We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buena Vista Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lourdas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buena Vista Studios
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Buena Vista Studios from July 22nd-August 5th 2012. Luckily we got room 1 which is on the top floor and we had wonderful views of the sea. The studios have comfortable beds, a kettle, toaster, fridge and 2 hobs. Our balcony was large with lovely furniture and we chose to spend some days lazing there rather than going to the beach. Location wise you are near lots of fabulous tavernas which serve great food and there are 3 supermarkets within a minutes walk. If we return to Lourdas we would definitely hire a car as the trek up the mountain from nearby Kanali beach is hard in the heat. I would definitely recommended Buena Vista Studios as a lovely quiet place to stay and if you want to use a pool you can take a short walk along to the Maria Anna Apartments.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarinJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We returned this year to Buena Vista apartments and were lucky enough to get the same room with the same beautiful views across the ocean and mountains. Ilias was as sweet as ever and we were so well looked after. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Lourdas, especially as we hired a car this year so even getting to the beach was easy!

Room Tip: Although all rooms are billed as inland view they all look out over the ocean so don't worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacq_and_Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have just come back from our 2 week holiday in Lourdas where we stayed at the Buena Vista Studios. This is a 3rd time we have been to Lourdas and the 2nd time we have stayed here. The accommodation is typical greek. The apartments are in a great location for the top of the village, they have fantastic views over the sea and are in close proximity to the local tavernas and supermarkets. The rooms are basic but have reasonable kitchen facilities including a kettle and toaster (in greece!!). They dont have air con but fans can be hired at the local supermarket if required. While we were their it reached 40degrees and we still managed without a fan.
Clean, basic, in a great location with lovely friendly owners.
We would stay here again and would recommend to anyone wanting a typically greek holiday in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We visited Lourdas for the second time in 3 years last August and stayed at the Buena Vista studios.

The studio apartments are small but clean and well looked after. The owner visits every day and is always there to help, and even gave me a lemon from one of his trees in the grounds! But the best thing about this location is the views, just as everyone else has said, they are fantastic, and every room has a great sea view with misty Zakynthos in the distance. The brochure images don't do it justice.

There's no pool at the studios but you can use the pool at Maria Anna, which is nice, but the best pool in the area has got to be at the Antonia apartments (5 mins walk), which is very well kept, in lovely grounds, with absolutely beautiful views, and a good selection of drinks from the bar to keep you refreshed under that scorching Greek sun.

There are enough great tavernas and restaurants in the village - the best being Olive Lounge, La Mer, Spiros and Andromeda amongst a few others.

Others have mentioned the steep hill down to the beaches, and more importantly, the steep hill back up from the beaches! It is a bit of a trek but use the goat track, it's far more interesting than the walk down the road and the water fountain near the top is to die for.

All in all a great holiday. There's something really special about Lourdas and Kefalonia that makes you want to go back, and indeed lots of people do.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruby98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

These studios are amazing! The facilities are basic but comfortable and clean but the VIEW! I've never seen anything like it, mountains on both sides and beautiful blue sea in the middle. If you want a relaxed, romantic holiday this is the place but be prepared to walk up and down the mountain to the sea! The beaches are white sand, clear blue sea and perfect - no rubbish floating in the sea and clean clean sand. We had the beach almost to ourselves at Kanali in the middle of August. Lovely little restaurants (especially Afrodite where we shared many lovely meals and full Englishes) and cicadas - be prepared, the soundtrack to your holiday will be provided by them. We are definitely going back next year.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have the best view but all the balconies are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacq_and_Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Reviews are a reflection against personal values so let me explain what we like: above all we love quiet locations with a scattering of local supermarkets and places to eat. This is exactly what the studios offer in Lourdas. We never stay at a place with pools as it can lead to a noisy stay - but these studios offer a tranquil setting and use of pool at Anna Maria is no problem with their friendly owners.

Studios are clean and with the usual utensils. The owner is on hand if there are problems and is happy and helpful.

I am going back next year and I would recommend you do to.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chipster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Clean and tidy. Overlooks bay so stunning views from own balcony.
Lack of pool means its always peaceful and tranquil.
Cool in the morning as the sun rises behind the studios
Really close to supermarkets and great tavernas. Recommend La Mer, Olive Lounge & Spiros.
Other hotel pools accessible within 5 minute walk
Has basic amenities like kettle, toaster, electric hob, basic utensils but no oven so do not be expecting to cook elaborate meals

No air conditioning so fan is real requirement. Can hire from local supermarket 5 mins away (opposite La Mer) for €1 per day.
No shuttle bus to beach so beach only accessible by walking - 20 mins downhill, hard walk back up winding hill, at least 30 mins in really hot sunshine

Overall, great location if need holiday with peace and tranquility but if you want beach life, be prepared to walk some distance

Kefalonia - lovely unspoilt island. Great tour called "Island Delights" will take you around most of island in one day. Worth doing if you're not hiring a car.
Other tour would be BBQ Cruise but be prepared for 3 hours on beach in baking hot sunshine
Be warned, Kefalonia airport is tiny and disorganised. Check in is a scrum so patience required.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank worthing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourdas
0.0 mi away
Liberatos Village
Liberatos Village
#87 of 142 in Cephalonia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Apartments
George Apartments
#12 of 20 in Lourdas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aristomenis Studios
Aristomenis Studios
#6 of 20 in Lourdas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Irilena Studios
Irilena Studios
#6 of 28 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lara
Hotel Lara
#9 of 20 in Lourdas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Studios

Property: Buena Vista Studios
Address: Lourdas, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Lourdas
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing