We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nissaki
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is old and dated. Most staff miserable and some unhelpful unless you were French or German. Entertainment was all in French. At times we could be waiting at the bar to be served and were ignored but as soon as a French or German came to bar the staff jumped to serve them still totally ignoring any English waiting! Food boring and dried up. Rooms dirty and basic with no facilities for making any drinks you had to carry any drinks you might need during the night up many flights of stairs or use the lifts if you could wait long enough for them!!! Air con in rooms not good and drains smelled disgusting in the rooms and corridors at certain times of the day/night.Carpets in corridors stained and smelly Relaxation pool was lovely but again you had to get lifts/lots of stairs to get a drink to take back to pool area There are no shops/bars/restaurants nearby you need to use bus service or car hire. This was advertised as 5***** but I wouldnt rate it at 3 to be honest. I would not go back to this hotel and would not recommend it

Room Tip: I wouldnt chose any room I would go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is no 5* hotel not even close, food boring and repetative, you have to get in a lift for everything and there were insufficient lifts which bypassed your floor , waited nearly 15 mins at one point if I hadnt had cases I would of walked down stairs. If you are French or can speak French you would get on well as all entertainment catered for French. The 'bungalows' were miles from the main hotel and bars and restaurants. not an easy walk and they are more like air raid bunkers!!! we, and other people refused to stay in them and were 'upgraded' to main building. No pool bar open so you had to either walk up or use lift to go 6 floors or lift down to beach bar and then some steps to get a drink and no trays available so you couldnt take a few back at a time. No shops or bars in surrounding area!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

this has to be one of the worst hotels in greece. stayed there for a few days and felt terrible to spend money in this old dump. nothing was good, from the rooms, dating back to 1970s I believe, to the lifts taking you to the beach or restaurant. I guess we spent 10% of our time waiting for lifts to come. A lot of other guests were obviosly dissapointed. the best day of our stay was the day we left!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank triper450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent 6 nights at this wonderful hotel,because it was impossible to book for more days as everything was sold out .I liked the photos I have seen on internet,but bad reviews I read made me not to expect too much from the hotel. Our vacation was a great surprise for us.Since we came to the reception,the welcome was really sincere.I would specially emphasized Anna who is a real professional,many should learn about reception and managing with guests from her.They even offered us greater accommodation then we have booked with no extra charge.The beach was pebbled what we liked (the sea water was clear) and environment was magnificent.The stuff generally very kind and friendly.Food fairy good and various.Definitely i would recommend it especially for families.I can't understand why was written all that bad reviews.I suppose it might be some of the rival hotels.But that is not important.I'am thinking of spending some other vacation there next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julijana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel is the perfect place for a perfect vacation. We were deepli impressed by the service, beginning with the reception staff, the kitchen staff, and all the rest in every place in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolonMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Me and my partner spent a week in Corfu and picked this hotel with a package.
After reading the reviews, I was a bit neurveous.

We arrived at silly o`clock in the morning, friendly receptionist and porter greated us as soon as the bus stopped at the front, helped with the bags and offered food for us after the long journey. What more can you ask for at arrival?

Yes, the room was basic, but very clean. It had everything you needed, fridge, towels, tv, phone, mirror and hair dryer, most of them has its own balocony.
After all, you only spent a few hours in the bedroom and the rest is out and about.
I agree with other reviews, the steps were very annoying, but like one of the receptionist said " Corfu is all about rocks and hills and stears". Very true!!
You find two lifts in the main building, but the amount of people going to eat the the same time, it was almost easier to take the stairs. (after all day laying on the sunbeds)

The food was ok. They had everything for everyone`s taste. It was not amazing, be prepeared! Planty of salad, feta, olives, soup, meat, fish and vegie options. Very basic and limited, but again, for 5-600 people, you can`t expect individual plated selections!!

The hotel caters for families with children at all ages, therefore, if you are looking for a romantic getaway, this is not for you! But the kids were kept entertained pretty much all day, and you could always find a quiet spot on the beach.

The animators are loud and sometimes pushie, but guess this is the nature of they job, to motivate people to get off the sunbeds and do some exercise. And they did such a fantastic job, worked all day from breakfast to midnight! Well done to all!

The reception staff were very nice, friendly, spoke perfect english, french and german. Always ready to help and assist with a personal twist. I have noticed, the guest relations manager was there from breakfast to late evening, every day, and was happy to walk around and ensure everyone is happy.
They kept us informed about everything regarding our stay, such as pre-booked dinner, transfer, check out etc.
The bar and the restaurant staff was polite, and the service was fast at all times.

The hotel is french owned, you do find the majoroty of guests are Europians, and yes they could be a bit loud, but everyone is there to enjoy themself. If you don`t like Europians, don`t go to Europe for your summer holiday!
At least they dont get agressive after a few drinks!

Overall we had a fantastic time, realy enjoyed our stay. And highly recommend the hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask to avoid the greece-village!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

gorgeous private beach, clean hotel, loads of animators who worked their socks off. make sure you book into the italian restaurant (part of ai) the views are to die for.

kids had an absolute balls all day long - special thanks to julian and silvia from the animation team

would go back to corfu but probably to mitsis hotel in sidari!
visit kassiopi it is so so nice

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glaslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nissaki
6.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,237 reviews
10.9 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Krouzeri Beach Apartments
15.1 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,481 reviews
5.8 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa

Address: Corfu | Ionian Islands, Nissaki 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Nissaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nissaki
Price Range: £78 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach, Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa 4* is situated amphitheatrically on a hill among olive and pine trees near Nissaki Village. It offers 2 outdoor pools, gym, spa and wellness centre. The modernly decorated rooms, suites and village rooms in the gardens at Sunshine Corfu Hotel include satellite TV, mini fridge and safe. Each is air-conditioned and has a balcony or terrace, most with panoramic views overlooking the Ionian Sea. Sunshine Corfu features a buffet restaurant, and two la carte restaurants which serve Greek and Italian Cuisine. A bar, pool bar and snack bar. All meals, as well as selected beverages are complimentary. The Spa offers facial and body treatments. It includes a steam bath, hot tub and sauna. Massages are also available.The spa is offered as non inclusive in price. A paddling pool, playground and kid's club are accessible to the younger guests. The town of Corfu is a 30-minute drive away. Corfu airport approx 40 minutes drive. Private on-site parking is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Corfu Hotel Nissaki
Sunshine Vacation Hotel Corfu
Sunshine Vacation Resort Corfu
Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa Nissaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing