We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, didnt want to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ermones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My girlfriend & I went to Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa the first week in June 2011. Turned up at the hotel at 10.30pm and were told by the receptionist a buffet had been left for us in the main restaurant. The ‘buffet’ was some sandwiches which had what can only be described as a slice of yellow & slice of pink in them as fillings. There was also an urn of warm brown, thin soup which didn’t smell of anything. Not a good start.

Our room was supposed to have a partial sea view. The room itself didn’t but the balcony did, 95% mountain view & 5% sea view. Lol. Then next the fridge didn’t work! We didn’t moan about the view but we did mention to reception the fridge wasnt working. They phoned maintenance who said, due to the fridges having no thermostat they don’t get any colder & were in working order. This was rubbish as the fridge was warmer than the room & clearly not working but we just put our water in front of the air con fans to cool it down instead. We expected a bottle of wine as was described on the website but never got it, just got the water. The ‘deep soaking tub’ is just a standard bath & yes the rooms do have 32 satellite channels but all but one are extremely grainy & there are only 2 English channels, World News & CNN. Reception told us these are the only channels available. The wi fi didn’t work in our room either, just on the balcony so best to take an Ethernet cable if you’re planning on using the net. We were on the 3rd level down so had a very tiring (500 paces) walk up the steep stairs every day, unless you’re pretty fit you’ll have to use the funicular railway thing. It’s painfully slow, slower than walking & creaks as it struggles to pull itself up & lower itself down the mountainside.

Don’t worry at this point, I’m making the hotel sound awful which it simply isn’t, I’m just mentioning that there are a few niggles, small problems that you do get with all hotels.

The main hotel is, as the name suggests, grand. It’s air conditioned throughout the reception & dining areas day & night. The rooms all have very nice views be it mountain or sea and are finished to a high quality, it’s clear actual tradesmen have been employed for both the construction & maintenance of the hotel and not just a DIY enthusiast.

The evening meals in the main buffet restaurant Medusa became a bit bland & repetitive. The sausages at breakfast were frankfurters cooked in the oven! Other than that breakfast was nice with a large selection of food & fresh coffee & freshly squeezed orange juice every day. We tried the beach bar Thalatta for lunch one day, It has the same menu as Eros (the pool bar) & both are overpriced. Burger & Chips costs £7 & an orange juice was over £5! Not mentioning the half pint fruit smoothies that cost a staggering £8 each. We went to the a la carte ‘Vertigo’ which served very nice food indeed but a bit expensive, even with the 20% off we received as we were half board & the portions were quite small. I wouldn’t say this if the hotel was cheap to stay at but it isn’t, it’s expensive to stay there in the first place & then they overcharge for food & drink prices.

It has a small shop but if you can avoid it don’t go in there as the woman serving doesn’t have manners. I don’t like it when somebody doesn’t say thank you. Again the stuff in there is pretty overpriced so if you can walk then head down the hill to the shop at the entrance of the hotel, you can get water that’s much cheaper than in the hotel in bigger bottles & also they have fridges to keep the water cool which the hotel shop doesn’t. The shop at the entrance doesn’t open on Sundays though.
Sun lotion wherever you are costs a small fortune, both the abovementioned shops wanted about £20 for a small bottle which is daylight robbery. Make sure you pack enough in the first place.

We hired a moped when it was a bit cloudy one day to explore the local area. It was well worth doing as a moped was very cheap to hire and we saw some of the island we would have otherwise have missed but the surrounding area was, to be honest, a bit of a dump. The hotel is definitely 5* if not 6*in comparison to its surroundings. We went to a beach north of Ermones near Paleokastritsa, only about 25 mins away, it was well worth it, it’s a nicer beach than Ermones. On Ermones beach they charge 3 euros 50 cents per sun bed & there was a few kids around so better to stay at the hotel for sunbathing where there are no kids at all & the beds are free. If you want a bed in a good spot near the pool get up early & put your towels out by 7.30am.

We’d definitely go again as the hotel scored 9/10 for my girlfriend and I despite the few little problems.

Room Tip: Try to get ones close to or in the main hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dogmotor106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

We've just returned from this hotel yesterday with friends. We chose this hotel as we were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary and wanted something special. The hotel was fantastic, we were lucky enough to be in the main building - room 158 therefore didn't have far to walk to the amenities.

The bedrooms are great - with a good size balcony and excellent views. The bed is massive and very comfortable.

Lovely bathroom with separate shower and deep bath. Hotel provides towels daily and also a starter pack of essentials e.g vanity kit,sewing kit, shower cap and some nice smellies! Pool towels provided free of charge and you can change them 3 times per week.

The evening entertainment is very good and you need to bring some nicer clothes for night as there is a smart dress code in the restaurant i.e. ladies usually wear dresses and the men are required to wear long trousers and no shorts!

The buffet food was gorgeous, there was something for all tastes. One gentleman in front of me at the buffet wasn't happy with the food and the chef asked him what he would like and he would cook it - which he did! Breakfasts were lovely - everything from fresh fruit to cooked breakfasts.

Staff were tremendous - nothing was a problem. Room service was very quick and prompt and rooms were kept immaculate.

Only advise i'd give is to take your own tea or coffee with you as there is none provided in the room even though there is a kettle and cups. There is a small shop at the bottom of the hill and you can buy a small tub of nescafe for 2 euro's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gail2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed here for 1 week in May with some friends. Hotel rooms are lovely, very comfortable bed, large bathroom with separate shower, large lounge and good size balcony with great views. Room and hotel overall was very clean, pool beautiful but freezing.
Food was excellent and a huge variety on offer. Lovely setting with beautiful views, on our first day there were not enough sunbeds but after my husband asked for some more the hotel staff kindly found us some.
We were in room 705, this is nice and close to the main reception and the restaurant so not to much walking for us like other people had to do. We also had excellent views and so so so peaceful, loved that part of it.
We hired a jeep from just outside the hotel, it was very reasonable and half the price of what the hotel wanted for car hire. We also liked to use the shop which is also just outside the hotel entrance and bought our alcohol here as the hotel bar drinks we found very expensive, but thats the euros fault I suppose!!!!
The only complaint we have in the tea and coffee facilities, when we arrived to our room we did not have any coffee etc. We rang reception and they said they would bring some, 1 hour later we rang again, 2 hours later still no sign so we went and walked to reception. We were told that they only supply the first days coffee etc and then after that you had to pay 5 euros a day!!!!! Found this incredible but in the end we bought our own as not prepared in a 5* hotel to pay £5 euros for 2 small sachets of nescafe and 2 tea bags. Also bar staff were rather rude and miserable which is a shame as we found all the other staff so friendly and nice.
Anyway moan over, apart from that we would say this is a definate for people who totally want to relax, have good food, nice views, spacious rooms and a peaceful chill out time.

Room Tip: Room 705 is excellent as its closest to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brunodorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Just a short note about this hotel, We travelled for our honeymoon and got exactly what we were expecting a beuatiful hotel in a peaceful location to completely relax!

The hotel is stunning when we pulled in it was a surprise that this was hiding in this locaton, the only thing we will say is this hotel is very secluded we hired a moped too get around the island which was fantastic and would highly reccomend seeing the island as it is amazing!

The food in the hotel is really nice and the snack bar for lunch we found very reasonable, we also ate in the a la carte restaurant which again was a fair price although not a huge variety- we do have to agree with other reviews the the drinks are quite pricey however the local beer and wine is reasonable

The staff were very helpfull and polite and often made an effort to make conversation, the entertainment was ok but gets a bit samey but like I say this hotel is for a real RELAXATION holiday so dont expect to be doing much atall

The only negative I have about the hotel is that Thompson do a late flight we didnt arrive until 5am tuesday and our returning flight didnt leave till 3am the following Tuesday but we had too be out of the room at 11am on th Monday??? We asked for an extension and had to pay 70 euros which I thought was terrible as we had paid for 7 nights! Not a good way too end a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chloehammond26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We loved this hotel, arrived very late at night and were driven to our room 412 by buggy, we were told they had provided buffet food, this was soup with no bread!!!
We had to request a room service menu as the room did not contain one, this took around 45mins, the food once delivered was really nice and quite reasonably priced.

The hotel is really in the middle of nowhere, we hired a car so was not a problem getting about, one place to check out if you get a car is Pelekas, its a bit hairy driving up the hills to get their but well worth it!!
The hotel is built on a hill which is very steep, we were on the lowest tier of the hotel so getting to reception is a really hard going, we were told by the rep and reception that we can call a buggy to drive us up the hill, we did so a few times, however found the hotel staff were quite rude and asked us to get the lift, I explained I am scared of heights and they sent a buggy.
The pool is really nice, very clean and wonderful views, the only issue we had is that all the beds were gone by 9.30am
The spa is nice, we did not have any treatments as they were a little pricey, the gym is very limited but ok, they have tennis courts, darts, ping pong which are all in good condition.
The main restaurant food is nice, not great tho, breakfast is about the best, lots of choice however the toasters either don't cook the toast or it comes out burnt!
Dinner got very repetitive as we were staying for 10 nights, and was very bland.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel the cleanliness is first class and the majority of staff are helpful, the hotel is very isolated so if you like seeing sites a car is a great option, the car hire place closest to the hotel is good value and Maria the owner is really nice and does a good deal if you barter.
We would definitely return to this hotel, for a relaxing break away from children it really is a gem in the crown!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank faithyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We reguarly use Trip advisor ! we do read between the lines though as people have various expectations ! so our opinion on "The Grand"....FANTASTIC !!! we have been abroad many times and this place is easily in our top 5 of all time.Yes the lift but its built on a hill to take advantage of the views ! Expensive drinks ? this is down to the Euro rate not the hotels fault ! poor service ? its suppose to be a holiday ! you could always stay at home and go to a fast food chain ? So i think you get where i'm coming from ? please feel free to read our other limited reviews and you will see they are not always like this ! BUT rest assured if you want piece,quiet,quality,views etc etc then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Get away from it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JustaRealisticCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The Arrival was outstanding - not to be underestimated the help given by the hotel when you are tired and land not knowng what is ahead!
Room excellent and overlooked the magnificent clear turquoise sea and mountains. Cleaned daily with fresh sheets whenever you request them by leaving a card on the bed. Plenty of hanging space for clothes and room more than adequate in space. Lovely bathroom with shaving mirror, separate shower and deep bath. Hotel provides towels daily and also a starter pack of essentials e.g vanity kit,sewing kit, shower cap and some nice smellies! Pool towels provided free of charge 3 times a week so no need to bring beach towels if you're struggling with luggage weight!
Would recommend you bring a mossie plug and repellant spray as a few little nippers in the air at night due to it being in the mountains.
Absolutely gorgeous place... very friendly and accommodating staff who just cannot do enough for you. Very efficient and an asset to the hotel.
Food is glorious and could be compared with cruise ship type choice and quality. You can visit the buffet as many times as you like and because it is so good on half board there is not really the need to pay to eat in either the beach or the al fresco restaurants. Be prepared to expand your waistline when you come here!
Pool is massive and very clean and is a refreshing change to the heat you experience when sunbathing.
Don't pay much attention to any Corfu weather forecasts as it clears as quickly as any cloud forms and thunder storms were forecast for our stay yet, after 7 days we are yet to experience one. The sun is incredibly hot and the umbrellas round the pool are a welcome escape to the shade when needed.
The hotel is a bit out in the middle of nowhere yet there is nothing you need extra and there are hourly buses into Corfu town for a minimal charge (2 euros each way)
Thomsons cannot look after you any better and our Rep has been probably the best Rep we have ever had the pleasure of meeting.
The hotel is also Adult Only which is very pleasant. It is a real romantic getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!
Evening entertainment is varied and you definitely need to bring some nicer clothes for at nigth as there is a smart dress code in the restaurant i.e. ladies usually wear dresses and the men are required to wear long trousers and no shorts!
Drinks at the bar are very expensive
Spa treatments are also excessive and far too overpriced in comparison to UK.
We will definitely return to this hotel as it is luxury at its best.
Beach not up to much but pool area more than compensates.
Overall, a great place which we would highly recommend and return to yet wish they would lower the Spa prices as several guests comment on how expensive they are!

Room Tip: ask for room nearest to reception due to steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Knowles1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermones
12.3 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
10.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,441 reviews
12.3 mi away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
4.6 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica

Address: Ermones 49100, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Ermones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ermones
Price Range: £101 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mediterraneo Hotel Ermones
Grand Mediterraneo Resort And Spa
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa By Atlantica Corfu/Ermones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing