We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, lovely people and great service”
Review of Captain Zorbas

Captain Zorbas
Ranked #19 of 26 Restaurants in Lourdata
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A great family run restaurant. All food prepared to order. Good selection of wine and all homemade desserts. Excellent value. great service, fun atmosphere. Greek food with many choices, also wide variety of English and American food.
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Got a last minute holiday and landed up in Lourdas. We were very near Captain Zorbas so we decided to have a coffee and an ouzo and really liked the owner, Marinos and his daughter, Georgia so decided to go back for dinner. Had delicious calamari, cooked to perfection so we had many evening meals there. Their Stifado, Kleftico and beef with feta cheese were also absolutely delicious. The venue has a balcony so you can sit and watch the sun go down or sit in the restaurant area under a canopy and enjoy the ambiance there. Can't recommend this restaurant and the lovely people who run it. Try it, you won't be disappointed! They also have a beautifully kept pool with both shade and sun which was a lovely place to chill and drink Greek coffee and Ouzo (and they bring it to you!).

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _viragowoman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Visited here in July and was welcomed just to watch the England play off with drinks and nibbles. Here again and have eaten a couple of times both fantastic food and service. Marinos(excuse spelling) also has apartments with a pool. The view from balconies and roof top restaurant takes your breath away especially at sunset. Thank you to all the staff we will see you again before we leave

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 310christinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Saturday evening 25th August and we visited here for dinner. We chose to sit in the indoors part of the restaurant rather than outside by the roadside, the weather had been unpredictable all day and it had rained.

When we arrived there were some other diners in the restaurant, soon after they left and there was no atmosphere in the place. There was a television in one corner with some football match been shown.

While we waited for our meals we were served up some bread with olive oil and dried herbs sprinkled on in. It tasted like the bread was a bit stale with literally a drop of olive oil and a small scattering of herbs, tried it and left it. We were charged €1 each for that, some other restaurants do ask guests if they would like bread or not, rather than serve it anyway.

We ordered a beef stifado, stew with onions, and beef with feta. Both dishes, when served were several great lumps of meet one with onions, which were plentiful and tasty, the other dishes could have done with more feta. All together it was a bit of a chewy meat feast, no real culinary finesse. Felt a bit over faced with the amount of meet and not all of it was eaten.

A large bottle of Mythos was €3.10, the dearest we found in the area.

A new addition to the resturant, this year, is a small first floor terrace, where diners can sit and enjoy the view of the Bay and across to Zakynthos .

The most accurate rating would be good, however it is not an option on TripAdvisor, a rating of very good would be over generous, so average is the more accurate rating.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We visited this place yesterday for breakfast, as it was the only place we found with good breakfast choices in the menu.

It was the last day of our holiday, so we were feeling a bit low, but this didn’t stop us from enjoying the experience.

The scrambled eggs and the greek yogurt with local honey were very nice. The young girl that served us was very sweet. The bill was very reasonable too.

All in all, a good experience. When we visit Kefallonia again, we will return to this place for more,
ie. to have lunch and dinner.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Uaschitschun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

As we are staying in Lourdas, we ate the first evening in the olive lounge because we have the impression everyone is dating in the olive lounge. The other restaurants of the village leaving empty.
As there was no vacancy in the Olive yesterday, we decided to try Captain Zorbas.
And a surprise, it was.
We felt very welcome as the service was very polite and extremely friendly.
The food was delicious, we ate all 5 another plate and each of them was terrific.
The steak i ordered was very tasty with a perfect cuisson.
We got some tzatziki, olives and feta from the house as well.
So, i really don't understand why everyone seems to hurry to the Olive.
Yes the Olive Lounge is a terrific restaurant as well but this one is as good, maybe even better.
So, give it a try at Captain Zorbas, you won't regret.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank IngridBiekeRienske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Zorbas also viewed

 
Lourdata, Cephalonia
 
Lourdata, Cephalonia
Lourdata, Cephalonia
 

Been to Captain Zorbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing