We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agios Stefanos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapetanios Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I have visited the Greek Islands as a solo traveller for several years via one of the national holiday companies, but this was my first time on Corfu. Facilities in Greece are generally "basic" but the Kapetanios Apartments are a cut above the average, spotlessly clean, with excellent food at the bar/restaurant, so I did not need to venture into town. The owning family went out of their way to make everyone feel as if they were "one of the family" addressing (and remembering) all of their regulars by name. Excellent long sandy beach and choice of eateries in Agios Stefanos, and a good choice of walks within easy reach with fabulous views. The only down-side was that the mattress was on the "firm" side but not a problem, and the steep hill back up to the apartments from the town, but the views compensated for that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just got back from corfu. well maintained apartments but basic,very clean with room service every day . Bar staff .Spiros top class man and would do everything and anything for you, welcomed us in and enjoyed the time spent at the pool. night time Yannis took over who is just as welcoming but felt guilty when walking past bar to go somewhere else. have eaten here ten years ago and food was outstanding, but disappointed with the food this time as very basic and some guests said they were microwave meals. meal cost from 3 euro's to 10 euros but found you get more for your money in the town( little prince..t bone steak 8 euros..also have greek dancing every night). cheaper to eat out than to buy food.butter 3 euros, milk 2 euro's etc.
owner of kaps very helpful at first helped us with shopping bags but never spoke again just walked past you like a grumpy old man. others said same as well.
would we go back.yes but when the kids are grown up as not much for them to do.

Room Tip: make sure you don't have mobility problems because hills will wear you out. hire a car for 25 e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Excellent apartments. I read alot of reviews saying the walk was horrendous up/down hill - (coming from someone tat will jump in their car to go to the supermarket that is a 10 min walk) I found both the walk up and walk down fine (with or with heels/booze). Views are lovely from the pool and the staff are lovely and friendly. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerkyrarules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed here for the last week of the season (late Oct 2012) with Thomas Cook. All those comments about the super friendly staff are spot on. My husband had lengthy chats each morning (whilst I slept on!) about the Greek economy, the impact of the economic crisis, the Greek way of life, he 9and hence I!) learnt a lot about the island. All those comments about how friendly the staff are made me wonder if it could be genuine but it really was.
The hotel is simple, clean, well run; the 2 bed suites are very spacious. As already mentioned, the ones in a separate block are not so good because they feel a bit isolated from the hotel and the dog noise in the night is awful. We got moved to a different room after the first night with no fuss. This also had a better bathroom and kitchen (2 fridges!).
Overall I couldn't speak highly enough of the place. Food was nice too, and we are quite fussy.
It must be said that anyone who doesn't like dogs had better pick a different resort, my first trip to a Greek island so I don't know if they're all like this. They were friendly but they were everywhere. Didn't bother us except for their rowdiness at night, roaming in cheery packs and scrapping, but if you really don't like dogs it would have bothered you I think. Oddly no dog poop anywhere which was good!

Room Tip: Main hotel not separate block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carolinerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this place as we were not expecting too much to be honest.

We were dissappointed with our original room when we arrived on the Monday, but we were told that we could move as soon as another room was available by the manager Thassos. True to his word he did this and our second room No 21 was much, much better.

The view of San Stefanos from the pool area is great and we spent many hours lounging around it chilling out and talking to other guests, in the end we had quite a little community after a couple of days.

We ate at Zorbas nearly everynight and met up with many guests from the Kapetanios as we had told them how great Zorbas was. We also met many guests from Romanza which is up the very top of the hill. A good time was enjoyed by all, especially the restaurants last night of the season which had Greek dancing arranged by Pavlos and his staff. A big thank you to all who made this such a brilliant night.

San Stefanos is a lovely place to go if you want to chill out, so if you want night clubs its probably not for you. Relaxation and good food is what you will find here and some really lovely people and fabulous views and sunsets.

A word of warning if you are not as mobile as we are, you may struggle with the hill to the hotel, so you may need to hire a car, also mosquitos are a real big problem here so bring the usual sprays (with deet) etc as its very expensive to buy locally. We never usually get bitten, but were here so be warned.

We had a couple of BBQ's at the Kapetanios arranged by the manager Thassos and helped by Dominic which were superb and for 5 euro a head a bargain, the second one was hysterical as we had a massive downpour halfway through, which resulted in nearly everyone ending up in the pool.....Brilliant!!

We did find the drinks in the bar to be more expensive than anywhere else, so we drank elsewhere, either at the Condor or Thomas Bay Hotel which surprisingly were cheaper.

Room Tip: There are older style rooms which we had originally which are small and a bit dated, their is a new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnPaul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week in these apartments, rooms are very clean and maid comes in every day, The place was very quiet as the resorts start to shut down for the season towards the end of October, but Yannis at night and Dominis during the day on the bar kept everyone entertained, also the bar food is very good and Yannis makes a fab cocktail, just a 5 minite walk to a lovely beach and some very good resturants in the village as well, a lot of them were shut but we would recomend Condors, the owner and his wife and son are very nice people, also had a great meal at Ozzie Oil, will go back to Kapetanios

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ukkaren123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have just returned from a weeks self catering holiday in these apartments. What can we say, it was fantastic and we will definately be returning. The apartments are basic but exceptionally clean. The maid came into the apartments every day to do general cleaning and changed the bedding and towels every other day. The staff (Dom and Yannis) made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Going in September was the ideal place to relax and the weather was hot!!!! The resort its self was lovely and there was no overcrowding on the beaches, plenty of room between the sunbeds. There is plenty of choice to eat and I can honestly say we never had a bad meal. The Little Prince, Beachcomber and Zorbas are definatley worth a visit. Then maybe a visit to Condors to end your night with a little entertainment. Overall it was a fabulous resort/holiday and we will defiantley be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Stefanos
0.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terezas Hotel
Terezas Hotel
#1 of 14 in Agios Stefanos
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sugar & Almond - Luxury Apartments
Sugar & Almond - Luxury Apartmen...
#5 of 14 in Agios Stefanos
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vicky Apartments
Vicky Apartments
#87 of 763 in Corfu
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Voula Apartments
Voula Apartments
#2 of 14 in Agios Stefanos
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapetanios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Apartments

Address: Agios Stefanos, Avliotes, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Avliotes > Agios Stefanos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Stefanos
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kapetanios Apartments Hotel Agios Stefanos Nw
Kapetanios Apartments Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing