We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, close to beach, good value!”
Review of Planos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Planos Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed here for 1 week from the 10th May. It was booked as a last minute break for my husband and myself. It was a cheap deal and we really expected it would be basic, as we have been Zante before.
When we arrived in the early hours of the morning. We were lead to our room, 107 by a rather grumpy looking security man, who did not speak much English. But, that was fine! It was early and we wern't too bothered by this!
The room though... Oh dear.... it was very small, very smelly and very tatty! The toilet made a dripping noise constantly, the shower curtain was hanging off, the room smelled of damp and the beds felt damp. It was at the back of the hotel and over looked the toilet block by the swimming pool!
After a nap. We went to our Thomas Cook welcome meeting and voiced our concerns to the rep. She then had a word with the receptionist and they gave us 3 keys to choose a more suitable room. Very obliging and happy to help!
We eventually chose room 111 which over looked the pool to the front and onto the road at the back.
It was bright, clean and airy and so much better than the last room!
All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and taking into consideration that they had recently just lost a family member and they were in mourning, the hotel owners were very nice and always spoke and smiled.
We can't comment on the food at the hotel, as we never ate there. There are so many lovely restaurants and tavernas in Tsilivi to try.
Dionosis grill was excellent value and the fresh fish was lovely.
The beach is only a short stroll away and is perfect for sunbathing. We loved 'The cosy beach bar' They charged 3 euros for a sun lounger which you could use all day and they also did great snacks and drinks.
Breakfasts were good at either Freddies beach bar or the Jolly Roger.
Eutopia bar is great for a few cocktails and beers after a meal out. The staff, Armado, Vasso and Konti are lovely and will make you feel very welcome.
The only problem we really had with the planos beach was the pool and pool area. Although it was clean, it was very small and cramped and the pool was freezing and went from being shallow to deep very quickly! Not good if you have younger children.
It also got unbearably hot around the pool during the day. You literally baked in your own sweat! So much nicer to go to the beach and probably safer for the kids too, as the sea is so warm and gently shelves. You can wade out quite a long way before it gets deeper!
All in all a very good value and happy holiday at the planos beach. Would recommend it for a good basic base for some lovely Greek sunshine in the gorgeous resort of Tsilivi!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2008

We stayed at the Planos Beach hotel (not to be confused with Planos Bay!), for two weeks in October, hoping for a peaceful and relaxing break. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to get much peace and quiet at this hotel, as there were a few ignorant families staying at the same time as us, who were quite happy to subject the rest of us to their children's racket every morning, how considerate of them.

As for the hotel itself, it looks ok on the outside- but our room was in a pretty bad way, and in desperate need of a revamp! The paintwork was patchy, and the curtains/tiles, and general colour scheme very dated. The kitchen area was very cramped, with nowhere for the kettle to go, and just a tiny one-ring cooking unit - not much use for self catering then! All of the doors in our room(patio,bathroom,wardrobe) got constantly jammed, which became very tedious. The bathroom was very tiny, with some grimy looking fixtures- and whoever decided it was a good idea to fix a shelf between the sink and mirror was clearly mistaken!

The cleaners did a decent job on a daily basis, and were quite pleasant and polite. However, the rest of the staff were very unfriendly, often glaring at us when we walked past them, and never saying hello when we acknowledged them.

We enjoyed Tsilivi,met some nice people and ate some good meals in the many restaurants available......but we would not return to nor recommend the Planos Beach hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rusty088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

In terms ov value for money these are not the best apartments we've ever stayed in. The 2 bed studios are very cramped and in need of a facelift and we've had wardrobes with more room than the bathroom.
Maid service is twice a week so hang on to your bath towels.
The pool area is small and whilst sunbeds are readily available there are only about a dozen that get the sun all day.
The stafff and in particular Con on reception are very friendly and helpful.
The location is not bad and we didn't have a bad meal at any of the places we ate (and there is plenty to choose from).
Check out the beach bar at the Alexandra Hotel for a good value Greek lunch on the beach.
If you go to the Jolly Roger bar (yes I know it sound awful) but Costas, who runs it, is a good laugh. Challenge him to a game of Connect 4 (if you beat him then you get free drinks for the rest of your stay!).
Overall there are much nicer Greek Islands (Santorini, Corfu).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leedsmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

I stayed at Planos Beach (not be confused with Planos Hotel nearby) as part of a Thomas Cook package holiday to Tsilivi, Zakynthos.

The hotel is ideally situated just 2 minutes walk to the main drag where all the bus stops, bars, restaurants and clubs are, yet its far away enough so guests aren't disturbed by any noise.

In the other direction, the beach is only a 2 minute walk which is perfect.

Planos Beach has a lovely swimming pool, bar/cafe and convenience shop onsite which is really handy. The cafe bar is a little more expensive than others outside of the complex but for convenience it's ideal. Each Friday they host a Greek night where you can watch (and join in) with traditional Greek entertainment.

The reception is manned virtually all the time and a security guard patrols the complex at night which is reassuring. The staff are great and help with all issues and queries.

Air con and safety deposit boxes come as with an extra cost (7 euros per night for aircon and 16 euros for the safety box per week).

The rooms are basic with slightly outdated decor but are certainly more than good enough for a week away. The self-catering rooms could do with more equipment but in any case, it's cheaper to eat out than cook anyway. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels which is a huge plus point.

All in all, great staff, clean accommodation, nice pool/surroundings and definitely would go back and would recommend others to go.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annski1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nastik1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.5 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
274 reviews
1 mi away
Petros Hotel
Petros Hotel
#19 of 51 in Tsilivi
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plaza Pallas Hotel
Plaza Pallas Hotel
#20 of 51 in Tsilivi
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Callinica Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planos Beach Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range: £25 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planos Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Planos Beach Hotel in Tsilivi Zanynthos… Have a nice accommodation! A big warm hug are waiting for you at Planos Beach Hotel in Tsilivi. The complex is located in one of the most popular resort of the Zante island.Here you may find ecerything you need all the time of your hoilidays, since Planos Beach Hotel offers a variety range od options and facilities. The center of Tsilivi is located just a few minutes on foot, where you may find restaurants, many taverns, touristis shops and many bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Planos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing