We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nissaki
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a great hotel for families, couples or people wanting a fairly quiet holiday. There are lovely views and the sea is warm and crystal clear. The food was excellent and the price includes two visits to a la carte resturants on site during the week we spent there. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The majority of the guests are French but I found this to be an advantage as there was always entertainment on, as that, apparently, is what the French like. They are also better looking than your average Brit! :-) The bars are very nice with a great range of cocktails, wines and more besides. Excursions and other exciting stuff are available but are an extra cost.
There isn't much of a village in Nissaki but there is a good cheap bus service to Corfu town and elsewhere. Scooter/moped and car rental is everywhere too. As we were only going for a week we didn't venture out much. But we are definately going back here next year for 10 days or two weeks.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get one of the suites right by the pool. We got a free upgrade to one because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heroofthehour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 10nights in September 2013 and had a relaxing holiday.
Upon our arrival we were greeted with an ice cold cocktail which was much needed after a 45 minute transfer from the airport. We were checked in promptly and we were shown to our bungalow and our bags taken there.
The hotel is located on the side of a cliff and although there are lifts to all levels, they are quite small and always packed especially at meal times. The bungalows are the only area of the complex that are not accessible by lift and instead you have to walk up and down steps and steep slopes so not ideal for the elderly or infirm.
Our en suite room was fairly basic with a king size bed, desk and sofa. The room was quite dark as there was only a small window providing light and the lights in the room were not very bright and the one by the desk didn't work at all. The bathroom was run down with mildew around the sink and walk in shower area and there were a few ants running around on the floor. The bed linen and towels were changed regularly and the room cleaned every day.
We spent most of our time on the terrace by the relaxing pool and were able to get sunbeds at all times of the day and noticed that there were plenty of beds around both pools and on the beach. All areas around the pools were very clean and maintained every day and cold fresh water was available from water stations throughout the day.
The food wasn't bad. Breakfast had a large variety of cereals, meats, cheeses, fruits, bread cooked food pancakes and pastries every day. Lunch and dinner was good. Every day for lunch AND dinner there was spaghetti bolognase in the main restaurant and at the snack bar by the pool. There was always a fish and veggie dish and a main meat dish as well as the carvery and chips pasta and salad. We mainly ate at the snack bar at lunchtimes as this had a selection of salad,pita, Greek sausage and other home made dishes. On 7 of the 10 days there was a children's option which had fish fingers or chicken nuggets and chips.
There are two al a carte restaurants an Italian and a Greek which you have to book the night before. We didn't eat in the Greek as we were told it was the same as the restaurant. The Italian was fantastic however it was so busy and the service wasn't that great and they seemed to want to get us in and out ASAP.
We did a trip into Corfu town one afternoon which was nice to walk around and explore.
Outside if the complex there is not much locally. Turning left there are a couple of shops, a cocktail bar and a supermarket and bakery which was lovely. We ate at the roumeli taverna for our last 2 nights which was amazing! We wish we had found it earlier as the food and service was great.
There seem to be a lot of bad reviews about the entertainment. The team are part of a French company and therefore cater towards the French however if you speak to them or join in with any of he games during the day they will explain the rules and speak to you in English. We did not go to the night time entertainment however are aware that is also in French.
The staff at reception are very helpful and deal with any issues straight away (our safe keys were lost prior to our arrival and they had a new set cut by the next morning). All staff we came into contact with we're pleasant and always said hello and we always got served quickly at all the bars we went to. ( this may be due to the fact we put a few euros in the tip box on our first night!)
All in all we had a lovely time and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thewilbs0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Terrible holiday, dirty room, flooded room, room with two flights of stairs to bathroom then got room actually booked. Food basic, drinks watered down, entertainment team is French and not interested in British, that's if there is any entertainment. Most Brits sat playing cards by 7pm bored to tears, lifts don't go to all floors, lots of hiking to move around hotel which is uneven, staff look bored, pools ok but freezing not heated, sea is warmer. Only decent thing was the views.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel for its stunning location close to the sea. We were allocated a room on level 8 which was by the relax pool. It was an adjoining room which was not ideal as we could hear our neighbours late at night and it was by the thoroughfare so guests went passed all times of day and night. The room itself was ok, no kettle but a fridge was provided. The bathroom needed a deep clean,there was a lot of lime scale.

We enjoyed the food provided but did find there was not much variation after a few days. We did not like the ambience of the bar area, it was located in a thoroughfare. One of the bar staff was quite rude, however all over staff we encountered at the hotel were perfectly fine.

The spa was a disappointment and this is another reason I chose to come here. The sauna was not particularly hot when we arrived and neither was the steam room. There is no indoor pool just a jacuzzi, it was overpriced and you couldn't spend much time in there unless you combined your day with treatments.

The location was remote,there are two shops nearby but the road to access them is not the best road to walk down. If you are looking for a hotel close to shops and nightlife this is not in an ideal location.

There is no information about the hotel in the rooms so we did find we had to keep asking reception questions, they were helpful but a hotel handbook would have been handy.

All in all we enjoyed out stay but we found the location too remote after a few days and I don't think the hotel is a 4 star standard, I think work is required on updating the rooms and areas. If you like cats there were plenty of strays around the hotel and I was pleased that hotel staff did not discourage guests feeding them.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chloayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A very clean but jaded hotel, excellent views from the balcony. Food was much the same every
day but a good choice, drinks (wine beer and soft drinks) dispensed from self-service machines.
The swimming pools were very good, clean and well looked after, entertainment and games for those who want it, beach stony and a little cramped but good for snorkeling.
Cleaners and restaurant staff pleasant efficient and polite, these received a good tip at the end
of the week (plenty of tip boxes) but now the downside, the bar staff for some reason were surly
and rude, wether this was because we did not tip enough or because we were English in a French hotel I do not know, we were very polite to them. If you were at the upper pool you had to walk a long way to fetch your drinks, so why would you tip?
A suggestion to the Management, fit the self service machines around the pool and bars then send the bar staff to Lincolnshire in England where they can work a 10 hr shift on a farm with Polish workers in freezing wind and rain, it might focus their minds a little, stop them behaving like spoilt children, needless to say we will not go back.

Room Tip: There are rooms that front right onto the swimming pool if you can book one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have been to this hotel several times before and have just returned from a week's stay. We love this place and the walks around the area and cheap bus rides are fantastic. Anna is the manager who will always help if you have to sort anything out. Good value for money ......we will be back .Thanks to all the lovely staff who work so hard

Room Tip: Go for a garden room for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived late and were shown to the restaurant where plates of celofane covered food were waiting. Plates must have been there for a while because flies had got in and the sandwiches were like cardboard.

Room was clean but not very comfortable but walls very thin, I didn't enjoy listening to the German in the next room on his toilet. Bathroom again clean but like the room really in need of an upgrade.

Food was pretty dreadful, not particularly inspired, little variety each day or throughout the week while we were there. Greek restaurant a little better and nicer ambience. Didn't try the Italian Restaurant. Although we were full-board, the standard of the food was so poor that we preferred to eat out, some nice tavernas just down the road, very friendly and excellent food.

Pools and gardens - the pools were nice although we swam in the sea because it was warmer. The gardens and beach again were nice but as you walk around the age of the hotel does show.

Entertainment - Nightclub a waste of time unless you just want somewhere to sit and carry on drinking after the main hotel bar closes, music pretty insipid. Hotel entertainment on the bar level - great if you are an old age pensioner.

My main fault was with the staff who at best just managed to be civil. However about half were unhelpful with some verging on rude/unpleasant. Seemed fine if you are French, but if British they just weren't interested.

Corfu is a lovely island and while the scenery around the hotel and views from the hotel are beautiful, this is spoiled by the hotel itself which in my opinion is tired, unentertaining, bland, uncomfortable and unfriendly. Some decent investment in both the building and staff would I'm sure return this hotel to its former glory. I won't go back.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the end of the block where it may not be so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gsynote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nissaki
6.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,241 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
10.9 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Krouzeri Beach Apartments
9.3 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
20.5 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 15 in Agios Georgios
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa

Address: Corfu | Ionian Islands, Nissaki 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Nissaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nissaki
Price Range: £84 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach, Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa 4* is situated amphitheatrically on a hill among olive and pine trees near Nissaki Village. It offers 2 outdoor pools, gym, spa and wellness centre. The modernly decorated rooms, suites and village rooms in the gardens at Sunshine Corfu Hotel include satellite TV, mini fridge and safe. Each is air-conditioned and has a balcony or terrace, most with panoramic views overlooking the Ionian Sea. Sunshine Corfu features a buffet restaurant, and two la carte restaurants which serve Greek and Italian Cuisine. A bar, pool bar and snack bar. All meals, as well as selected beverages are complimentary. The Spa offers facial and body treatments. It includes a steam bath, hot tub and sauna. Massages are also available.The spa is offered as non inclusive in price. A paddling pool, playground and kid's club are accessible to the younger guests. The town of Corfu is a 30-minute drive away. Corfu airport approx 40 minutes drive. Private on-site parking is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Corfu Hotel Nissaki
Sunshine Vacation Hotel Corfu
Sunshine Vacation Resort Corfu
Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa Nissaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing