We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont waste your time at any of the other restaurants in Pinones”
Review of El Nuevo Acuario

El Nuevo Acuario
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Loiza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$49
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont waste your time at any of the other restaurants in Pinones”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stumbled up on Acuario after waiting for a long time at one of the other restaurants for our fried fish and finally leaving. What a happy accident that was. Not only were we greeted like family but Leonardo. the owner, cooked our fish to perfection in short order, Everything was fresh, delicious and perfectly seasoned. I agree with another reviewer - the watermelon sangria and the coconut rum were both authentic and delicious. El Nuevo Acuario is the real deal!!! We will be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BermudaBully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE this place!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lenny & his brother are the absolute best! If you want to feel like family--go here! They feed you like you are family too! Best meal I've had the whole trip..so good we came back twice! Emmanuel makes the best drinks and the watermelon sangria is the best sangria I've ever had! Bring your friends or go on a date- you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mwskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and hospitality!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What an excellent meal and first class hospitality! Right on the beach! Ventured out from the Ritz Carlton. Owner/chef sat down with us and very friendly! Would highly recommend, you won't be disappointed! Will certainly revisit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle29071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My birthday”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Awesomeeee, also I liked the service and how the waiters treated us. No matter what I will recommend this to my friends and family.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gigliola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great meal, great drink, and great friend!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

El Nuevo Acuario is a great local hangout with a very talented chef and freshest seafood you can find in Puerto Rico. We have been to many fancier restaurants in Old San Juan, but none can match the foods, services, and Leonardo's hospitality. Although it was our first visit, Leonardo, chef and owner, welcomed us as if he had known us forever. With an open mind, we asked Leonardo to prepare us a family-style meal, and soon after he treated us to a feast of his most creative tasting dishes. He then capped off this perfect meal by sharing his own stash of special rum. We came as guests but left as friends. Leonardo, we will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyinNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Nuevo Acuario also viewed

 

Been to El Nuevo Acuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing