We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine for sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This lodge was beautiful. The room was very pretty and the view spectacular! It was lovely to have a fireplace in the room, even though we went in September the nights really cool down. My only real complaint was I thought they should provide drinking water. There was a water advisory in effect for the area and at the best of times you should not drink the Madiera Park water. As a comfort for their guests I believe the water should be supplied. Had I not been aware of this I may have had the water and ended up sick! Other than that it was a nice stay. The room was well appointed and we enjoyed our overall stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

we totally enjoyed our recent stay at the sunshine coast resort and marina in madeira park, british columbia, canada. our room had a fireplace, balcony, fully stocked kitchen, one queen size bed, very comfortable, and a pullout sofa in the living room plus a beautiful bathroom with jet tub. we rented a boat from the sunshine coast marina, just steps down to the waterfront, very scenic, and the boat ride was great! seals were popping up in the water and bald eagles were in the trees!! if you are looking for nature with comfort, this is a quiet, nice retreat with accomodating staff.

Room Tip: ask for a water view with balcony, and we stayed in the newer rooms, there is an older section on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vorschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights in July 2012. We had a junior room since that is all they could give us on short notice. That was fine and the view was beautiful but your balcony is shared with the room next door. I feel that more of a partition would be good. The pillows are flatter than a pancake! Other than that we rented a boat and had a great time.

Room Tip: Would go back again but bring my own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Sunshine Coast Resort and Marina is an unhurried and cordial place on a dramatically terraced site stepped down to the Resort's marina in a calm niche of Pender Harbour. We would enjoy returning here in any season. During the coolness of this year's reluctant spring we found our suite cozy, the view to the harbour captivating in the changing light.
The main building in which we stayed and the cabins with private decks are of recent construction superbly designed, detailed and finished inside and out. These accommodations have a feeling of intimacy by virtue of human scale and proportion.
A renovated cottage down closer to the marina and another building both of simpler construction and standards of decades past remain available. In those decades past Pender Harbour was a hub for commercial and sport fishers intent on being out on the water. A harbour tour departing from the marina reveals historical elements of those days.
The redevelopment of the property by the current resident owner speaks to today's traveler seeking recreation, pleasure and relaxation on the water, in the forests and mountain of the Sunshine Coast, and the warm company of creative residents who work and live in this marvellous place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans777382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in the Penthouse unit with a big gas fireplace between the living room and bedroom. Had a full kitchen and hot tub and walking shower in the bathroom with heated floors. The view was just grand of a old time marina but the mountains view with the snow capped tops make it breath taking. We took advantage of gas grill on the big balcony with same view. The fresh water lakes are a 10 minute drive to explore. Try to find Brown Lake it is worth the hike. The hiking in this whole area made for a grand day out in mother nature.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the Penthouse unit, it is well worth it. The Farmer Market grocery sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We decided on staying here for a couple of days prior to a 3 day cruise to Los Angeles in September. We are the kind of people that like to do things 'off the beaten path' and didn't want to stay in Vancouver with all the other cruisers. After much research we decided Pender Harbour was the place to stay. We are certainly glad we did. The webcam shot from the resort sealed the deal for us. We arrived after dark...and as city dwellers, we were not used to the laid back lifestyle and had to adapt quickly. The complex was fabulous. The owner lives on the property and promptly came down to greet us. As stated by others, the owner was a wonderful host. We were given an unexpected upgrade to a Superior Suite with fireplace. Room was fully equipped with kitchenette and jacuzzi bath - beautiful view. We had not done any research of the area outside of accommodations figuring we would just explore on our own. We made a couple of mistakes (and that was the first). So when we arrived, we were told about a couple of restaurants in the area, but as we arrived late (7:45) dining options were really limited (our 2nd mistake) but we did find food. A great recommendation from the owner the next morning was Skookumchuck Rapids, which is what we did (our last mistake was not to take food or water on the hike)...the entire area was beautiful. Had dinner in our room, and enjoyed the jacuzzi on the main deck. Staying here has pretty much convinced us that land based vacations can be relaxing and enjoyable. For the first time since 1998 we do not have a cruise booked. It was so quiet here that we decided during the cruise to come back again here in May. It was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piepkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We reserved by phone the day of our arrival (Sept.10th) and were offered only one rate. We did not know that we would be in the older part of the resort: we only saw the nice pictures on brochures( the new part). We were told to "check in" ourselves (eventhough it was only 5pm) we got expanations over the phone and the key was on the front desk: we did not see any employee the whole evening!! we rented a room for 2 with 2 beds and were not told over the phone that one of us will be on a sofa!. The sofa was not a pull out couch that is usually made up and we just have to open it: it was a futon.We called the number left for us if we needed help but were told that we had to make up the bed ourselves. The suite was not on its prime (fresh paint needed, electric outlet plate cover missing) it was full of dusty artificial flowers and knick knacks which took a lot of space. On the plus side, the bathroom was large, the view was great, the hot tub and sauna outdoors on a deck very pleasant. We found the price a little high for what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for the new part of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcfan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Park
0.5 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
398 reviews
9.9 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
6.5 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
843 reviews
9.9 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
1.4 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina

Address: 12695 Sunshine Coast Hwy | P.O. Box 213, Madeira Park, British Columbia V0N 2H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Madeira Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Price Range: £89 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel and Marina offers its guests a unique resort experience, with stunning ocean views from every room and every corner of the property. The Resort itself is very intimate with less than 20 accommodations, which allows for careful detail and high quality amenities. Sunshine Coast Resort offers a variety of accommodation styles - from luxurious executive cottages to pet friendly ocean view suites. This is the perfect location for hosting family gatherings, small weddings, or romantic getaways to the Coast.Keep in touch with complimentary wireless high speed internet connections in every room, or getaway from it all and just relax and enjoy the beautiful sunsets from your private deck. Our location is close to shopping and fine dining, and there are plenty of activities and things to do; plus the resort has its own marina which provides a base for all watersport related activities. The feeling of the resort is relaxed, and the location is ideal - right in the center of Pender Harbour, which offers a constantly changing view of Garden Bay, with dozens of multimillion dollar yachts coming and going right before your eyes. It is one of the best places on the Coast for yacht watching, and guaranteed to add a special touch to your Sunshine Coast getaway!Our new Sunshine Coast Executive Cottages have become a hot commodity immediately after adding them to our line up of oceannside accommodations in 2009. Our Oceanfront Superior Suites, Oceanview Rooms and our decadent Executive Penthouse were constructed in 2004 and feature amenities like Jacuzzi soaker tubs, fireplaces,full kitchens and personal BBQ's and large furnished decks with breathtaking ocean views. No matter which room type you favour the most, you will be pleased with the convincing quality of our accommodations, the cleanliness of our rooms and the impeccable service we offer at Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel and Marina. Naturally, Sunshine Coast Resort is your ideal basecamp for all recreational activities on the BC Sunshine Coast. From our fleet of professionally maintained Sunshine Coast Boat Rentals or spectacular marine tours to world renown Princess Louisa Inlet to local Pender Harbour boat tours and professionally guided fishing or sailing charters. From fantastic golfing and world class scuba diving to idyllic ocean kayaking, hiking and mountain biking to horseback riding and lake swimming. Sunshine Coast Resort has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina Madeira Park, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing