We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spectacular area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at Sunshine Coast Resort in Madeira Park for two nights and overall were pleased with our stay. The one bedroom suite (210) that we stayed in was roomy and the location was great, with a small private patio overlooking the harbour. When I say overlooking, I mean that you could see the harbour if you were standing up but not when you were seated. The same is true for the view from the living room. Nevertheless, I thought it was lovely and I appreciated that we could come and go directly from our suite through the patio door, rather than via the lobby.

The kitchen was clean and well equipped with a good-size fridge, stove and dishwasher, table and four chairs, dishes, pots and pans, etc. The bed was a little on the hard side but relatively comfortable. My complaint was with the pillows, which were very hard and lumpy. If you have neck issues I would suggest bringing your own pillow. The living room sofa also converted into a bed, and although I can’t attest to its comfort as a bed, it wasn’t terribly comfortable to sit on. The bathroom was clean, large and attractive with two sinks and an extra long spa bathtub. The only issue we had with this suite is that the sofa could have used a good vacuuming and cleaning. We noticed that when we placed the bolsters on the coffee table to use as footrests the coffee table was full of dust and other tiny bits of debris after removing the bolsters.

We love the Sunshine Coast for its forests, great hiking trails with spectacular views (even the low level ones). The gentleman at the front desk provided us with a map of the trails and made a couple of good suggestions, which we took. One of them followed the ocean with constant, stunning views. This trail was rocky but easy to navigate. He also gave us the times of the tide changes at Skookumchuck Narrows, which is worth the drive for the powerful wave action. We went early and took a picnic, but after more than an hour the tide didn’t seem to be changing. On a previous visit we had seen the tide change, but decided this time not to wait since we were getting cold. It is worth the walk though, even if you don’t go to see the tides, along a beautiful forest path that is generally flat.

On our return trip to the ferry we also did another hike at Cliff Gilker park near Roberts Creek. It was spectacular, with bridges crossing the creek, rapids, emerald-coloured moss and, of course, beautiful tall trees. This was also a non-strenuous hike suitable for kids and non-athletic adults. And there are plenty of other hikes and parks as well. http://www.scrd.ca/parks

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Capricorn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

The views of the marina and inlet below are beautiful, but Pender Harbour is pretty well dead in February. We didn't see any boats coming or going. We stayed two nights in 210. It has a well equipped kitchen and is on the bottom floor. You can hear people walking above you. The bathroom is very big and has a long jacuzzi tub - but it wasn't clean. I gave it a quick cleaning before using it. No-one was at the desk when we arrived at 6.30 pm, but there was a note to welcome us with our keys. There's a 6 person hot tub overlooking the marina. We had it to ourselves, but it was really foamy. It's a bit of a walk downhill and by the time you walk up the hill back to your room, you are cold! Finding out later that we could have paid less than half of what we did if we had used a Groupon kind of spoiled this vacation for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Found this gem through groupon. Waterfront location with stunning views. Cottage was clean and well equipped for a group to stay in and make dinner. The resort manager was very nice. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sunshine72D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Like several others, we discovered this gem via Groupon, and found we booked one gem of a place.

Madreira Park is on the Sunshine Coast, and even though it was BC Family Day weekend, the town and resort seemed very quite, along with the entirety of the Sunshine Coast. It's more-or-less a pass-through on the way to Powell Rive, and it's very quiet.

Many boats parked in the harbour, but considering its mid-February, there wasn't too much going on. Barely any traffic in the harbour, no activity in the marina, which was a bit surprising.

The rooms were clean, and had all the availability as you could expect. We stayed in the newer (2003) building, and the only downfall was being on the lowest level, you couldn't see much of the ocean/harbour as the ground blocked off a significant portion of the view.

Beds were extremely comfortable, there's also a hot tub and sauna available for use, and there was limited use of both the facilities.

Don't know if we'll be back, simply because there's not much to do on the Sunshine Coast, only so much to do and see. But if you're never been - definitely check it out.

Room Tip: Higher floors to get a better view. Your view is limited from the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goleafsgo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Like a couple of other reviewers, we got a Groupon for this property and used it for a couples getaway to celebrate our anniversary. We've had some sketchy experiences in the past or some locations that don't live up to the photos online but we were so incredibly impressed by how much better it was even than the photos and writeup made it seem! We were put in a chalet that featured a main bedroom downstairs (shared a fireplace with the living room on the other side of the wall), fully equipped kitchen with ceramic stovetop and all dishes (as well as a dishwasher!), upstairs with two more double beds and a spare bathroom (we didn't use these features as we were there on our own), spacious bathroom with a crazy jacuzzi/multi-featured shower/steam sauna combo, and a large private deck with our own hot tub and barbeque. We didn't use the barbeque or any of the outdoor seating as it's freezing out there right now, but we made very good use of the hot tub!! The view from our deck was beautiful and it felt like a truly luxurious vacation spot. This resort is in a great location. We spent a bunch of time at the nearby Grasshopper Pub playing Keno and relaxing with some board games and a few pints, and not far is also the Francis Point Provincial Park, where we walked on the bluffs and enjoyed the fresh air and stunning open views. We will definitely come back, maybe with some friends sometime, and I'm sure this place would be even more amazing in the summertime when we could enjoy the outdoor living spaces more. It would definitely be worth full price; I can't recommend this place enough. Word to the culinarily-inclined, though: the kitchen knives are super dull so you may want to bring your own.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I recently Purchased a Groupon Voucher and stayed for two nights,It was a very relaxing quiet two days we found tons of things to do thanks to the locals who are super friendly as well as the resort manager.
We will return for sure in the summer and pay the full price its worth it.
The grounds are kept beautiful its the first thing you notice when you drive in, and the Cottage was spotless
***We also brought the Dog and for $20 per night( is what most resorts charge, its actually pretty low for a 5star) he enjoyed it as much as we did***

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetbjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Awesome cabin we stayed in. We had our own hot tub with a view, loved the shower how it lit up with different colors and the fire place that can be enjoyed while on the couch or while you relax in bed was some sweet! The surroundings was amazing and the cabin was very clean.
I'm going back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Park
0.5 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
422 reviews
9.9 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
9.7 mi away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
9.9 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina

Address: 12695 Sunshine Coast Hwy | P.O. Box 213, Madeira Park, British Columbia V0N 2H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Madeira Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Price Range: £84 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel and Marina offers its guests a unique resort experience, with stunning ocean views from every room and every corner of the property. The Resort itself is very intimate with less than 20 accommodations, which allows for careful detail and high quality amenities. Sunshine Coast Resort offers a variety of accommodation styles - from luxurious executive cottages to pet friendly ocean view suites. This is the perfect location for hosting family gatherings, small weddings, or romantic getaways to the Coast.Keep in touch with complimentary wireless high speed internet connections in every room, or getaway from it all and just relax and enjoy the beautiful sunsets from your private deck. Our location is close to shopping and fine dining, and there are plenty of activities and things to do; plus the resort has its own marina which provides a base for all watersport related activities. The feeling of the resort is relaxed, and the location is ideal - right in the center of Pender Harbour, which offers a constantly changing view of Garden Bay, with dozens of multimillion dollar yachts coming and going right before your eyes. It is one of the best places on the Coast for yacht watching, and guaranteed to add a special touch to your Sunshine Coast getaway!Our new Sunshine Coast Executive Cottages have become a hot commodity immediately after adding them to our line up of oceannside accommodations in 2009. Our Oceanfront Superior Suites, Oceanview Rooms and our decadent Executive Penthouse were constructed in 2004 and feature amenities like Jacuzzi soaker tubs, fireplaces,full kitchens and personal BBQ's and large furnished decks with breathtaking ocean views. No matter which room type you favour the most, you will be pleased with the convincing quality of our accommodations, the cleanliness of our rooms and the impeccable service we offer at Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel and Marina. Naturally, Sunshine Coast Resort is your ideal basecamp for all recreational activities on the BC Sunshine Coast. From our fleet of professionally maintained Sunshine Coast Boat Rentals or spectacular marine tours to world renown Princess Louisa Inlet to local Pender Harbour boat tours and professionally guided fishing or sailing charters. From fantastic golfing and world class scuba diving to idyllic ocean kayaking, hiking and mountain biking to horseback riding and lake swimming. Sunshine Coast Resort has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina Madeira Park, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing