We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Glyfada Beach(Glyfada)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Levant(Pelekas)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aqualand Resort(Agios Ioannis)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,910)
Filter reviews
1,910 results
Traveller rating
1,171
502
149
47
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,171
502
149
47
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barhalf boardprivate poolmain buildingcorfu towndrinks packagefunicular liftsea viewring receptionrelaxing holidaysteep hillgolf buggycable cargala nightthomson reptennis courtsdrinks are expensive
Filter
Updating list...
1,321 - 1,326 of 1,910 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Well, I think the title of this review sums up our experience!
Beautiful setting and yes, as the hotel descriptions all say it is hilly, however do not let this put you off.
We had a room, number 514, down near the beach and furthest away from the main hotel and this did not cause us any problem at all. We did our research and knew what to expect. We used the lift, which never caused us any problems and you have to expect a slight wait, its got a hill to climb, it won't move fast and there is only one. We chose to use the stairs beside the lift to get to and from the pool, made us more hungry for breakfast and then the road in the evenings. Most nights when walking to dinner a golf buggy would pass and pick us up, but you do have the option to call reception and get one to come get you.
Food, fantastic. Of all the many hotels we have stayed in with buffets, this was far the best, just fantastic and all staff are soooooooooooooo friendly.
Pool, it does says you can't reserve sunbeds, but so many people did, however you could still get one around 9ish and later if you choose the grass area just below the pool. We took to getting to the pool at 8am, having a nap on our sunbeds and going for breakfast at 9:30. The views are amazing.
There is a little shop in the hotel to pick up water and a little supermarket outside the entrance where we picked up cheap beer and wine for the room which we stored in our fridge.
If you are like us and always go 5 star, you will be used to 5 star prices for drinks and snacks at the bar. Just take extra cash with you if you like the induldge.
All I will say about Thursday evenings entertainment is OMG. Make sure you are around for the Gala Night.
I can't comment on Corfu, we stayed at the hotel all week, why not, its fab. We visited the beach, where we took out a pedalo, a MUST, beautiful scenery and gorgeous water.
My partner celebrated his birthday on the day we arrived so I emailed the hotel, we had champagne and cake in the room which I requested and were courtesy of the hotel and as a surprise that just happened, they brought another bottle and an actual birthday cake to the table whilst we were tucking into our buffet. Embarrasing, but a wonderful surprise.
We had a truly amazing and relaxed time, so if you fancy it, book it and please don't be put off its on a hill. ENJOY.

Room Tip: If you don't want to much of a climb, as for near the reception!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WoodyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed for a week in late June 2012. We were looking for a good quality adults only hotel for a relaxing, quiet holiday. Excellent hotel and service. Staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient, especially the waitresses and Erica the 'animator'. They were a real credit to the hotel. We enjoyed Erica's quizzes each night. The food was excellent - we are vegetarian and were never short of choice. There was sometimes a short wait for a table - but Erica would greet you for a chat and glass of bubbly. The evening entertainment was good, especially Encore and a 70's motown night. Nice easy listening with a bit of dancing from time to time. Room and view very nice. Standard of cleaning not so good - not a problem, but not as good as we have experience elsewhere. Our room was near the bottom of the complex and it was a long, very steep walk to reception. We are both fit and regular gym goers, but that walk in the heat meant being a little sweaty when arriving for dinner. Although, to be fair, golf buggys and the funicular lift were available (we only used the lift once as it was very slow and hot). It was nice walking back after dinner though. The gym was disappointing - one each of the two treadmills and rowing machines were broken. The beach was also disappointing - but there were lots of other options within short drive.
We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a good quality hotel in a nice location with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KevWiltshire_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel is fantastic, from the setting to the food and the amazing staff who really couldn't do enough for you. It's perhaps not for everyone, it is set on a mountain side so expect to walk up hills and steps to get around but for us this is what made the hotel. We found the place very quirky and not your usual run of the mill beach hotel.

We did hire a car from the airport and even in the dark the hotel was easy to find, car cost £150 for the week but a word do warning, ring the desk in the airport and make sure you have a new car, ours was dropping to bits and was from one of the major companies.

I would recommend the Veritgo Italian restaurant in the hotel, the setting is amazing and the food matches up, they don't over fill the restaurant so the service is great.

Yes the drinks are expensive but you need to remember you are in a 5 star hotel in a country where prices have rocketed due to their economic problems and their VAT is 23%! The local wine is good and get to know the bar staff (tipping helps) and their measures are more than generous!

The rooms are amazing we had a sea view and were on level 3 which was great half way between the beach and the main building, we used the steps as our morning exercise, a little breathless we would reach the pool but the stunning views made it all worthwhile. We never had a problem getting a sun bed, we are early birds but noticed there were still some free all day long, albeit not right beside the pool.

A couple of niggles, the spa is terrible, size of a hotel suite and expensive, I went to ask about a treatment and the girls we clueless. My next one is being really picky but I would expect better in room toiletries in a 5 star hotel. Other than that fab!

Would we return, absolutely, in fact tomorrow would be fantastic, 37 degrees to torrential rain all in one day, get me back there now!

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms in 200-300's if your fit and don't mind steps or hills, good views and centre of the resort. If you don't fancy the steps ask for the main building.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessPLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Sub Heading: The Hotel can only be described as "All Coat & No Knickers" -

The Pros, The staff were very friendly, the food was ok, if you like buffet style, however, after 10 days we looked forward to freshly cooked food, finally the sun was Hot, V Hot!

The Cons, The shower & bathroom were basic to say the least, the shower after just 1 mins flooded the rest of the bathroom floor, this was found in all the rooms we checked in. Its as though they were trying to create a "wet room" however they failed totally having the toilet right next to the door of the shower, the 1cm lip on the shower floor held no water in what so ever!

The Hill, if you weren't located within the 30 bedrooms in the hotel you had a massive walk up hill each time you came up to the hotel for food & services, no mention of this in the hotel guide!

WiFi, was a joke, in the 10 days we were there it worked well enough to make send emails just 4 days, when it did work you couldn't stream anything as it was to intermittent it took 2 days and lots of swearing at the iPhone when trying to download an audio book of just 120mb! we went off site to do all our downloading! Times, magazines, App updates etc....

Gym (or as we referred to it as the "Shed") The equipment was poor to say the least, the treadmill was out of order for the duration! The "shed" had nesting birds in it, so each morning when it was opened the staff opened all windows & door to ensure the birds could get in and out, this put huge pressure on the 2 domestic Air Con units, so much so that one of them leaked water all over the floor for 3 days before put right! Not a pleasant experience, to top it all the door couldn't be opened from outside so every time a new guest came to use the shed one of us got off the equipment and let them in!!!

Breakfast - You had to make your own tea bags! lol This served as sum amusement each morning and questioned just how much money did they save on this??

Pool Towels, this was a joke! when you checked in, you were given a card this allowed you to exchange your towel only 3 times during your stay!! The hotel employed a chap to ensure this was policed "no card no towel exchange" The sun loungers were so uncomfortable, this was made worse as they had no mattress! "The morning rush to beat the Germans to the sunbeds" on arrival it mentioned in the glossary there was to be NO saving of beds, they suggested that there was sufficient for all guests. For the first 2 days we adhered to the ruling but after not being able to find a spare bed on each day we joined the Germans and set our alarms for 0600hrs

Summary: The Grand Mediterraneo Resort was OK, but most certainly not value for money, had we been able to move hotels we would have! The staff made this hotel, they were very friendly and always so apologetics dealing with the constant complaints at the reception re wifi, sun loungers, gym etc etc.


Finally if given a choice to stay here again, free of charge or referrer a friend, I am sorry it would be a big fat NO!

Room Tip: Find another hotel, suggest other country!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you want a quiet, relaxing , tranquil holiday then, this is the place for you. Just back from an amazing week, which we could not fault.
We upgraded to a premium mountain view room, which was above the main building and, as it turned out, a great piece of fortune. I can imagine some people on the lower levels experiencing frustration at the end of a week having walked up and down that hill!We are in our mid fifties and walked down to the beach, once by the hotel road and once via the steps by the funicular. Walking up the hill is possible but it is steep , really steep and makes your calves tight, so care re your room choice.
We had a large room , excellently decorated, separate sitting area and balcony, as well as a large bathroom which all appeared to have been refurbished recently.
As mentioned the staff were absolutely first class, and after you consider what they have been through re the government austerity measures I could not believe how friendly and happy they were.( would you work 7 days a week , 10 hour shifts.. for £25 per day??).Nothing was too much effort, all done with a smile and service was impeccable.
Food at breakfast and dinner was wide ranging and very well presented and cooked, with mountains of choice.Not a place for you if on a diet.
Drinks, well for a five star hotel , were not out of the way, ouzo 4 euros, large beer four euros, and a bottle of wine was 16 ,( £12) and drinkable .I cannot understand the complaints. Yes two gin and tonics were 17 euros but if you cared to look a the measures they were certainly larger than a double.
I was amazed that such quality existed in Greece if I am honest, and I went with the thought that five star would be in name only. I was wrong. Having been lucky enough to visit all over I rate this hotel as good as any in the States or even in Dubai, it was that good - really.
Go, enjoy and relax. Yes there is little to do in the resort itself, but if you have done your homework beforehand there should not be anything to whinge about.

So thoroughly recommended...... and for all you negatives out there who love to find fault - one criticism, my wife could not reach the muesli bowl at breakfast ......................We shall go back, however, to check that has been rectified.......

Room Tip: care re slope at hotel , lower levels could be wearisome when acessing the main building for breakfast and dinner.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TrevitTreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews