We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Two Weeks”
Review of Romanza Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Stefanos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Romanza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Agios Stefanos
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another Great Two Weeks”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have just returned from the Romanza after another 2 weeks of a highly enjoyable holiday. Room exceptionally clean and maintained. Sheets and towels changed regularly. On Sundays when staff do not make beds this is hardly a hardship. You need to appreciate it is not 5 star but the surroundings and staff more than make up for this. If you need anything the staff will be more than happy to oblige. (No need to complain after the event- speak to them!!).
Food was exceptional and they will always adapt a dish to your own taste or if you have any allergies. No more expensive than the 'village'.
We will be returning next year - no better location in San Stefanos!!!.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    56
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
233
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Our third visit, before arrived we thought probably our last. Definitely not, everything was excellent. The welcome, the view, the friendliness, the weather. The owners really care and go out of their way to make your holiday feel special. Not only do they meet you off the coach when you arrive but despite their busy schedule ensure they 'see you off' on departure.

Lots to do locally, hire a 'quad' from Spiros, makes getting about easy and you can explore a bit further. Print off local walks before you go, these are really good, beaches, bamboo pine woods and olive groves all on the doorstep.

Lots of local places to eat, plenty of choice and good value (look out for the daily specials).
All in all a brilliant holiday if you want a quiet beautiful relaxing time. Oh and did I mention the best beach in Corfu?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I spent a week at the Romaza with my husband in early September and from looking at previous reviews was expecting wonderful things.

Yes, the staff are very helpful and friendly but it is let down by several things.
The rooms are very basic,ok typically greek,but could do with updating, especially the bathrooms. Our towels were only changed twice in the week and the room left unmade on one day - it is an hotel so should be done every day.

Why have a kettle and no cups or mugs? yes we did get them promptly when we asked for them, but why not have them in the room already?

The breakfast is adequate but could be improved by having decent orange juice at least.

You also have to pay extra for the safe box and air-con if wanted.

The views are beautiful but the path down to the beach and the road to the village are a killer,especially as you end up doing it twice in the day most days.

The food was ok but we found Evinos restaurant just down the hill near Havanna Beach bar to be far superior with typical greek food without the accompanying carrots,cauliflower etc. which accompany the meals in many of the restaurants. We had two great meals there for 7.50 and 8.50 euros including a glass of wine, plus the sunset views were amazing.

Room Tip: a top floor corner room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jennywren47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The views are stunning, the food is lovely and the staff are wonderful. You are welcomed not just as guests, but as friends. Also, it was lovely to bump into other guests who were there last year and have a bit of a reunion! All in all, the Romanza is just like a home from home.

The hill from the hotel to the village is steep but manageable, even in August’s heat!

We would definitely recommend hiring a car and exploring the island and in particular, Paleokastritsa and Corfu Town. Also, the view at Cape Drastis is simply breathtaking (although difficult to get to!).

It is very rare for my partner and I to return to the same holiday destination year after year, but we keep asking ourselves "Why would we go anywhere else?" and that’s why I know that we will be back for our third time in 2012!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here with our teenage children and loved it. The customer service is excellent, you are treated with absolute courtesy, as much or as little chat as you prefer, and the staff remember your likes and dislikes. It is a hotel where clients return year after year with good reason.

The rooms are fairly small but spotlessly clean and serviced daily. The hotel advertise as free wifi in bar/reception area but the connection in our Room 30 was perfect (our children in Room 25 had none so this may be worth bearing in mind if you like to remain in touch!) The views are absolutely breath-taking.

The killer cliff was not as bad as we expected; I would say that it is much easier to come up the cliff than the road, which was a bit of a killer. The beach below was beautiful and very quiet, much quieter than we'd expected. We hired quad bikes for 20 euros a day and a car for 80 euros for 3 days to see a bit of the island; it's well worth going inland to the mountains to see the monastery.

The food at the Romanza is brilliant. We planned to use it once or twice but ended up eating there around 10 of the 14 nights we stayed because it was delicious. Two of us are vegetarian and the staff were happy to amend the already good choice on menu to include vegetable stroganoff and curry, both of which were great!

We found the breakfasts adequate, nicely served by a yound man with a lovely smile. If you want a full English you can upgrade for 1.50 euros but we found the eggs, toast and croissants to be enough.

The pool is clean and there are enough sunbeds for all who want them.

All in all, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Free wifi Room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I have just returned home after staying at the Romanza for the 3rd year and it goes without saying that we will book for next year. The food is amazing, the views out of this world and the people are the best!!! This year we booked a boat trip to Paxos and Anti Paxos which was an excellent day out and cost 29 euros each. The coach picked us up outside the hotel at 7.15am and we returned approx 9.00pm. Paxos is worth a visit just to see and go in the crystal clear water. We also hired a car and visited Corfu town, Kassiopi and Paleokastritsa. If you have a car these are wonderful places to visit especially the fort in Corfu town. We also walked many miles visiting Cape Dratis and Logos Beach having a drink at the Sunset Taverna enjoying the wonderful views. Alex in reception can point you in the right direction and if you fancy a walk its worth it. Without repeating what we have said about this hotel in our previous reviews we can only reiterate that if you visit the Romanza you will have a wonderful and relaxing holiday.
Thank you all again. Andrea and Graham (mother and father).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChippenhamWoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I cannot fault this amazing place. The people, the food, the cocktails, the service, the pool, the atmosphere, the Greek Night.... everything is incredible. We will most certainly be back AGAIN next year. The best meal in San Stefanos by far :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benjybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Stefanos
0.2 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
615 reviews
22.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,308 reviews
13.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terezas Hotel
Terezas Hotel
#1 of 13 in Agios Stefanos
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Voula Apartments
Voula Apartments
#2 of 13 in Agios Stefanos
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romanza Hotel

Property: Romanza Hotel
Address: Avliotes | Ag. Stefanos, Agios Stefanos 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Agios Stefanos
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Romanza Hotel Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing