We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Painted Boat Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we recently spent a weekend here for a family wedding. The staff are all Amazing -smiles everywhere and so accommodating. Wonderful views from every unit with great landscaping .The resort catered the reception.omg The food was amazing Kudos to the entire team at Painted Boat For making it a weekend to remember

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yucatanLover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    60
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
126
146
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We originally booked for two nights but as soon as we arrived we wanted to extend our stay. The staff was helpful in accommodating us and luckily there was a room available. Staff at the resort and the restaurant were great. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The kitchens are well equipped. If you are going to the Sunshine Coast you must check out Painted Boat Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNOXVILLE, TN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

On a recent trip up the Sunshine Coast, my family stayed two nights ( 6/15-16/2014 ) in a
"2 bedroom cottage" at the Painted Boat Lodge. The cottage was well equiped and clean and
the view from this particular cottage was good. The resturant at the property is small and open
with excellent food, however it was expensive. As a word of caution, don't take that special
bottle of wine and expect to drink it during your meal. The staff refuses to open it even if you
agree to pay a corkage fee. Aditionally, they will not allow you to open the bottle. Limited areas
of interest near and their bikes and kayaks are too expensive to rent

Room Tip: Don't take a special bottle of wine and expect the resturant to allow you to drink it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello Joe M,

Thank you for your feedback on the Resort, amenities, and Restaurant.
Great to hear you had an excellent meal, and here is an explanation on corkage. Currently liquor laws do allow for corkage, however that is up to the discretion of the licensee. We are proud of our wine list showcasing great wines from around the world, and hence our decision on no corkage at Painted Boat Resort. At the recent Vancouver Wine Festival, we won gold! http://www.vanwinefest.ca/page597.htm

We hope welcome you back to Painted Boat Resort, on your next visit to British Columbia!

Ryan Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A group of 14 friends from long ago spent a happy few days last week at the Painted Boat. The Sunshine Coast defied negative-leaning weather forecasts by living up to its name which made the setting of this resort even more spectacular. Lori and her staff went the extra mile to see that our group enjoyed every minute of our unique and highly-cherished time together.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello Edna,
Thank you for your kind words on Painted Boat Resort and the team! We are lucky to have amazing staff, and as luck would have it, some of Mother Nature’s assistance for your recent stay. Hopefully, you and your group will return to our little piece of paradise on the Sunshine Coast of Canada.

Ryan Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The painted boat is truly an amazing experience. The scenery is amazing, especially lounging in the infinite pool at sunset with the ocean in the background. My family came here for a week at a last minute notice because of a phony resort somewhere else on the coast. We were soooo happy to be here and loved the kayaking and marine life. The rooms are also magnificent, almost as big as big house looking into the wilderness. The resort is also close to a small town where you can buy fresh fish and experience real British Columbian culture.

Room Tip: Pick a room near the ocean for a great experience.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello Adam S,

Thank you for your kind works, and glad you had the opportunity to experience what the Sunshine Coast has to offer! Small town charm, and incredible scenery.
We hope to welcome you back to Painted Boat Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

First let's start by the location. So easy to get here: short ferry from Vancouver to Langdale (Sunshine Coast) and then an hour easy/gorgeous drive to the resort.
Once at the resort the views and the sunset are stunning (see my pictures); the accommodation is spacious and comfortable; the food at the restaurant is delicious - try the sablefish; and the staff is just the nicest. Or if you wanna to cook your own the kitchen has every thing you need to make dinner.
I totally recommend the Painted Boat Resort! I will be back with my parents and friends!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SebVancouver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This stunning oasis turned out to be a superb location for a local getaway and I will highly recommend it to others and we will be back. Sitting on the deck watching people enjoy their first time in a kayak (they have rentals on site) provided some great entertainment as we relaxed for a while while our room was being prepared. Once it was ready, we walked into an amazing suite with its own big deck overlooking the ocean. Good advice would be to check out the Restaurant times and availability for reservations as the place was pretty much booked and we appreciated the manager's flexibility to still help accommodate us and we were probably lucky that it was just the 2 of us as a table for more seemed unlikely. As time went on, I found out why the restaurant was so busy as the meal was amazing. We ordered the roast rack of lamb and ribeye steak and both were perfectly prepared and the wine list was stellar. The tide rolled in and the mermaid statue dipped out of sight. A relaxing evening hot tub set the stage for a great night's sleep in one of the most comfortable beds around. Next morning was some good coffee in the room and a realization that breakfast would have to occur somewhere else after we checked out (think this through next time as the restaurant is not open). We will definitely be back and plan to splurge even more as the spa and kayaking were a miss on this trip. Also want to check out the harbour tours on the Slo Cat. Great staff throughout the resort, friendly and helpful, and service was top notch in the restaurant. For people living on the Sunshine Coast, consider saving your ferry fare and splurge on a suite in Madeira Park's jewel. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Book early. I'm thinking a top floor next time but the bottom floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryinGibsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Park
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
10.4 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
7.0 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
802 reviews
10.4 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
1.3 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Boat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Boat Resort

Property: Painted Boat Resort
Address: PO BOX 153 | 12849 Lagoon Road, Madeira Park, British Columbia V0N 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Madeira Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Painted Boat Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted Boat Resort & Marina is the premier resort on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. Located two hours from Vancouver /Horseshoe Bay via BC Ferries and Highway 1, the Resort features 31 west-coast inspired, 2-bedroom/two bath villas on the oceanfront, each complete with a kitchen, patio and barbecue. Painted Boat offers an infinity pool(open seasonally), hot tub, fresh regional cuisine at The Lagoon Restaurant (open seasonally), a fitness center, and on-site kayak rentals. The Resort is home to the only full service luxury spa and wellness garden - open year round - on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Painted Boat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Boat Hotel Madeira Park
Painted Boat Resort Madeira Park, Canada - Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing