We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly server very tasty food”

Village Taverna George
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Ermones
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional Greek Food And Fresh Food
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“friendly server very tasty food”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

went there at almost the end of the season. the waiter, probably george or the owner was really friendly. we askes for his recommendation and got fish and georges special, which was like a mixed grill. a very tasty burger and some pork steak. the garlic bread was a little dark and dry. the tzaziki was very fasty and the bread fresh. the wine was tasty and we had to pay about 40€ for 2 persons. starter, wine and 2 meals. we got a dessert for free. it took some time between starter and main course. also until we got new wine and the invoice. but still okay. we got a real invoice including taxes. very nice and friendly person.

Helpful?
Thank hausrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    45
    16
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Taverna, good food, and good house red wine.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Location, and service were excellent. The food was very good, as was the house red wine, at 5 Euro for a small carafe of 0.5L.

I wish we had been able to go there more times.

Prices seemed typical for Greece at the moment, i.e. not cheap!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for George !”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Called in to George's Taverna a few times during our stay in Ermones, as this was a very quiet resort ! George is a very welcoming host and his taverna is situated overlooking the beach. If only, the beach could be given a much needed ' makeover ' - it would have been a perfect setting ! We sampled calamari at George's ( it wasn't offered at our hotel ) and decided that his tzatziki was the best we'd had during our stay on Corfu. Food was very satisfactory and we enjoyed our beer, wine and coffee in a very relaxed atmosphere - even during the drizzle !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltownsophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly informal dining”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Traditional freshly cooked food, good service, family run & made to feel very welcome. We enjoyed every meal we had there. We had no confidence in using our 5 star hotel on all inclusive package, so Georges on the beach was a life saver.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank southendlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good beach find”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

George is very welcoming. The food is good & the drinks are much cheaper than at the hotel! We went here several times during our visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Taverna George also viewed

 
Corfu, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Village Taverna George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing