We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and tired hotel”
Review of Hotel Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lara
Reviewed 19 September 2010

as a very regular visitor to Kefalonia and Lourdas, we were very dissapointed with the "hotel Lara" the rooms are extremely basic small and old, the rooms with a sea view, are not exactly with a sea view..instead in front of your very tiny balcony there are rather a lot of trees and when the wind blows you may just catch a glimpse of the sea through the moving branches!! however we were not as unfortunate as the poor people who stayed in rooms on the other side of the "hotel" as thet looked over farm land that had a dog chained up on it who liked to bark all night long!! even after countless complaints to Eric the owner nothing got done.
The breakfast was really poor no yougurt or fresh fuit, just boiled eggs, slices of cheap ham and cheese and very diluted orange juice... every morning with no variation.. and the queue for the 2 very old toasters every morning is legendary!!
The only saving grace for the " hotel" is the staff, who were absolutly wonderful..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geri_cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

A nice clean hotel situated on death hill, a real incline down to the beach and painful getting back up. The manager is a real gem, picks who he will talk to and when, one of the most unfriendly up him self people I have ever met.
Sat in some restaurants and they could not be bothered to serve us, left in the end. Seems Lourdas does not want people returning as the treat you like something they have trod in. Sat with empty glasses in most restaurants and had to go to the counter for the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Have just come back from The Lara where myself and my two daughters enjoyed a very relaxing and restful week. The hotel itself is very clean but basic, and our room was the smallest I have ever stayed in on a Greek island. The owner was much more friendly than we first thought, though his wife never spoke two words to us and sat all day watching telly in the hotel reception area. The breakfast staff were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. This was also true of the maids...very sweet ladies.
The hill down to the beach was very steep but worth the trek, as the beach was lovely - though beware of the line of stones as you enter the sea, painful to walk on. You really do need a car here as it is very hilly and the walk back up from the beach is a killer!
There are only two mini markets - which was a shame - and not that many tavernas but enough for choice. Our favourite was Trffili - just opposite The Lara - very authentic food and lovely owners. Lorraine's is over-rated, just has big portions but worth it for the view. We also liked The Blue Sea at the bottom of the hill and Dionysis was lovely too, with a very wacky waitress. Would not reccommend The Libra Bar and Grill, as we waited 1 hour and 40 minutes for our meal, with very little apology from the owner and to add insult to injury, our meal wasn't complete - it seems they had run out of salad and peppers - but didn't bother to mention it! On top of that, they added a service charge to the bill!
We would consider going back to Kefalonia again as it has spectacular views but would probably stay at a different resort and would choose our accommodation more carefully.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacey1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We have just returned from a weeks break staying at the Lara hotel and I felt compeled to write about this little gem as soon as I got home.The hotel is situated in the small resort of Lourdas which consists of the beach with a good smattering of tavernas and then on the hillside the original village of Lourdas with its traditional houses bars and restaurants. The Lara hotel is well placed between both the beach front area and the original village centre but be warned the roads are very steep and you really feel like youve had a good workout as you climb up the hill from the beach area.There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinty to try a new one every night of your holiday but we settled for the restaurant mezedakia which is at the bottom of the hill turn left and it ithe second building you come to.The setting is perfect with wonderful sea views and a lovely atmoshere the food is excellent reasonably priced and served with a warm smile.We uysually paid around 35 euros for a starter /main and a litre of wine for two people including a tip and we left feeling that we had really good value for money
Now to the hotel itself it is in an excellent position on the road leading to the beach the hotel is a family run establishment and it seems all the family are involed in making sure you have a good holiday.It is an older property but the rooms are spotless and well equipped with aircon and a small fridge together with a tv with access to English speaking channels.
The outside space and the pool area are well maintained with sufficient sunbeds and shaded areas to while away the hours.The breakfast is served either on the patio or inside the hotel and consists of fruit juice/tea/coffee/bread /toast /cereal/ eggs/cheese and cooked meat.It is self service and is really more than adequate.There are safety deposit boxes at a cost of 5 euros per week and the air con is 5 euros a day.We paid for the air con and it was a god send as it didnt really cool down that much during the evening and without it the room was really hot.We had no problems with mosquitos or other creepy crawleys.All in all a fantastic part of the island and a really good hotel to use as a base for either travelling further afield or just staying local and enjoying the lovely village and its surrounds.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Just returned from a week at the Lara Hotel. This is a 2 star hotel at best. Clean but very very basic. If you like a rock hard bed and a shower that is so small that you can just about move in, then this is the place for you. Hot water is at a premium if you want a shower between 6 and 7 in the evening whilst everyone else is showering. There is no turn over service on Sunday. Would go back to Lourdas but not the Lara.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fox276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Just returned from staying at the Lara. Ignore negative reviews I found the staff friendly and helpful, the hotel could become a little noisy yet this was due to other Brits staying there and not the fault of the owners or tour operators. Breakfast was basic but hey - this is a 2 star hotel you get what you pay for and there are plenty of places to eat if you need a full english however I found the breakfast adequate and the bread and cereals were replenished regularly. My room was cleaned and towels and bed sheets replaced during the week, on one day the room was not serviced however I think this was due to a staff day off - don't we all deserve this?. I agree the dog does bark a lot and there is also a donkey and cockerel that like to start early in the morning, yet again this is a holiday in Greece and if you don't like it then don't go!! The mini market is around the corner and it takes 5 minutes to get to the beach downhill, I found the guy in the mini market really friendley and helpful. Relatively active people will not find the hill a problem and don't believe what the other reviews say, the hill is generally staggered and worth the view from the top. Yes - you do need a car if you want to make the most of the holiday, go to Perfanis up the hill near the Olive Lounge, very helpful and good local knowledge. Lourdas is a fabulous resort but will only stay that way if it remains unspoilt by tourism.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toady40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Just returned from a wedding in Kefalonia. The majority of the 33 wedding guests were staying at The Hotel Lara, we all had amazing time. Ericos the owner and his staff could not do enough for us. The rooms though basic are spotless as is the rest of the hotel, the food (bar snacks and breakfast served) were good and value for money. Beautiful surroundings(flowers,garden and pool area). If your looking for 5* rooms dont go here, what you will experience is a very restful,tranquil holiday in 2* accommodation but with 5* treatment.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthgoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourdata
0.6 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
0.2 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 5 in Lourdata
209 reviews
6.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Front Studios
Ocean Front Studios
#10 of 34 in Lourdata
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosa's .Beach Studios.
Rosa's .Beach Studios.
#7 of 34 in Lourdata
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aristomenis Studios
Aristomenis Studios
#6 of 34 in Lourdata
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lara

Address: Lourdata, Lourdata 28083, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Lourdata
Price Range: £30 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lara 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing