We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot, awful food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nissaki
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot, awful food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We visited the hotel in September 2011

Good points: The hotel is set in a beautiful location with fantastic views and the staff were helpful and friendly. The "quiet" pool was nice.

Bad points: The air conditioning in the hotel room barely made any impact and so we were very hot at night-time. The evening entertainment was very loud and made sleep quite difficult until midnight on some nights. Some of the decor was a little shabby although it was generally of a reasonable standard. There were a LOT of wasps which could be quite a nuisance when trying to relax by the pool.
The all-inclusive food was of a very poor quality and it is this that made us rank the hotel as poor. It felt like everything had been done to keep the cost to an absolute minimum and as a result it was very unappetising and compared very poorly to other similarly-priced hotels that we have stayed in previously. For this reason, we would not visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamjustacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    375
    225
    98
    76
See reviews for
360
443
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

we have just returned from this hotel on friday 30th september.
i was very disappointed.
to start with the positives, the staff were lovely and the scenery was beautiful.
the food was good..
the negatives were, the cleanliness of the bungalows and the amount of steps to get to rooms etc.
even though the sheets and towels were changed, the floors barely got cleaned.
dust and leaves were left on the floor of our bungalow for the full week.
when using the shower, the water would come up the drain in the bathroom.
the smell in the apartment on return from being on the beach was foul to say the least.
normally i don't get bitten but i was eaten alive whilst on this holiday.
the staff do make up for some faults of the hotel and are pleasant and helpul all of the time.
i certainly would not return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanettep64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My partner and I flew home from Corfu this afternoon, It is a beautiful Island with a lot to see so don't miss out!

To begin with; we were greeted with an orange juice cocktail by the hotel manager who was very friendly and welcoming. She then sent us to lunch and in that time our bags would be delivered to our rooms by the hotel porters.

The check in process was very easy and simple with no fuss. A member of the reception staff showed us to our room so we wouldn't get lost which was a nice touch. All of the staff spoke good English and answered any questions we had.

There are two swimming pools, both very clean with many deckchairs to choose from. Cold water is available whenever required.

The restaurant was very clean with a variety of food including a traditional Greek salad, fresh vegetables, fish and meat. Local beers and wine were available at dinner time.

The Hotel and rooms were very clean and tidy.

Gym and day activities available although activities that are run are in french. Evening entertainment is fun including Greek dancing.

The hotel has a beach two minutes away where a day cruise can be picked up from 9 am.

The hotel stay was well worth the money that we paid, the service was outstanding, our room was tidied and beds made each day - even going to the lengths of folding my pj's. I was so impressed and very sad to go back home.

Beach towels available free of charge everyday.

I would recommend seeing all of the main attractions in Corfu like the Achillion Palace, Bella Vista and the 8 beautiful monastery's around the Island. Visit Kassiopi's Porto restaurant and see Ypsos.

Bring insect repellent as there are a lot of bees and be mindful about your rep's excursions as some can cost a lot and aren't worth all the money they'll cost you.

Local buses run every couple of hours and 'filipas' taxis are superb.

Have a great trip

Emily and Chris, Young couple, Essex

Room Tip: The Greek Village is very clean and quiet - it is still part of the complex but away from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Having read some of the reviews on here we were scared stiff before we got there. Lets set the record straight because there are some real little britain idiots writing reviews so far. We went to this resort at the back end of August 11. On arrival at 5am we were greeted very nicely by the staff and shown to our room. The room was very basic but it was clean and had everything required for the holiday. The hotel itself is carved from a mountain side so inevitably there are a lot of steps to climb as some of the "complainers" wrote about. If you feel unfit or unable to climb there are elevators all over the place. It has 2 nice swimming pools and a private beech. The food was pretty nice and plenty of it but better still try going out and about to eat at local Taverna's. The food was amazing in these lovely little restaurants and the geography around Nissaki is breath taking. Last year we went on a £3500 holiday to Mexico and we enjoyed this £1000 one equally as much. OK heres what I dont understand. Some muppets who have written reviews have taken the trouble to leave good ol blighty, fly for three hours to GREECE and complain its full of foreigners!!!! Hello people. There are a lot of french people yes and it is a french holiday club. The entertainment staff could do a bit more to involve english speakers but its not the end of the world. All in all, a great holiday. Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: Try the greek village for added peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Some of the negative reviews on this website about this hotel are totally over the top and do not reflect the vast majority of people who travel to this hotel year on year. This is our third year in a row, and it gets better every year. The staff are all outstanding speak 3 or more languages (this includes English). Lesley, the front desk manager and her team couldn’t have been more helpful and professional. What amazes me is if your unhappy talk to the hotel staff 99.9% of the time they’ll fix the problem.

The rest of hotel staff are really friendly the animation team although French (they do speak English), are bubbly and inclusive, things like this can definitely make or break a holiday.
The family rooms do have a late 70’s early 80’s feel but they are well maintained, spacious clean functional and all (main hotel) have spectacular views of the bay which really is beautiful.

Our holiday was for 7 days and we found the food to be varied, fresh and of very good quality. Breakfast includes fresh pancakes everyday, which everyone seems to love. But there is a vast selection of hot and cold breakfasts, lunches and dinners, you really can’t help having a little of everything, so it’s best to leave any thoughts of a diet at home. My only criticism is the lack of traditional Greek food in the main restaurant, there is a Greek” taverna” at the snack bar every night which you have to book for, but it would have been nice to have had some more Greek food upstairs.

This year we went to the Italian restaurant which was well worth a visit, although this is branded as an “Italian” there a great selection of Greek traditional meals, waiter service and bottles of Rose can be ordered without any additional charge if your all inclusive, it does feel like a genuine restaurant.

Both pools are immaculate cleaned every day, plenty of sun beds, free beach towel service although the hotel could do with renewing the towels as some were beginning to look a little tired.

The kids pool is brilliant, it’s small but perfect if your kids are under 5 like ours were if your childreen are iover 5 the activity pool is also prefect. There is a kids club which is very good, the majority of children are French but the hotel includes specialist English speaking kids club reps who really look after the English speaking children, if you arrive at the beginning of the week then they get to participate in a big theatrical show which looked great (this is in French but it really doesn’t matter).

The beach is a sandy shingle mix, it’s not massive but feels really cosy and has fabulous views. There is a variety of water sports activities for an additional charge, but there are free duel kayaks which you can take out and explore the bay which is great fun.
We booked a morning/afternoon excursion with the Capitan of the Christina up to the north part of the island. It’s not that cheap but it is well worth it.

The bar staff are very friendly and serve cocktails and beers all day from about 10am. Sprits are all local, but the larger I think is German and is quite strong. Some of the mixers taste a bit weird esp the tonic!! Stick to the cocktails and beer.

I’d highly recommend this hotel, for a great value self contained family holiday, we’ll definitely be going back for a 4th year. For those reviewers that describe this as “awful” I’d sincerely like to know where you normally book your holidays and how much do these cost!!!
This could never be descibed as awful!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Please ignore these negative reviews, If you want the ritz stay at the ritz, If you dont like the fact some things are in french then dont stay in french owned hotel! (Everybody spoke english too, and alot of the entertainment was also in english). If you want a clean, friendly, well catered hotel then stay here.

We were greeted with drinks on arrival in the lobby with friendly helpful staff, and our bags were taken the room by a porter who didnt expect a tip and wished us a good holiday and off he went.

We were on the forth floor of the main building which was in a prime position for both the buffet resturant and the pool area. Room was spacious and clean. As some people have said the room is is slighly outdated but it certainly wasnt dirty and the cleaners did their job each day very well. The balcony was large and the views of Albania and the bay were second to none. I understand peoples complaints about the bungalow rooms off the main building as we walked down there one evening and it is a long way to the main attractions of the hotel. So my advice is to stay in the main part of this hotel.

The pool area was clean, and there were more than enough sunbeds. There are plenty of water points to get fresh mineral waters scattered around the hotel.

The beach area was again very clean with enough sunbeds to go round. It was quite stoney though, but the water got deep enough to swim quite near the beach front so is only uncomfortable for a short while.

The worst part about this hotel was out of their hands and this was 90% of the worlds population of the wasps flying around. They seemed to be out to cause annoyance rather than pain as i didnt see anyone get stung.

The bars were good, staff happy to help, drinks nice, the cocktails had a lot of alcohol put in them but was all local spirits so there is no telling how strong they are, they still tasted very nice though. The beer was surprisingly good also.

The main buffet resturant was clean, and the staff were happy to help. HOW PEOPLE CAN SAY THE FOOD WAS REPETITIVE i just do not know. Yes there was chips every day but did people not see the other potato options that changed on a daily basis, there were around, 10 different main meal selections to choose from each day, some repeated as the week went on but each day there was at least 2-3 things different to try out. The meats were lovely, not chewy or tough as you may expect from an all inclusive, so compliments to the chefs. On top of the mains there was also, 2 salad bays with about 7 salad dishes on each, a cold pasta bay with about 4 pastas, a bread stand, a soup option, an authentic greek section, fresh fruit section, melon bay, a dessert bay with 8 different desserts, plus greek joghurt, and a ice cream bay. It was help yourself to drinks, with soft drinks and pour your own wine and beer. The Mamma Mia resturant was very nice with great views but was very hot. We did not try the Greek resturant

The entertainment was good. The animation team got the guests involved all day with dances, areobics, sports and pool games. (Admittidly we watched these from the pool area above as we didnt want to be involved and was much more fun to watch). The evening entertainment included greek dancing (an experiance.....), A disco night (Alot of French, German and English middle aged couples reliving their younger days), A dance show put on by the animation team (We very much enjoyed this show). Kareoke (We avoided at all costs) plus other themed nights that we didnt see so cannot review.

The facilities were great, if you have kids there were play areas and toys, there was a watersports pier which offered parasailing, banana boat, donuts, etc, a spa, a gym, a nightclub, small games room, sports areas such as volley ball and table tennis.

All in all we had a great stay and would go back and recommend our friends and family to visit. I hope people reading this and decide to go have a wonderful time and i am confident you will!

Room Tip: Go for the main hotel sea views, not the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitola, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent terrific 7 days at this hotel to the end of August and the beginning of September.from the entering into the hotel the stuff spent unselfishly their attention to Us.The receptionist Was so kind to offer Us for the same price much better accommodation (I haven't experienced it before in another hotel).The rooms were really good, the environmental pine wood and the sea absolutely fantastic, the food was various and quality. most of all We appreciated the care of the personnel that We really felt.We would definitely spent another vacation in this hotel next summer.
Sashka Pejovska
Macedonia

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sashka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nissaki
10.9 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
15.1 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Blue Princess Beach Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
5.8 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa

Property: Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa
Address: Corfu | Ionian Islands, Nissaki 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Nissaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nissaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach, Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa 4* is situated amphitheatrically on a hill among olive and pine trees near Nissaki Village. It offers 2 outdoor pools, gym, spa and wellness centre. The modernly decorated rooms, suites and village rooms in the gardens at Sunshine Corfu Hotel include satellite TV, mini fridge and safe. Each is air-conditioned and has a balcony or terrace, most with panoramic views overlooking the Ionian Sea. Sunshine Corfu features a buffet restaurant, and two la carte restaurants which serve Greek and Italian Cuisine. A bar, pool bar and snack bar. All meals, as well as selected beverages are complimentary. The Spa offers facial and body treatments. It includes a steam bath, hot tub and sauna. Massages are also available.The spa is offered as non inclusive in price. A paddling pool, playground and kid's club are accessible to the younger guests. The town of Corfu is a 30-minute drive away. Corfu airport approx 40 minutes drive. Private on-site parking is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Corfu Hotel Nissaki
Sunshine Vacation Hotel Corfu
Sunshine Vacation Resort Corfu
Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa Nissaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing