We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic Indeed”

Lorraine's Magic Hill
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Lourdas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family run restaurant, we are offering a warm welcome to new and old friends, beautiful views, a relaxing atmosphere and delicious dishes cooked mainly from our own organic ingredients, free range and organic meats, or sourced locally.
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magic Indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went to this charming restaurant on the very last day of our visit to Kefalonia last year. My only regret is that we didn't find it before. Perfectly situated, as expected, on top of a hill overlooking Lourdas Bay, it's the perfect venue for a relaxed meal. The views are quite simply stunning, as is the food. All of the food is either grown/raised on their own land, or sourced locally. Lorraine is very welcoming and more than happy to chat about the fascinating history behind the restaurant. We were lucky as we were there very early on in the season, so it wasn't too busy, but busy enough considering how out of season it was. We found Kefalonia such a wonderful place that we are going back again this year, and one of our first destinations for a meal will be Lorraine's Magic Hill

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCopnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    129
    58
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stunning views and locally sourced ingredients.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Enjoyed a delicious , freshly cooked lunch here. The taverna was set in the hillside with amazing views. Lorraine was very helpful and enthusiastic about her food. She explained the dishes and the organically sourced ingredients, recommending the dishes of the day. We thoroughly enjoyed the meatballs, feta cheese wrapped in filo pastry drizzled with honey, and the freshly baked bread.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I have to agree with an earlier reviewer who said that Lorraine talked too much! Don't get me wrong, she was a friendly, knowledgable host with a very good business brain but we did tend to feel that we were being talked at rather than spoken with. A little bit OTT if I'm honest. That said, the food was very good, the only thing letting it down was the rather tough lamb on the bone and the sauce on the mussels being a bit weird. Other than that the food was very good. What makes this place stand out is Location, Location, Location. Superb views across the bay will await. All in all a very pleasant evening, highly recommended. Cameras are a must! A little on the pricey side though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ice1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fabulous food - Lorraine did us proud, she is obviously passionate about her work and was very enthusiastic. All food is locally sourced and the vegetables & salads grown in their own garden.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BirtyClitheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The magic is in the views..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went to Lorraine's, after seeing the reviews, for an anniversary meal for a party of 8. On arrival Lorraine came to "talk us through the menu" which at first I thought was a lovely idea but this just caused confusion as there were so many things she talked about I couldn't remember what was what! We were promised 'the best onion soup you'll ever taste' amongst this. This did not deliver, it was a decent homemade onion soup but we have tasted better. The rest of the meal was also decent but in my opinion the magic was in the views and not on the plate. We experienced a little quake whilst admiring the view and waiting for our food, now that was magic. I would recommend anyone to try this restaurant, it was a good evening but for us we have had nicer food. If we return to Kefalonia I think I would go again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatboyandmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lorraine's Magic Hill also viewed

Lourdas, Cephalonia
Lourdas, Cephalonia
 
Cephalonia, Ionian Islands
 
Argostolion, Cephalonia
Cephalonia, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Lorraine's Magic Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing