We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday in Kefalonia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aristomenis Studios
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great holiday in Kefalonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Great location with stunning views, but then anywhere in Kefalonia has a great view!
Steve and Eleni work very hard to make sure that you are comfortable, and if anything is amiss, you only have to ask. Great room on the ground floor. I found the bar prices reasonable (unlike some others) and Steve produces great snack type food from behind it. Greek night is not to be missed. Quite a walk from the beach, very steep on the way back, known locally as "Heart Attack Hill". Why not go up to the village (300m) and rent a car from Frank at Express, who we found to be most reasonable. All in all we had a good time, and would go back again. I think the people who said "Lovely place, terrible owners" were either at a different place, or have an attitude problem...

Room Tip: I don't think the rooms are allocated by Steve and Eleni but by Thomas Cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    27
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
86
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
preston uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Hi after reading some bad reviews i feel i must write to say how much we enjoyed Aristomenis our room and shower were the biggest we have ever had in about 20 visits to greece. The pool was lovley we never use the bar in the accommodation anyway so the owners never bothered us I could recommend this place to anyone.You must visit Muses Cafe just out of resort a beatuiful bar with a lovely lovely owner Nadia..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bc1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were a group of 7 visiting the Aristomenis apartments including 21, 19 and 13 year old girls and can quite happily say after visiting many Greek islands this was one of, if the not the best holidays we have had.

After arriving early evening to the apartments we were welcomed by the owners Steve and Eleni and instantly felt at ease. The apartments were what you expect of Greece small and basic, everything we are used to on our self catering holidays. The bathroom was small, however we had the biggest and most powerful shower we've ever had on holiday, would definitely swap it for the one we have at home! The beds were changed every other day, along with being provided with fresh clean towels. The cleaner did not speak English however was friendly enough in communicating in what little way she could, you never felt pressured to be out the room if she came to clean.

As we were tired and hungry on our first night we decided to eat in the apartment/pool side bar and despite not usually cooking so late at the bar, Steve couldn't have switched the grill on quick enough in order to please his guests. The food was typical snack food and was a decent price, with something to suit everyone.

The pool was spotlessly clean and you never struggled to get sun beds. There was no problem of people reserving their beds early in the morning like we have previously had on other holidays. There was one particular night where it was very windy, and lots of leaves and flowers had been blown into and around the pool, which may have been unpleasant for us the next day. However the following morning Steve was up extra early cleaning the pool and the area around it ready for the guests to use.

The walk down to the beach wasn't as bad as we were warned about, but walking back up the hill was a bit of a killer, especially in 40 degree heat! However with lots of drink stops and moaning we managed it and looking back it probably wasn't as bad as we made it out to be. The beach was worth the walk, with the clearest blue sea I’ve ever seen. The best beach by far on any of the Greek islands we've visited.

Lourdas itself was probably the quietest village we've ever stopped in. However we still had plenty of choice of restaurants, and some were so good we went back twice. Our favourites were ‘La mere’, ‘The olive lounge’, and probably the best one of the holiday being ‘Andromeda’, with its beautiful views over the beach and its idyllic garden scenery.

Kefalonia as an island was very quiet, if your there for two weeks I would definitely recommend hiring a car to get around and see the island. We visited lots of towns across the island but our favourite was Skala, where we spent a lovely day on the beach and experienced many of the water sports, a big part of our holidays. A visit to the capital, Argostoli was also well worth it, especially if you’re a shoe lover like me! Lots of shops varying from designer to typical tourist shops for the women to wonder around, or if you’re like the men in our group lots of street bars to sit and wait for the women in!.

Overall Kefalonia was a beautiful and relaxed island where we enjoyed a fantastic holiday suitable for everyone. Our holiday was made extra special by the hospitality and friendliness of the owners of Aristomenis and we can't thank them enough for enabling us to have such a wonderful time. Anyone who is visiting these apartments in the nearby future will not be disappointed. All seven of us are very jealous!! Thank you Steve and Eleni.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Beautiful island, lovely resort, clean studios and the beaches are quiet & relaxing. We loved most of the holiday, however the owners ruined it. Money is all that matters to them & they have no interest in your well being, just your money!! Although the rooms are very clean, the maid knocks on the door & gives you one second notice before she marches in,giving you no privacy. The tavernas are very welcoming, however the locals call Aristromenis ( STALAG 17) But dont let that put you off Kefalonia is beautiful, just dont stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brendanclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benf
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

we had a top floor room with a great sea view.Good size room very clean, There are 4 rooms that a large tree hits with no view.On arrival there was no warm welcome .We were told you could pay hire the air condition at 100 euro for 2 weeks and safe 20 euro,we hired a fan from a local supermarket after 3 days owners told us too take it back immediately and hire a fan from them at double the price 28 euros.While there we heard of several problems guests had with owners,its a shame because its a nice complex and good location,Will never go back there it costs nothing too smile and be pleasant.

Room Tip: We always ask for a top floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alfiepickleBenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greek walker
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Superb views, good size and clean studios with very good pool but could be so much better.As mentioned by a previous reviewer the studios are very poorly supplied with utensils and as also stated the towels are well past there best.The owners give the impression that they do not really like guests -they are not unfriendly but dour and negative.The bar prices are high and as reported by a previous reviewer the few smiles that are availble from behind the bar are reserved for those guests who spend well

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skiathos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Just home from Kefalonia. We wanted a quiet 2 weeks away without any hassle.

These apartments are without doubt the best I certainly have ever stayed in while in Greece and have over the years been to most of the islands. Spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard. Cleaning lady and man I may add about everyday and they earn their money. Always hot water available no matter what time of day it is. Pool area is well kept and the gardens are really nice. Having read some of the reviews regarding Elani and Steve we found them to be great. They are not intrusive and will leave you alone but are there should you need them and happy to help you out. Also WI FI is great to have.

Regarding prices around the pool yeah maybe a bit steep. Alas the euro is strong against the pound at the moment and that dont help also sadly but no overly expensive.

As for the title of this review here goes. My partner settled in to chill out mode very quickly sadly for me I found Lourdas far too quiet. My fault didnt research it well enough. Greece is going through some very starnge times economically at the moment and talking to folks who go regularly even they were finding it different. There are apartments not open and some shops bars and tevernas just havent bothered opening and makes it all the more quiet. The walk to the beach is a steep one not too bad going down going back up slightly more of a strain on the cardio vascular system either by the road or the footpath close to Aristomenis. Saying that guess who tried to walk back up when it was around 40 degrees ermmmmm yeah you guessed it.

Kefalonia is a fantastic beautiful Island so you need a car. Buses are non existent although it does run it is alledged. Up 2 more hills to the bus stop. Oh joy !!!!!.

Supermarkets close by via the opposite path to the walk down to the beach and maybe about 10 restaruants and a couple of bars on the same stretch once up the path. Dont recall having a bad meal at any of them.

All in all Lourdas a tad too quiet for me and the economic problems dont help and make it quieter.

Would I go back to Aristomenis ? Yes indeed. I would gladly pick it up and plonk it on any greek island and stay there. Would I go back tp Lourdas again yes but only for a week just to chill out.

Bit of advice there are no ATMs in Lourdas. Take Sterling travellers cheques. Pedros will change them for you at a pretty good rate at his supermarket.

Enjoy . Hope review helps

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meadowender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourdas
0.2 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
0.9 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 2 in Lourdata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Palatino
Hotel Palatino
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Panas Hotel
Panas Hotel
#53 of 142 in Cephalonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lara
Hotel Lara
#9 of 20 in Lourdas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aristomenis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aristomenis Studios

Property: Aristomenis Studios
Address: Vlachata, Lourdas, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Lourdas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aristomenis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aristomenis Studios Hotel Lourdas
Aristomenis Studios Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing