We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxury and comfort in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Painted Boat Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Painted Boat Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
369 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Luxury and comfort in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a timeshare resort, but of course you can think of it as a hotel and rent a townhome-style room for just one or more nights. I was with my wife and 3 other family members, and we stayed in one of the two-bedroom units with a loft. It was gorgeous, luxurious, spacious and comfortable, very nicely decorated and appointed, with a large kitchen, dining and living area with large windows overlooking the bay and small marina. This place is clean, very well maintained, quiet, in a gorgeous setting. There is a very nice resort restaurant, but you can drive just a few minutes away to a full-sized supermarket to stock up on any food you wish and use the kitchen and dining room to prepare and serve your own. The beds are very comfortable, there are plenty of pillows and blankets, the master bathroom is large, with a deep jacuzzi tub and separate shower, lots of room. We wanted to stay, forever...

Room Tip: Splurge on the units facing the water, but any unit should be great in this small resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    50
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
104
116
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We arrived a couple hours early for check in but the room was not available so the front desk was kind enough to give us a call back as soon as it was ready (she called within the hour). It worked out great b/c we ended up driving 5-10 min to Dan Bosch Park where there is a small but beautiful clear beach. I stayed Labour Day long weekend with three other girlfriends in a two storey loft corner suite with 2 bed/2 bath. Our loft was so spacious, the four of us didn't even utilize all the rooms. Our view was picture perfect - mountains, trees, water/marina. Front staff was very informative, they gave us all the info we needed to get around. The kitchen is fully loaded with a quiet dishwasher. BBQ grill had three separate burners. IGA is only 5 min away, I suggest making full use of the gourmet kitchen/BBQ grill. The entire suite is non-smoking including balconies. Furniture and bedding were very clean and beds were comfortable. The gym, community pool, and hot tub were never busy although occupied (it was long weekend after all). The pool is heated and was open late, definitely a plus! We had such an amazing weekend, we're planning to make this an annual trip.

PS. Check out the Skookumchuk Narrows (Provincial Park) 45 minute EASY hike to see tidal rapids that are famous for their spectacular whirlpools and whitewater.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica_Hates_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Painted Boat Resort Spa and Marina. We are so pleased you enjoyed your spacious waterfront vacation villa with the fully-equipped open kitchen, custom Canadian-made wood furniture, and patio with BBQ. We are also pleased you enjoyed many of the other amenities at the property including the gym, the hot tub and infinity pool which overlooks the water.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Painted Boat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dandgie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our first time to the Sunshine Coast, but we have traveled extensively throughout BC. Our family had an incredible stay at Painted Boat Resort.
Check in was quick, efficient and friendly. The accommodations were well above expectation, with plenty of room for a family of four. This resort is very new and the attention to detail really shows. From the fully equipped kitchen, laundry center, and 5.1 home theater system in every villa you couldn't ask for more!.
Our family really enjoyed the ocean kayaking,
Expect to pay slightly more than the average resort but at this resort it is money well spent..Well Done!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed a couple of nights at the PB and thoroughly enjoyed it with our two young daughters. The two bedrooms and bathrooms were great and the kitchen well stocked. We had all our meals in the condo since there's a supermarket less than 5 minutes away. The setting is very quiet as there's less than 3 dozen units in the whole complex. The swimming pool was gorgeous overlooking the marina/harbour. A nice quiet place to stay. However, if it's a rainy day (as our last day was), there's not much to do. We stayed in the Pender Harbour area for the outdoor activities, which are outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I can just recommand this place to all who enjoy luxuary and comfort in a relaxed holliday setting. The suites are an absolute delight, very stylish and complete, including a fully equipped kitchen and private bbq on the balcony. The view over the harbour is amazing, they have a restaurant too with great sea food dishes! (also loved the cocktails by sunset) We did stay here for 2 night and regretted we had to leave again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom loft unit. It was quiet with a view of the inlet and boat slips as well as the hills around it.

Kayaks were available out front to rent, and the water was calm and easy to navigate.
The unit itself is modern, comfortable, and well equipped. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The gym had several pieces of equipment and a view that made our workouts more enjoyable.

We looked at the restaurant, the menu would appeal to adults but not children. However The Ruby Lake Resort had a wider variety of choices and was more willing to adapt to kids tastes.

Overall it was great place to stay, though not inexpensive. We would easily stay there again.

Room Tip: Loft units have no one above you, so they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LK_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Painted Boat Resort Spa and Marina. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and great service. We look forward to welcoming you back again someday.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Painted Boat Resort Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast BC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

My friend and I wanted a 'girls spa getaway' and we booked into the Painted Boat Resort for 1 night. We arrived early and didn't expect to get checked in but surprisingly we were able to get our condo early. The staff were very friendly but seemed to take some time to get our papers, vouchers for the spa etc together. Condo was very spacious and lovely and the two bed/two bath was great.
If you are a smoker you will have to take a bit of a walk to find a place to smoke as it is a 'non smoking' resort.
The Restaurant has had many write ups on their chef but my lunch was just ordinary and the fries were definitely ones that had been sitting around for a bit. It was not a warm inviting place but our server was really lovely and friendly.
There was a complete mixup with our spa booking which surprised me because I had spoken to them twice, they even called me back to confirm, and yet when we arrived only one of us was booked in and on the wrong day. But they did quickly clear it up and all worked out. The Spa Garden is lovely and we didn't allow nearly enough time for relaxing there and the Bento Box lunch was perfect. The spa prices seemed very high but it is a lovely spa. The front desk check in is not very efficient and it took a very long time to work out our bill with the vouchers we had. I would suggest not taking a package but keeping your spa and accomodation separate to save yourself waiting time at check in.
I would go back again and would love to try more of the spa treatments.
Not sure if I would try the restaurant again though - rather would cook for ourselves in the condo.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent trip to Painted Boat Resort Spa and Marina. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to improve on our services. We would like to apologize for the confusion with the spa bookings as this is not the standard we strive for. We look forward to welcoming you back again so we can more accurately display the customer service we are known for.

Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Painted Boat Resort Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Park
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
10.3 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
5.8 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
12.5 mi away
InnSpire Resort & Spa
InnSpire Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Halfmoon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Boat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Boat Resort

Property: Painted Boat Resort
Address: PO BOX 153 | 12849 Lagoon Road, Madeira Park, British Columbia V0N 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Madeira Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Painted Boat Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted Boat Resort & Marina is the newest resort on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. Just an hour and a half from Vancouver via the Langdale ferry, the resort features 31 spacious waterfront 2-bedroom vacation villas, each complete with a kitchen, patio and barbecue. Painted Boat offers an infinity pool, hot tub, fresh regional cuisine at THE RESTAURANT, a fitness center, and on-site kayak rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Painted Boat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Boat Hotel Madeira Park
Painted Boat Resort Madeira Park, Canada - Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing