
The special board has gone & when we enquired they said”its Sunday we have roasts”
If we had wanted roasts we would have stayed at home.
The service was good & very friendly.
Prices seem to have gone through the roof.
Won’t go back there until there’s a change in management.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and lovely staff”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Lovely traditional country pub with a really cosy atmosphere. The food was delicious and the staff were welcoming and friendly. I had the Normandy chicken which was excellent and definitely recommended. I will be visiting again next time I am in the area!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiggy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Today I had lunch at the Eight Bells with my sister and young daughter, the food was lovely. We had the Normandy Chicken which I can highly recommend, in fact I had to stop myself from licking the plate. My daughter had a ham sandwich, the ham was beautiful and came in very thinck slices. The staff were very friendly and attentive of not only myself but also my 3 year old daughter. The other customers were not only friendly, but also seemed just as happy to be there. We will definitely be going again

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK via France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good beer and lovely setting”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The Eight Bells has not changed for a long while and this is part of its appeal. It is cosy in the winterbut comes into its own in the summer as you can sit out. Friendly service. Didn't eat there this time but although not the cheapest, it is still good. The beer is excellent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchConnection92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eight Bells also viewed

Litlington, East Sussex
East Dean, East Sussex
 
Polegate, East Sussex
Milton Street, East Sussex
 

Been to The Eight Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing