We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of Plaza Pallas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Pallas Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just got back from Plaza Pallas tonight after our 17th time. Love the place and the people who work there. Can't wait to return in September. I just wish the Eastern European
Guest would make more of an effort to mix with other guests. They seem to think they are too good to mix. I am one of these people who says good morning but when somebody's response is to look at you as if you are muck oh and they do speak English then why should I bother. Anyway back to the Plaza. Room cleaned everyday spotless. Food really good don't do AI. Can I just say the new bathrooms are fabulous I want one in my home. I just hope that the work the family have done over the winter is appreciated and people stop making negative comments. Don't be put off by a couple of negative comment if it was anywhere near as bad as some people say we wouldn't
Be taking our grandchildren with us in September.
Just try it you won't be disappointed. The resort of Tsilivi is lovely so is the Plaza Pallas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our 14th year at Plaza Pallas. The weather on the first week was very pleasant and you could easily sit by the pool with plenty of space for all. This is the first time we have visited Zante in May and the resort was very quiet with some of our haunts still closed. The second week things started to reopen but the weather took an unpredicted turn on the cooler side followed by thunder and rain for two days.

The hotel has been remodelled over the winter and all the showers have been replaced with glass shower screens and marble sinks. Very swish! As always the rooms were cleaned everyday and the linen changed at least twice a week.

The Olive Garden restaurant is attached to the hotel and offers b&b all inclusive or traditional Greek and Mediterranean dishes. The chef waiting staff and owners are friendly and nothing is too much trouble without being too in your face.

The Sambucca bar is manned by the part owner Spiros and his faithful sidekick Yannis. They offer a great time for all with twice weekly live bands along with dj sky sports snooker and air hockey tables.

The reception is manned by Katerina and Claire where nothing is too much troubltjamks once zag in for another great holiday and we look forward to seeing you all in September.

Love Chris & Gordon Hill xx

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank darthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

THE LOCATION... ***

Plaza Pallas is a small hotel located in the Tsilivi village approx. 5km North from the town of Zakynthos. Its location allows easy acces to the many interesting spots on the island - especially if you would like to rent a car or a scooter. Location is not especially appealing: on the brink of the village with no extraordinary views but not far from the sea side (approx. 500 meters).

THE FACILITIES...*

The hotel itself is a small venture with very friendly personnel but not many facilities except open air swimming pool, restaurant and english-style pub. The lack of additional entertainment like gym, sauna or heated swimming pool makes this hotel rather boring place to be in case of a bad weather. Luckily the island has so many secrets to discover that spending too much time indoors is rather bad choice!

THE STAFF... *****

We're happy with the hotel staff as they're all friendly, with very individual approach for the customer, always caring and smiling.
Restaurant's waiter Dimitri stands out as very friendly and caring individual ready to entertain guests with some funny anecdotes.
Jani - the bartender - is always cheerful and professional. He will pour a shot of real vodka as soon as you realize that greek vodka is non-alcoholic! ;)
We would like to thank them for exceptionally good service!

THE FOOD... ***

The food is passable but not exceptionally appealing with not much variety - at least in all-inclusive option. It's probably due to small amount of guest at the very beggining of the season. It would be good for the hotel to change milk for more natural one!

THE ROOMS... ***

The rooms are clean and tidy and there is not much more to say about them. There's TV with one or two english-language channels but most of them are greek-language. The temperature in the room was low due to the weather coditions and the heating was extra paid - this influenced our rating for the quality of our stay.


Plaza Pallas is a good choice for an individuals ready to explore the island rather than just stay in the hotel. It's location allows to easly explore and it's friendly staff won't spare efforts to make sure your stay is - at least - comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed in Plaza Pallas Hotel in august 2014, toghter with my husband and two kids.

Officially this is a 3 stars hotel, not a 4 star hotel as they promote it. When I bought the ticket, the hotel was promoted as a 4 stars (that is how it was included in the contract with the agency). Two days before departure, the hotel had 3 stars on the voucher! I had discussions with the agency (Z Tour in partnership with Christian Tour) - they gave several stupid explanations: firstly they said it was just a mistake on the voucher, later they said that maybe the hotel has been demoted and later on that the hotel had always 3 stars but due to the "good conditions" they promote it as a 4 stars hotel. Smart agency: may I say this is theft and fraud?

When we reached the hotel, it hardly had one star: dirty, full of mold, old furniture (see the matrimonial bed and the additional bed for kid), walls full of dampness. In the lobby of the hotel we found some trays with rat poison... We did not see the rats, but we imagined that they were there, maybe in the kitchen...

When I say dirty and mold, it's not like the room was not clean for a week. I had the feeling it has not been cleaned for two years.

The hotel actually had two wings. The one that is really bad - where we initially stayed, and a new one, that looked better (the building with reception). Yet we found the rat poison in the lobby at the reception.

We had a big discussion with them and finally they moved us in a Junior Suite room in the reception building. It was just a normal room not a special one as the name suggests, apparently cleaner. Imagine that after we had big discussions about the mold, we found mold in the bathroom of the new room, too!

I cannot imagine what clean means for the hotel kitchen. Your really put your life in danger there.

We wanted to leave Greece urgently, but during summer you cannot find any plane ticket.

Other aspects:
- the kids slides that appear on the site pictures do not exist at all.
- food is really bad and the meal hours are not appropriate if you have all inclusive package as we had
- the hotel is not that close to the beach
- service is bad, the waiters are not interested in customers

Please see the pictures. The black spots on the bathroom carpet, the hair dryer and the door is mold.

First time in Greece, for sure the last in the next 10 years!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Monica-Soare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

very good value for money, nice room, hotel apartment style with small kitchen, balcony with table and chairs, everyday cleaning, big room.
Swimming pool, billiard bar, restaurant within the complex and parking place.
Plus a lot of tourtules in the garden. Most impressive thing was the Easter day party barbeque.
Good food, lovely lady serving breakfast she was extremlly nice.
Bowlling center next door. Five minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MateiGogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Well, what can we say except 'superb'. The whole of the town had closed down for the winter and there was only 3 adults and 2 young children in the hotel for the week. Even with so few guests, nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff, we were asked what time we wanted breakfast and dinner and then the chef came to cook it for us and gave us undivided attention. The hair drier in the room didn't work but after we told the staff, a new one was in the room before we got back as was a new kettle. Great service.
One bonus was that Spiros allowed us to take sunbeds to the beach as the ones there had been packed away - how kind, although we must have looked daft carrying them! There was no one to see us though as the town was as silent as a film set!
To say we had a great time was right although we would have preferred more company! That wasn't the hotels fault and they went out of their way to make us welcome. A great holiday - thanks everyone at Plazza.

Room Tip: only stayed in one room so not a lot to say but maybe upper floors a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkRuth1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our twelth year staying at this lovely hotel. we had another fantastic year as always and the weather was great for September 2013. We changed our booking a short notice so that we could stay longer and this was no problem at all.

This is like our second home and we both love the hotel and the resort of Tsilivi. We love the many different restaurants and the safe and friendly atmosphere of the Island and its people.

Many thanks yet again for the great time you give us each time we visit. A special shout for Spiro and Yannis who man the lively Sambucca Bar and are great friends and fantastic hosts. To Katerina, Claire and Christina who answer any questions or queries at Reception. To Babis and Angelica who manage the Olive Garden Restaurant which is on site and a great place to eat, helped by waiter Dimitris. Love you all and see you all again in May 2014 and hopefully also Sept 2014. Love Chris & Gordon Hill xxxxxxx

Room Tip: we have stayed in many different rooms over the years but personally prefer the rooms above the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.9 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 51 in Tsilivi
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#23 of 51 in Tsilivi
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Christy's Beach Villas
Christy's Beach Villas
#25 of 51 in Tsilivi
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anetis Hotel
Anetis Hotel
#28 of 51 in Tsilivi
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petros Hotel
Petros Hotel
#21 of 51 in Tsilivi
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pallas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pallas Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: £41 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plaza Pallas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaza Pallas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Pallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing