We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place”
Review of Lovides Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lovides Village
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lourdas
St. Petersburg
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet place”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel is situated in a quiet, peaceful place. It has nice pool and beautiful view. Free wifi at reception area. Free parking nearby. Room was very basic. Bathroom was very bad - toilet was leaking, sink pipe was clogged up, no shower hook. Staff was seen only in the morning during breakfast. When we arrived to the hotel in the evening reception was closed, but some man showed up after call and gave us a key.
You really need a vehicle if you stay in this hotel. Beach and shops are pretty far from studios. The road to the beach is downhill so when you go back you will have to walk uphill for 1 km (or maybe even more).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glamour85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    30
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
70
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nikaia in athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

grafw auto to minuma giati piga sto lovides village ton proigoumeno mina. eixa diabasei prin paw autes tis kritikes kai piga fobismenos omws me megali euxaristisi eida oti den isxioun ola ta parakato perasa polu wraia kai i oikogeneia itan polu filiki kai babaia ta dwmwtia itan kathara. to mono kako einai oti ta krabatia iran mona!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holdsun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south coast
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Having read some of the other reviews, I can understand some of the comments made, however i stayed for 2 weeks with my partner (the first week my partners tennagers stayed with us) and possibly had the best holiday for a very long time.
The acommdation is what you expect of greece, it was basic but clean, there was everthing in the room you expected, if there wasn't you just had to ask tand the family were all ways willing to accomdate you. I feel that us british have double standards when we are abroad, we don't respect the rooms as we would in a british property. The accomdation the room was cleaned twice a week by a very efficent albanin lady and Katrines family, who owned the accomdation., again if there was something wrong you just had to ask and problem was normally corrected within a few hours. The family could not do enough to assist you , including taking us to the bank, helping out sort car higher, letting the rersidents arrange a Toga party on our last night with the Katrine and her family joining in including the nutty spiros!!! The family made us feel part of the family and we intend to return next year. I am sure the family read these reports and what i know of the family thay will take them on and will strive to improve because from what i saw that how they work

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulJaneSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I have travelled all over Greece and know to expect basic accomodation, however I do not expect the place to be filthy dirty and totally uncared for. The holiday was not cheap and we had paid a lot less to go to some lovely apartments just ten minutes from these the year before. (just a shame we couldn't get those this time!)
The Lovides apartments are disgusting! I doubt the floor had been washed for a very long time as the grout was brown with dirt. The shower had broken tiles with mould growing round them and the chairs in the room were stained. The shower mat was also stained and dirty.
The whole place seems to be run by teenagers who either argue, sit around on the longers talking on their mobiles or suddenly get up and go off on their peds! We only saw the adults on the last day, they seemed to be hanging around us as if they wanted us to congratulate them for something!
When we arrived we asked for an air conditioner. The boy who brought it round did not know how it worked and told us to have it facing backwards to us. It had broken wheels, was uneven on the floor, pumped out hot air and leaked water on the floor! We changed it for another one which was lying around. This one only leaked water so an improvement there I suppose! Lukily we hired a car and we able to have a nice holiday away from these apartments. I can't believe that this place is still being used by Olympic holidays We did not want to spoil a nice holiday so we just wrote down our views on the form at the end of the holiday. We felt sorry for the rep who just looked sheepish and embarrased as I'm sure she was well aware of the pitfalls of staying here. A nasty dirty place, to be avoided!
Sorry about the quality of the photos.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starsailorKent_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOVIDESFAMILY, Owner at Lovides Village, responded to this review, 5 June 2010
Dear Guests.

Firstly please accept our sincere apologies that the 2009 holidays were spoilt for some of you. We have read your comments very carefully and would like to thank you and others who have taken the time to leave feedback, both positive and negative. Please be assured that they will be taken on board and used to improve the experience of our future guests.

Without wishing to make excuses, the summer of 2009 was a particularly difficult one for our family and because of personal circumstances relating to health we had to leave much of the running of our business in the hands of temporary staff. We accept that because of this the usual standards of cleanliness and service slipped and regret that some people left with a bad impression of the apartments.

Although too late to make things right for your holiday, this year (Summer 2010) we have made a new start. The rooms will be maintained and cleaned, and the bar area staffed, only by members of the family rather than temporary staff. The rooms will be let directly to our customers rather than via a holiday company. We aim to restore the values of family-run hospitality that has characterised Lovidis Apartments for the past 15 years.

Once again our sincere apologies for your bad experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed at Lovides Studios for a week in September 09. Having taken numerous holidays of this type we appreciate that Greece self catering is basic but we at least expect to have 2 knives and forks, two tea spoons and two mugs; we didn't. I had to go down to the 'pool bar' and ask for some. We also expected to have clean and whole towels, we didn't, the ones we were given were grey, torn and had holes in. Our room was filthy, the shower was completely blocked and full of scum and the bathroom bin was not emptied at all. Nothing would have enticed us to enter the pool as it had insects floating in it and swirls of oil and scum covered the surface. We took numerous photographs but the attached of the pool barstools somehow sum it up. If Olympic Holidays think that these furnishings are fit to be in the area their 'Welcome Meet' is held what does it say about their standards. We have visited this island before and love it, we will definitely return but Lovides Studios will be given a wide berth.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettybenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed there through Olympic holidays in a package deal for 2 weeks from the 26th August. Was a cheap deal so i wasn't expecting too much about the accommodation. I'm very easy going and as far as it's clean i don't really care. Well this place wasn't and it is a shame because it is very basic but has fantastic views to the sea (if you get the right studio!). The room was cleaned but only on the 'surface' if you know what i mean. we looked under the beds and my god, they haven't seen a broom in weeks! and this is without mentioning under the oven/cooker!! grease, food... discusting! also all cupboards where full of stains, and greasy finger marks. I can assure you these haven't been cleaned in all summer! and the shower! well, the shower drain was dirty with hairs and the shower curtain all mouldy. Check out our pictures, they say it all. Also we had a broken bottle opener which my partner cut his finger with, and got replace with one which was even worse, so ended up buying our own. Also a light on top of the kitchenette didn't work, which got lightbulb replaced but kept 'exploding'. No big deal, but is things like that that make the difference. The people who run the place are nice 'enough' but very false. I din't like any of them. The only one who was genuinely friendly was the boy who does the maintenance, like garden, etc. He hasnt got a clue but bless him, he does try to help. It really doesn't take much to maintain this property and is a real shame because i would have gone again if it wasn't because it was so dirty.

Another thing i would say about the property is that is next to a house which i don't know why but every night there were 3 or 4 kids with 'self built' mopeds which are the most noisy thing i've ever heard, hanging around there until late hours at night. Room didn't have aircon so had windows open and I could hear the mopeds like they were inside the room and got woken up 2 or 3 times a night because of that.

Location wise if you have a car, which i strongly advise that you do, not only because kefalonia is an incredibly beautiful island which exploring is a must! (avoid resorts!), you will be ok, as you can drive anywhere, supermarket etc. but if you don't, you are 'STUCK'. Nearest shops and tavernas are between 5 and 10 min walk, but if you want to go to the beach, you have a verly looooong way down, and up when you return! plus the beach of Lourdas is not the nicest beach. If you want to stay local go to Koroni. Very quiet and has the best beach bar wich opens until late at night. Sunsets and moonlight.... very romantic!

Also in terms of food, I recommend The Olive Lounge. The people there are so friendly, especially the owner, and food is delicious! Also would recommend Zorbas which the owner was also very friendly to us and gave us a hand with a couple of things here and there. Even rescued us from coming back from the beach on the last day as we didn't have a car! The food is home made. Try the Kleftico... loooovely!

Lourdas in general is very quiet but to me that was exactly what i was looking for. Low key. Has a few tavernas and a very nice night bar called 7 with a nice terrace and good music right on the sea front.

Places to visit in kefalonia were Myrtos beach, a must!, Ag, Efimia is a lovely village with a nice port which we liked, Asos is worth visiting, beautiful fishing village with some of the original houses, and north of the peninsula is where we found it was real 'authentic' kefalonia. I personally didn't like Fiskardo at all. They have turned it into a tourist money making machine and when i got there was full of people coming from everywhere to visit. it was like being right in the middle of Oxford st which was extactly what i was escaping from!

A tip, just drive and don't be scared of turning into a side road.... this led us to some amazing places and little coves where there was hardly anyone there. Its' an amazing island and can't wait to go back!

Remember there are hardly no ATM's so take plenty of cash!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siggygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We booked a last minuete deal so for the money paid we found the holiday to be very good value.This was our 20th visit to Greece but our 1st to Kefalonia.The accomadation was basic,not a problem as we now know what to expect but my major concern was the fact that not once during our 7 day stay were any of the bins emptied! found a large wheelie bin on the road outside and emptied our own.Hired a scooter for 7 days and a car for 3 days so managed to see most of the island one word sums it up Gorgeous.We spent one day at Myrtos beach,the view down to it is fantastic.The beach is all pebbles and very hard to get in and out of the sea,good beach bar and clean toilets.Favourite place was Fiskardo lots of sea front restaurants.
Lourdas nightlife is very low-key and most people tend to eat out,there are plenty of restaurants our favorites were Olive Lounge,Klimatis,La Mer and Spiros.Out of the 7 days we only had one bad meal and that was at Andromeda,we had gone on the Thursday night (Greek night) half of the food was not available and what was left was cold - very disappointed but maybe we chosen the wrong night.
Would we return to Kefalonia 100% Yes,but would look at staying in Skala.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fergie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourdas
0.3 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
0.6 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 2 in Lourdata
173 reviews
6.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
407 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#82 of 140 in Cephalonia
66 reviews
9.2 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovides Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovides Village

Property: Lovides Village
Address: Lourdas 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lourdas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovides Village 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovides Village is located amongst an olive grove not far from the resort centre of Lourdas which offers a range of bars and tavernas. It is approximately a 700 metres walk to the blue flag awarded beach of Lourdas. The rooms are comfortable with twin bedded, sleep 1/2 or 1/3 people and offer a private bathroom with shower, 2 ring cooker and all rooms have private balcony or terrace with beautiful view of Ionian sea or mountain Ainos. Soak up the sun on a sunbed by the swimming pool. There is also a pool bar which serves a good range of snacks, home-made dishes and refreshments. Enjoy a quiet, relaxing evening in the gardens which are full of trees and flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Lovides Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing