We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Hotel Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lara
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Just returned from a week at the Lara Hotel. This is a 2 star hotel at best. Clean but very very basic. If you like a rock hard bed and a shower that is so small that you can just about move in, then this is the place for you. Hot water is at a premium if you want a shower between 6 and 7 in the evening whilst everyone else is showering. There is no turn over service on Sunday. Would go back to Lourdas but not the Lara.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fox276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2010

Just returned from staying at the Lara. Ignore negative reviews I found the staff friendly and helpful, the hotel could become a little noisy yet this was due to other Brits staying there and not the fault of the owners or tour operators. Breakfast was basic but hey - this is a 2 star hotel you get what you pay for and there are plenty of places to eat if you need a full english however I found the breakfast adequate and the bread and cereals were replenished regularly. My room was cleaned and towels and bed sheets replaced during the week, on one day the room was not serviced however I think this was due to a staff day off - don't we all deserve this?. I agree the dog does bark a lot and there is also a donkey and cockerel that like to start early in the morning, yet again this is a holiday in Greece and if you don't like it then don't go!! The mini market is around the corner and it takes 5 minutes to get to the beach downhill, I found the guy in the mini market really friendley and helpful. Relatively active people will not find the hill a problem and don't believe what the other reviews say, the hill is generally staggered and worth the view from the top. Yes - you do need a car if you want to make the most of the holiday, go to Perfanis up the hill near the Olive Lounge, very helpful and good local knowledge. Lourdas is a fabulous resort but will only stay that way if it remains unspoilt by tourism.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toady40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Just returned from a wedding in Kefalonia. The majority of the 33 wedding guests were staying at The Hotel Lara, we all had amazing time. Ericos the owner and his staff could not do enough for us. The rooms though basic are spotless as is the rest of the hotel, the food (bar snacks and breakfast served) were good and value for money. Beautiful surroundings(flowers,garden and pool area). If your looking for 5* rooms dont go here, what you will experience is a very restful,tranquil holiday in 2* accommodation but with 5* treatment.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthgoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Visted as part of a 30 group wedding party 8-15th June - A great find, spotless in terms of cleanliness with good ammenities for a hotel of this size. Beds & towels changed every day except (Sun) OK, some rooms are on the small size and I found the mattress hard, but that said, it's a budget hotel. Im my experience, in Greece, unless you aim for 4 Star or above, accomodation can be very dubious. Overall this a lovely little place which to me is aspiring for greater things. Friendly & helpful staff (if not overworked at times) with in house snack & alcohol prices that are the cheapest in the town. Based on the earlier reviews I was was really worried, but on my evidence, this was totally unfounded. If I had one small gripe, the wireless internet connection was really slow (like the old dial up), but hey, it is hardly a worry for most people & not exactly the end of the world.
Also, something else to bear in mind is air conditioning, it is charged as an optional extra (5 Euros a day) If you want to sleep at night, believe me it's a must.
One final thing, don't forget the mosquito repellent!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The occasion was my daughters wedding, there were 33 people in our party and we stayed for a week. Do not believe any of the negative reports about this hotel and staff, the owner Erikos, has been fabulous, nothing for him or any of his staff has been too much trouble. I have not been able to fault one single thing about this hotel, the setting is beautiful, yes it is a hike up the hill, but as long as you know about it then it is not a problem. Staying here has made our special occasion unforgettable.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliewj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The Lara is located 5 mins walk DOWN the hill to the beach, 15 mins UP again! Clean but basic rooms, average pool, reasonable facilities, poor breakfasts!
Rear rooms look out to a carpark and the Mountains, dogs bark consistently at night and the Cockerel starts at about 05.30am!
The beach is decent, need aqua shoes as rocky on entry, not much marine loife so boring for snorklers.
Restaurants: down to beach, turn right and go to far end, traditional local one overlooking the sea. The rest, all much of a muchness, catering for the masses.
Hire a car and visit Sami, Assos, Myrtos beach, Fort St George.
Would go back to Lourdas, next time would stay at one of the beach front apartments though.
Nothing really wrong with the Lara and not slating it at all!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloucesterboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We've just spent the first week of the season in the Lara Hotel, Lourdas. The hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable, rooms are quite small but they have everything you need and the staff are all friendly and helpful without being pushy. Our balcony had a lovely view of Zante. Swimming pool and terrace were well maintained and cleaned daily. Breakfast was what is expected from the description of continental - fresh bread, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, cereal, toast and endless coffee and juice. The area is beautiful with a lovely clean bay, although it is mostly pebbles rather than sand -and yes there is the famous hill but it wasn't that bad and we're not the fittest. Local Tavernas have really good food with friendly staff - many were just preparing to open but Klimatis, Lorraines, at the beach and Dionysus and Spiros up the hill were all good and the local beer and wine is fine. We'd have no qualms about booking at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bovril51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourdata
0.6 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
0.2 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 5 in Lourdata
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
6.7 mi away
Irinna Hotel
Irinna Hotel
#7 of 8 in Svoronata
169 reviews
6.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lara

Address: Lourdata, Lourdata 28083, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Lourdata
Price Range: £32 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lara 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing