We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Santer
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Dobbiaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

the room was really big and beautifully arranged, with a small balcony and view towards the mountains. We ate a wonderful dinner at the restaurant - we recommend the venison! The breakfast was extraordinary - a lot of very nice fruit, special cheeses, etc. Everything inside is in a traditional style - it really makes you feel at home (in a really luxurious way). Everyone was nice and helpful. We were especially impressed with the waiters.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamOsvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were looking for a hotel with easy access to the Dolomiti and thanks to other reviews we selected the Santer Hotel. We were very happy with the Hotel from the moment we arrived. It is traditional in style - lots of wood and traditional in service. Really felt like a family business. As it was low season (may) and unseasonably cold, it wasn't very busy and we were given an upgraded suite. The room was large, the bed comfy and a nice size balconly overlooked the Dolomiti and the outdoor heated spa pool. In addition to a full set of bath towels, our spa needs were also looked after - including a separate towel for the spa, a bathrobe and slippers - to get all this down to the spa area, 2 large tote bags were also in the room. I did want to take one back with me but chickened out in the end.

We weren't sure of our plans so we didn't book the full board option but were told at reception that we were welcome to eat in the ala carte restaurant which had late opening times. Due to a change in plans, we were back earlier than expected so we did eat in the restaurant and it was one of the BEST meals we have ever eaten!! The produce was local, fresh and beautifully cooked and presented. So good that we had to go back the next night as well! We had deer, lamb, chicken, veal, pork, tagliatelle, ravioli, wild mushrooms, chicory, forest berries and would have more if we weren't so stuffed!! The service was friendly and even though I tried to use Italian - they were very happy to translate and even tell us the history of the dishes we selected - including some local ways of serving.

Another added bonus was the wellness area. The outdoor pool turned out to be a pool sized hot tub. It was a treat to be able to lounge about in hot bubbly water while looking out over snow covered mountains. Within the 'chalet style' relaxation area were a little sauna (more in the 'nude' zone but we didn't venture there) and 'hay' bed, a salt inhalation room, a juice bar and lots of beds and loungers. There were 2 different fire places but none were in use in May - it must be a spectacular place to chill out in winter.

We will make every effort to come back to the Hotel Santer - for the sevice, the comfy rooms, the wellness area and most definitely THE FOOD!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a very nice hotell, run by the ery nc santer family. The spa is the best weever saw. To swim out in the cold is a great experience. The dinners are fantastic 5 courses new every night at the evenr is led by the head waiter Christian. We will be back.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kjell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel is a bit dissapointing and not really worth the 4 stars because of a combination of things.... It is on a very bussy road with traffic night and day. Backside is quiet et with a splendid view. The whole hotel is full of little stairs and differences in level, quite a challenge, specially as it is too dark everywhere... in the restaurant, in the hall, in the rooms, in the wellness...
The rooms are dark but extremely clean. Beds are very good but hardly 30 cm high.
Welness is large and well equiped but only opens at 4pm even on rainy days. You get one single towel that can be changed by room-service the next morning, you'd better not get too wett...
Food at dinner is excellent and presented in a nice way. Service in the restaurant however is below the level of a 4-star house. Things are forgotten or orders messed up. The two gentlemen in the restaurant pay most attention to the Italian public (specially when in skirts...) The (temp) girls in the bar and restaurant (Kathrin and Daniella) did a great job and were very kind.
Over all... not what we expected from this hotel.

Room Tip: stay away from the front side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dierik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night 30th May. We stayed in the "Saskia" suite which is a beautiful suite, with separate living area, walkin wardrope and wonderful bathroom facilities including bath and separate shower. The room is tastfully decorated with well made furniture.

We had a wonderful view of the Dolomites from the huge balcony. The spa area very big and comfortable. Our daughter also loved the two different swimming pools.

The hotel is situated in a great positon for people who like quite, walks, cycling and cross country skiing in the winter.

Breakfast was varied with local fresh produce, juices, cereals, meats etc.

A great stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bomberlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Everybody was great, special mention to the maitre, he is great, the food is ok a little simple but acceptable.
The rooms are fine large and confortable with a nice view pverall i found the hotel very good

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adige47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hotel is on the outskirts of Dobbiaco, next to the main road south from the city. Lorries thunder past at relatively high speed and the first part of the walk into town is next to this road.

We got the last room they had available and this had a bathroom with brown tiles and looked like it was last refurbished in the 70s. Not really acceptable for a hotel of this class. There are also modern rooms and I would not stay at the hotel unless I had one of them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobbiaco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Union
Hotel Union
#3 of 22 in Dobbiaco
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cristallo Hotel
Cristallo Hotel
#8 of 22 in Dobbiaco
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#10 of 22 in Dobbiaco
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sporthotel Tyrol Dolomites
Sporthotel Tyrol Dolomites
#5 of 20 in San Candido
504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomiten
Hotel Dolomiten
#9 of 22 in Dobbiaco
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#6 of 22 in Dobbiaco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Santer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Santer

Address: Via Alemagna 4, 39034 Dobbiaco, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Dobbiaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Dobbiaco
Price Range: £152 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Santer 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romantik Hotel Santer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing