We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star hotel”
Review of Thomas Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thomas Bay
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Agios Stefanos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We went to this hotel for two week towards the end of August and had a lovely time in Sans Stefanos. The hotel was friendly and realy tried their best to make you have a good holiday. Our room faced the side and was noisy in the morning when the bin men came to load the rubbish bins. The room was fine although the bathroom could have been bigger and the shower curtain was too short so the floor was often wet. The meals were not good for me as I cannot eat peppers and at night at least two of the four choices would have peppers in them so I was very limited. The portions were very big and I would probably have been better to have two starters sometimes. The breakfast is boring. We had fruit cocktail with honey and yoghurt and asked for four pieces of toast instead of the rolls which was fine. In the end we paid for the cooked breakfast some mornings which was fine. The staff are the best thing about this hotel as they are really friendly and cheerful. Also the location is really good, just a short walk to the beach and bars and shops handy for the evening.
The beach is absolutely lovely and we went down and to the right for padded sunbeds, an umberella and a litre of water in a cooler for 7 Euros, wonderful. The Mango beach bar just up from the sunbeds is wonderful too. Lovely friendly staff and very comfortable.
I would certainly look at going back to Sans Stefanos but maybe, for me, a different hotel just for the food to be more suitable for me. It was a lovely holiday though in many ways and we also enjoyed the trips and we hired a car for a day. Wonderful times.

Room Tip: There were a few rooms facing the pool which looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandyonholiday_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hotel rooms and staff very good but for a 3* beds not made every day just left by housekeeper if we had pulled covers up.
Pool great and sunbeds.
Food breakfast - continental not help yourself but offered either greek honey and yogurt, or cornflakes, or fruit salad this was then served to you with either coffee or tea. your were then given1 slice of toast each and a bread roll with butter and strawberry jam and that was it. I did expect more.
Dinner a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 5-6 sweets. choice of Greek meals but I like trying new and traditional meals so was happy till I found that they were very spicy and not hot enough. After the second evening meal where I had meat balls to start and a chicken and pasta main the next morning I was not well unable to move to far from a toilet and this continued for 2 days until I took Imodium. Keep to plainer food from then on but meals not hot enough and plates cold not good. on the day we were leaving again not well from the evening meal had to take Imodium again as we were flying home.

Room Tip: 2 or 3 floor at the back of the hotel as the sun if on the balcony most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just back from another terrific holiday. This was our 4th time in San Stefanos, 2nd time to Thomas Bay Hotel. This time we took my parents with us on their first trip to Corfu and they said it was the best holiday they have ever had. Rooms are kept spotlessly clean, towels and sheets changed very regularly, constant hot water, great shower, satellite TV in room, lovely balcony, extremely comfortable beds, great lighting, hairdryer, plenty power points, plenty wardrobe space with hangers and drawers. I like the fact they have provided a thin rope along the balcony with pegs to hang your washing on. Breakfast we all thought was lovely - orange juice, fresh ground coffee or tea, fresh toast and a roll, butter and jam (which can be changed for marmalade if you ask), and we always opted for the Greek Yoghurt and Honey (the best we have ever tasted) but you could have fruit cocktail (served with some yoghurt and honey if you like) or cornflakes if you prefer. We found the breakfast very enjoyable every day. We had a cooked breakfast on our last morning and it was 2.5 euros for 2 fried eggs, 2 rashers of bacon, 1 sausage and beans served with plenty hot toast and butter, which was delicious and unbelievable value. The meals at night were varied and tasty with superb waiter service. You get crusty bread and butter, starters, mains with side salad, and desserts. Plenty choice and plenty Greek dishes. They will even make you something else if you don't fancy what is on the menu. Drinks at the bar are very reasonably priced, 4.5 euros for a half litre carafe of very palatable wine, 3 euros for a large Mythos, 4.5 euros for a cocktail. The lounge bar is lovely, clean and comfortable with big leather sofas if you want to relax. We enjoyed the hotel entertainment of Karaoke, Elvis, Splinter band, and the quiz night. If you don't fancy the entertainment, we sometimes went to the Condor Bar just across the road which has great tribute acts every second night (Robbie Williams, Meatloaf, Motown Soul, etc) or Athens Bar which is a very cool bar just a few doors down, where they have a fab guitarist on a Saturday night. We'd then go back to the hotel for a nightcap of hot chocolate with fresh cream on top for 2.5 euros or the best Irish Coffee ever for 4 euros as the bar was always open late.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the beach, has as beautiful pool with plenty loungers and is located on the main street which has plenty bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets. The best thing about our stay at this hotel though is the staff who work tirelessly to ensure you have a great holiday. My husband had hurt his back the day before we arrived and the receptionist, Heather, noticed he was in great pain when he was walking past reception and phoned the doctor who came within half an hour, gave him an injection and tablets and he was right as rain within an hour. The waiters and bar staff work so hard for long hours, are very professional and efficient, but always have time for a laugh and joke with the guests. I'd told my parents how fabulous this hotel was before we went, and they said it was all I'd told them and more. One of the days we were stranded in Avliotes during a thunderstorm and one of the hotel barman spotted us and gave us all a lift back to the hotel in his car.

Keep up the great work Thomas Bay. All in all, I'd give the hotel 4 star and the staff a 5 star rating - we will return!!!

Room Tip: No lift so go for a ground floor if you have mobility problems. We prefer the higher floor with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Frances1Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Check in quick.Food average.Stairs a minefield with poorly fitting carpets.Clean hotel.Got what we expected but with the added bonus of Stefanos! At night noisy scooters were a nuisance.Shops all open very very late.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms seem best,but get most noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fletch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were looking for a budget price autumn break and found the Thomas Bay on the Thomson website, price was good, so never having been to Corfu before we gave it a try.
Transfer from the airport was a bit of a chore, 2 hours in our case, arrived late (1:00am ) due to security scare at East Midlands airport, to be greeted by a miserable night porter who only spoke in grunts.
Room on lower ground floor had a very distinct musty smell, which we discovered was due to leaking shower tray in bathroom. The room overall was adequate but needs updating, cleanliness was average, squashed and dead flies on walls and floors.
The Hotel public areas were tidy and nicely presented with a pleasant pool area and garden.
We were on half-board, therefore evening meal included, food was mediocre, a bit hit and miss with a couple of half decent meals throughout the week, as for breakfast, well enough has been said about that in previous reviews!
The Head Waiter we found a bit moody, but we think this was part of his act when playing up to the regular guests. Hotel entertainment - Bingo, Karaoke, Quizes etc: not our style, but other things going on in village so there was an escape.
San Stefanos is a pleasant, quiet resort with a nice sandy beach but a bit isolated, therefore a hire car would be best if you wish to explore the rest of the island.
The Hotel has a lot of regulars who return year after year, which is surprising, but each to their own! The impression we got was that they have been offering the same level of service for many years, therefore the ''if it ain't broke don't fix it'' attitude seems to prevail.
On the whole for the price we paid, the Hotel was what we expected, however we would not use this hotel again as we feel it needs to improve its standards, but that we suspect would make it more expensive!!

Room Tip: rooms on lower ground floor facing restaurant and kitchen are worth avoiding, however all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel a couple of days ago, did not book beforehand and was told it would cost €55 if paid by Visa and €50 by cash, more black economy. When we checked in, I asked for a remote control for the ac. Told there was an extra charge, kicked up a stink and eventually given one without charge. Room was OK, no balcony (224), a bit of string outside the window for hanging out towels and togs, very classy!! No fridge. Beds were OK. Corridor to room was "carpeted" in threadbare, fraying and loose material. Breakfast was a joke, watery juice, a slice of toast and a crusty roll with one butter pat and portion of jam that was tasteless, tinned fruit cocktail and tea.

Staff have obviously got to know their regulars and they obviously play to them. Bingo in the main bar meant we had to go downtown, how boring can you get. Definitely not a hotel to return to although San Stefanos is a beautiful resort and we had a great time there.

Room Tip: If you don't mind bingo, fruit cocktail and a bland experience then this is the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel was pretty much what we expected, having read previous reviews before we went. Although we had requested a high floor, on arrival we were shown to a room on the lower ground floor at the back. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise, as the sun never shone into the room which kept the temperature bearable without needing to rent the air con. It was also probably the quietest area when the entertainment was in full flow! The only thing we faced was the dining room, so we only needed to close the curtains when getting changed at mealtimes - not a problem - and unusually for a Greek hotel room, there was plenty of lighting, which I found useful due to poor eyesight! First the negatives: We felt that certain parts of the hotel need a little TLC. For example, the carpet on the stairs/corridors was very worn & threadbare. The pool WC area was rather tatty. The drains in our bathroom appeared to be partially blocked - it only became a problem on the last 2 days so we didn't report it. We are experienced travellers to Greece so had no unrealistic expectations of the plumbing (unlike some reviewers), but the washbasin was very slow to drain and the drain in the shower could cope with one shower, but after a second one was taken immediately afterwards, dirty water containing bits of unsavoury debris came gushing up out of the drain in the floor & on one occasion flooded under the bedroom door & soaked the carpet in the corridor. Breakfasts were quite adequate in terms of the amount of food served but the lack of variety was frustrating. I understand they are working to a tight budget but surely the daily sachet of strawberry jam could have been alternated with, say marmelade or honey at no extra cost? On the plus side: the evening meals offered a good choice and always contained at least one traditional Greek main course. Drinks were inexpensive for a hotel and the service from the waiters was exemplary. They were always friendly & cheerful despite working very long hours. The entertainment of quizzes, karaoke, live acts & bingo was not always to our taste, but we prefer to go for a walk in the evenings anyway. There were always sunbeds free, whatever time of day, in either sun or shade. The reception area is lovely with comfortable leather sofas. There's a currency exchange at the desk & an ATM by the front door. The hotel is on the main street and the bus stop is just outside. Overall we enjoyed our holiday & felt it represented good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have the best view, although it's not a particularly inspiring view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbaraGeorgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Stefanos
0.2 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
12.4 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
3.9 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#1 of 39 in Sidari
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Messonghi Beach Resort
Messonghi Beach Resort
#3 of 7 in Moraitika
2,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pictures Suites
Pictures Suites
#3 of 7 in Agios Stefanos
31 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Olga
Hotel Olga
#10 of 14 in Agios Stefanos
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Bay

Address: Agios Stefanos, Avliotes 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Avliotes > Agios Stefanos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Agios Stefanos
Price Range: £60 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thomas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Bay Hotel Corfu
Thomas Bay Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing