We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Service-Not the Greek welcome I remember”
Review of Terezas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terezas Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We treated ourselves to three weeks and chose the Teresa in search of the small and friendly Greece we once remembered. We loved the resort of San Stefanos and will definately return although definately not to The Teresa. On arrival we were delighted with the standard and cleanliness of the accommodation. We chose the b+b option mainly for the standard of rooms and bathrooms and initially were not disappointed, especially when we awoke the following morning to discover we also enjoyed a partial sea-view which we hadn't expected.

So what went wrong: The room was not cleaned nor linen changed for the entire first week despite the promise of cleaning three times per week. When we had a polite word with the owner his mother cleaned the room promptly and apologised that the room had been missed off as the Albanian maid did not speak English or Greek. No worries we hoped the misunderstanding had been resolved and continued to enjoy our stay. Well into our second week we still had not recieved the cleaning facility or linen change and were bemused when our neighbours complained to us that since our original complaint they had been inundated with a daily cleaning and linen change service. We laughed when we realised that following our complaint the service had been stepped up but unfortunately our neighbours recieved excessive service and we continued to recieve none.
Again a polite word with the rep and a promise that the matter would be dealt with immediately. Three days later and at the end of our second week still no cleaning or linen service. By now we had cleaned the room ourselves and had our linen laundered locally to ensure we had at least the use of clean towels. Another word with the owner who informed us that we were liars as his mother had seen to the room personally and also shared with us his views that our home in England was dirty, holding our tongue we again politely explained that it was the neighbouring room that had been attended to he sighed and scurried off or shall I say strutted off, returning later he admitted or rather spat out that the housekeepers had been cleaning the wrong room. This also coincided with a visit to our room by the rep who admitted that the room had not been cleaned for some time. Leo the owner was extremely rude throughout this saga and completely lacked any form of customer service. During the third week of our stay and after clearing up the mystery of which room should be cleaned we recieved the stated three times of cleaning and linen change and were very satisfied with the high standards, however, it had taken two weeks and a lot of energy on our part to resolve and spoilt the stay.
It was pretty obvious that we were not welcome at the teresa and we have never in thirty years of foreign travel been so badly and rudely treated by the owner of a hotel. I think Leo and Fanis have been resting on their previous success and have forgotten that their success to date is a result of tourists and not indeed in spite of them.
Interestingly because we were not in the hub of the Teresa locals and regulars and being there for three weeks could see the conveyor belt of tourists in and tourists out and the superficial and shallow welcome of the proprieter. Tourists are greeted with a smile as wide as the potential euros which will eventually find their way into the hotell till.

The final straw was the nightly visit by two resident rats who forraged for food on the balcony and seemed to be nesting on the roof of number 27.

The positive was the young waitress who served breakfast every morning with a genuine smile and lovely genuine welcome. San stefanos itself is a laid back resort with excellent tavernas, in three weeks we did not have one bad meal and will definately return although definately not to the Teresa. Stay at your peril.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Burt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2008

We stayed at the Teresa Hotel from 12-26th Sept 2008 (part of the Teresa Apartments complex which they added in 2005) and it was of a super standard. Unlike the self catering apartments, the hotel rooms include breakfast and the bathrooms are fabulous. Nikos, Leo & Fanis clearly spent a lot of time, effort and money on the new building and it was well worth the effort because they are the nicest hotel bathrooms that I have ever seen in Greece and ones that wouldn't look out of place back in England!

The weather unfortunately turned a bit temperamental the day after we arrived and we endured a 2 day storm but we did get 9 days sun out of 14 so not the end of the world!

I hadnt been back to San Stefanos in 17 years after visiting frequently as a child and the town has lost none of its charm and hospitality. My husband was visiting for the first time and he was equally charmed. Sure, it has more bars, shops and restaurants etc now but the people and ambience remain as fabulous as ever.

Nikos, Angie, Leo, Fanis all work their socks off to make the guests feel at home at the Teresa and it says a lot that week in, week out, over 50% of the guests are returning ones!! In addtion to the family, Greg works the bar most days and was a source of amusement due to his deadpan humour...

The pool area is second to none in the resort (in our opinion) and the views of the sunsets over the beach were to die for - the pool is safe, big and there are plenty of sun loungers either on the poolside or on a grassed area. The food is also good and we ate lunch their most days.

The Greek night in the hotel is well worth a look, we were in stitches and nearly fell off our chairs when the Thomson's rep came out decked in gold sequins as a belly dancer and started gyrating on tables - absolute viewing gold!

The hotel is ideally placed and is only a 3 minute walk from the beach and about 100m (down a steep hill) to the resort centre. Their are numerous bars, restaurants, shops and a couple of internet cafes (hence where we are writing this!).

Restaurants worth visiting in no particular order are:-

Hotel Nafsika, Casa Delfino, Ozzy Oil, Olive Press, Waves and Zorba's.

There are a few like the Condor and Sunset who do the typical British fare (coupled with Wham/George Michael/Elvis nights) but to be fair, we steered clear of those......

All in all, it was a fabulous holiday and we are booking for next year (but in July....) - I would very much recommend the Teresa because of the location, standard of rooms and most importantly, the wonderful family that run it so well. You cannot go wrong booking to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank silverstar2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

Have just returned from our second visit to San Stefanos, what a great 2 weeks! We stayed at the Teresa Apartments, for a 2 star apartment they were fantastic. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the pool, which meant we also had the sea view. We have about 10 pictures of the sunset from our balcony!!! The room is of a good size and has been recently decorated. The food is of a good quality, served by the friendly staff who always seem to be there. We didn't go to the Greek night but it was always fully booked and everyone said what a good night it was. Only negative is the shower, the shower head was not attached to the wall so it had to be hand held and the shower curtain didn't reach the shower tray so the bathroom always flooded!

The resort and the friendly people are what brought us back (we don't visit the same place twice usually). The food is of a high quality in most restaurants, Zorbas has good Greek food but the dancing gets a little too much. The little Prince is also a great place to eat. Two new restaurants this year are both excellent, Ozzy Oil is owned and run by Kerry and Nikos (Kerry being the Ozzy!) We ate there twice, once was the BBQ which Nikos cooks with his secret marinade! The restaurant is quiet with a really nice atmosphere, we really liked it. The second is Beachcombers, which has fantastic views of the sunset. The food is excellent, we ate there 3 times and had something different every-time. A lot of thought and care goes into the preparation of the food.

Without sounding like a pair of alcoholics, we spend every night in Bar 38. Hilary and Spiros make everyone feel really welcome, the two barmen, George and Andreas, are really good fun, seeming to know everyone. The cocktails are to die for, it's great to sit at the bar and watch Spiros or Andreas create the complicated and very decorated cocktails!! They have entertainment some evenings, not something we usually do but very popular.

We hired a car for 2 days which I would recommend, we saw most of the island and lots of really nice views. We hired a Panda from the car rental place in SS, really nice guy working there. We also had a fantastic time on the donuts! Leo works at the Water-sports place on the beach, the best value for money on the whole island, definitely worth an afternoon if you enjoy that type of thing.

Downsides: the short hill to the apartments (only about 50 m) but steep. Poor quality food in 2 Star (lives up to its name). I also had food poisoning from Prawns I ate at Olympia, to make matters worse, when we went to tell them the next day they did not care, and offered no apology.

Overall, a great holiday, no doubt we will be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elledawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

In a resort where there is plenty of choice in small apartment \ hotel style rooms, I think we lucked out in getting a spot in Teresa's, really nice pool, rooms and staff, all in very relaxing.

Positives:-
The rooms were excellent, VERY large and in our block (there are 2 small blocks of 15 rooms or so) newly decorated and well appointed. All rooms come with optional A/C (35 euro's a week), which was a worthwhile investment for us.
The pool is (in our opinion) the best in the resort. Nicely shaped, lots of sunbeds in a variety of locations. Always spotless and inviting. Tried a few others, but kept coming back to this one. It also has a magnificent view (which we'll come back to in the negatives)
The staff are a great bunch, led by dad (Captain Nicos) Leo and Fanis seem to be there 24 - 7 looking after you. Do go along to the greek night if only to see Nicos charming the ladies.

Negatives:-
Probably the most obvious is the location, it's a 5 minute walk into the centre of the resort or the beach. All down a fairly steep hill though, so can be a bit of a climb back up.
Being really picky I found the food and drink a tiny bit on the expensive side compared to the dedicated restaurants in town, only by a euro or so for a main meal, but we ate lunch elsewhere (mainly for a bit of variety though).

Overall / San Stefanos:-
Teresa's is a great place and I'd be happy to go back if I returned to SS.
SS is a great resort, lots of restaurants to try and a huge beach. Culinary highlights include Tzatziki at 2 princes (best I've ever tasted), fish at waves, gyros at tasty corner and the FABULOUS cream pie at the town bakery.
Do try to look at the SS website (I'm sure it'd pop up in a google search) as it has a lot of resources and some nice guided walks.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank El_Badgerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

We stayed at the Teresa Apartments in San Stefanos from one week commencing 14th July 06. The apartments have basic facilities but are clean and well looked after and have the most stunning views over Corfu. The swimming pool is lovely and there are always plenty of sun beds (free!) available.The beach is a ten minute walk away with lots of restaurants serving delicious greek food. Zorbas is a must! Eating out is really good value for money - we were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable it was. The staff at the apartments are extremely helpful and gave some great advice about the area - the Greek night is so much fun run by the family who own the apartments. We hired a car locally which is a great way to see the beautiful island. Aqualand is about an hours drive from San Stefanos and is a really great day out for all ages. The weather in Corfu was lovely about 37c but air conditioning is a real bonus for relief at night form the heat. I would thoroughly recommend the Teresa Apartments for all ages as they are great value for money and in a really lovely village in Corfu. We will definately be visiting again in the future.

Stayed: June 2006
22  Thank SH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Stefanos
0.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
363 reviews
15.4 mi away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pictures Suites
Pictures Suites
#3 of 7 in Agios Stefanos
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar & Almond - Luxury Apartments
Sugar & Almond - Luxury Apartmen...
#5 of 14 in Agios Stefanos
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vicky Apartments
Vicky Apartments
#85 of 763 in Corfu
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terezas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terezas Hotel

Address: San Stefanos Kerkyra, Agios Stefanos, Avliotes, Greece (Formerly Teresa Apartments)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Avliotes > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Agios Stefanos
Price Range: £42 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Terezas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teresa Apartments Hotel Agios Stefanos Nw
Terezas Hotel Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing