We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greece fan”
Review of Villa Mare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lourdas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Mare
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“greece fan”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Villa mare is situated very close to the beach, unfortuately apart from a few average restraunts,it is the only amenity accesable without a lung busting climb up a very steep mountain.If you have any fitness issues you will require a car to visit all of the best restraunts and shops. These appartments in my opinion seem to have been very badly designed , only the upper floor appartments have any kind of view or balcony/private terrace. Unfortunately we were situated on the ground floor were our apartment had a nice view of the road and anyone walking past had a nice view into our apartment ,very amusing for them not for us. In front of our apartment was a flower bed with three palm trees were luckily for us, we were occasionally entertained by two rats run running up and down the middle tree and also the occasional visit from a snake slithering past {none poisonous I found out later}. The best place to go at night and for a lunchtime snack is demitris bar run by a lovely greek family. To sum up if you are looking for a holiday were there is nothing to do in the evening and nothing to spend your money on apart from an over priced mini mart, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: To get the best appartments you have to contact the owners to request an upper floor apartment or yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Villa Mare is in a great location if you want to be near the beach which isn't the greatest backed by an ugly concrete promenade. However the sea water was crystal clear at least when we were there (June 2013).The best thing about the villa mare is the pool area which is lovely with mountain and sea views and never too busy so no bagging of sunbeds ever needed. There is no bar at the villa. The nearest bar only 20 metres away. There is also a handful of tavernas nearby.
The rooms are very basic with not enough storage space or places to put all your things tidily. There is a fridge, kettle and 2 ring hob but no toaster which would be handy. Bathroom had a shower tray with curtain, water pressure was good.
We were lucky enough to get a first floor room with a private veranda table and 2 chairs. This had a view of the sea and mountains which made sitting out eating breakfast very enjoyable. Some rooms are even better with full sea views. The worse rooms are some of the ground floor ones which I was dreading getting as a few not only don't have a view but no private balcony just a couple of chairs outside where everyone passes.. I felt sorry for the people who got these as its just the luck of the draw. They should charge less for these rooms then at least people get what they have paid for.
We paid a lot less for this holiday than we normally do so our expectations were lower to match. Our overall enjoyment of this holiday was just as enjoyable in spite of the lack of luxuries. This was down to the lovely balcony and tranquil pool area plus the close proximity to the beach. We hired a car for 3 days and had a look around the island.
If you want a quiet holiday in a tranquil unspoilt location then choose here.
The walk up to the village is very steep it took us 25 mins but you are rewarded with some lovely views and more bars and places to eat. I recommend Muses for an awesome breakfast 6 euros including fruit juice and a fruit salad as well as a very full english, also The Olive Lounge where I had excellent sea bassl Liked La Mer and for great cocktails Astra. Price of wine in all the places we dined in was only 7 euros a litre for perfectly quaffable house wine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank brozlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Villa Mare.
Villa Mare is a basic accommodation and we were made aware of this at time of booking. At the time of booking we were aware that air conditioning was extra and this was fine. We understoond it is an absolute necessity since August teperatures can reach 40’s ’C. The odd Villa Mare procedure of leaving an envelope of money in a deposit box upon arrival is unsatisfactory. Firstly, perhaps guests want to pay by card. Secondly, since we arrived after 6 in the evening, it seemed unlikely we would get the much needed air-conditioning for the night. They did not state when the box is collected each day. Please note that the room was terribly hot as a result of being heated up by the extreme daytime heat. Who has made the decision that this procedure is satisfactory and worked in the past? What impression does this give of their customer service when the owner's live on site in the penthouse with no method to contact them directly? The Villa Mare rooms should have a friendly welcoming notice/pack. Kitchen facilities were not just unfit but posed potentional safey concerns as illustrated by the use of an extension socket beside the water tap on the stainless steel sink. I would also like to point out that approx. 1/3 of the rear of fridge was open and exposed to the bed area. There was also a broken fridge still in place in the kitchen unit.
The most disconcerting thing is that toilet paper can not be flushed due to the narrow sewage pipes which is a result of earthquakes on the Island. The Island procedure involves placing used toilet paper in covered bins but in our case at the Villa Mare hotel the bins were not emptied for four days. The bathroom was dirty with areas of mould. There was laso very litle water pressure from the 'shower'.
The location was absolutely fantastic but not the hotel. I guess you pay for what you get but I will not be staying here again. The poor kitchen facilities forced us to eat out at the relatively expensive local restaurants.

Room Tip: - rooms on the first floor looked better since they had a sea view. - request managment removes u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leo201295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa Mare for two weeks at the beginning of September this year and we absolutely loved it! The apartments are situated just a stones throw from the beautiful Lourdas Beach where there is a fantastic range of tavernas to choose from.

We were very lucky with our room, as it was upstairs with a balcony and sea view. I understand that some of the rooms are not so good and some people have been very disappointed with them. I think it's the luck of the draw which room you are allocated.

We met several couples who have returned to Lourdas and stayed at Villa Mare year after year so they must be doing something right!

The room was clean, spacious and airy. There was a very small and basic kitchen area (two hobs,kettle and full sized fridge). We had great fun being creative with what we could cook with limited facilities. The room was cleaned twice a week which we felt was adequate. The bathroom was small and the shower head was hand held but this really did not bother us in the slightest. To be fair, you have to expect a more basic standard in Greece unless you are prepared to pay a lot more money. In my opinion it just added to the experience of being in Greece.

The swimming pool was really lovely. The pool and the surrounding area were immaculate and couldn't be faulted. There are sun loungers and parasols which are free to use and we found that the pool rarely got busy. In fact we often found ourselves alone there. This may be as we were there out of season though.

The beach was fantastic too. We only swam a couple of times as we prefer the pool but the sea at the beginning of September is really warm although the wind did make it a bit choppy at times.

Lourdas is a very quiet resort which was perfect for us. We were able to completely chill out and relax. I would say that car hire is essential though as there are no buses and Kefalonia has a lot to offer. We had the car for three days and went all over the island. Don't be put off if you've never driven in Greece. Kefalonia is fairly quiet and the roads for the most part are very good. Just take your time and enjoy the wonderful views!

There is a Lidl and a Carrefour not too far away ( by car) which we found essential for supplies. A word of advice, I hate to potentially put people off but the mini market up the hill ( ten mins walk) from Villa mare has a much better and more reasonably priced selection of produce than the one on the beach. I expected inflated prices but personally found the prices extreme (€4 for small instant coffee and €20 for basic Nivea sun cream)

If you want peace, quiet and paradise then book Villa Mare. We are thrilled that we did and in a moment of post holiday blues we've booked to go back again in June. I'm already counting the days...

Room Tip: Try for a sea view if you can although these are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The resort of Lourdas in Kefalonia won't suit everyone but if you are looking to chill out and relax in a very peaceful resort with amazing views out over the Ionian sea to Zakynthos then you will love Villa Mare. Our room was on the first floor and the balcony looked out over the ocean; eating breakfast with the sound of the waves lapping on the shore has to be the best way to start the day. The apartment was clean and furnished in typical "basic" Greek style. There was a fridge and two electric rings so your ability to "self cater" is somewhat limited. However, there are several tavernas and restaurants on the seafront just a few minutes stroll away. Gerry, the owner, is never far and is very courteous and helpful. Use of the safe and air conditioning incur an extra charge but the pool is a gem.The village of Lourdata itself is up an amazingly steep hill but if you fancy the exercise then you'll be rewarded with some great places to eat. Alternatively, hire a car through Jill and Steve at CBR (Avis and other companies also operate) and you can then get to some amazing places such as the port of Fiskardo in the North, Sami over in the East or the most picturesque place on the whole island: Assos. The weather in September is still hot (although they had storms before we arrived) but not hot enough to prevent you exploring the fabulous island of Kefalonia, and for that, Lourdas is a brilliant base..

Room Tip: First fool rooms at the front are the best. Ground floor do not have a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

i just came back from loudras we stayed at villa mare for one week its was good however you do have to pay 35 euros for air conditioning or 7 euros for a fan.The boat trips are very pricy for what they are we found out if you stayed in the centre of kefallionia you would find the boat trips cheaper at 25 euros for glass boat trip whereas thomas cook are charging 55 euros for the same thing!! if you are young i wouldnt stay in this area as its very quiet and a relaxing place as we found not much to do unless you can drive a car or motorbike

its villa mare does have a nice pool which nobody uses during the daytime we found
i wouldnt come again only because it more of a relaxing place to go unless you want a beach or a pool nothing else apart from that it really nice

great place to eat is at magic hill is lovely food great for money blue sea is good and olive lounge is great however its a hell of walk up the hill!!!

to get to the supermarket is hill abit so is everywhere in loudras to get about there are no BUSES at all there NO TAXI unless you get the rep to call them for you

Room Tip: dont use number 4 as we found we were having problems with the door broke the key in the door the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyhoneychurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I'm a member of a Kefalonian forum and quite a number of times this summer people have come on looking for telephone or email address's of various hotels. Looking around these pages the same is evident,NO CONTACT PHONE NUMBERS! For any advertised hotels?

Will not take much to sort out and save people a lot of searching!

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rollo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourdas
0.2 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 2 in Lourdata
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
3.3 mi away
Panas Hotel
Panas Hotel
#53 of 140 in Cephalonia
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa's .Beach Studios.
Rosa's .Beach Studios.
#4 of 20 in Lourdas
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aristomenis Studios
Aristomenis Studios
#6 of 20 in Lourdas
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mare

Property: Villa Mare
Address: | Lourdas Beach, Lourdas, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Lourdas
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Villa Mare Hotel Lourdas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing