We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Villas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paliokaliva Village
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Lovely Villas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 7th August - 14th August as a couple as we were attending a wedding on the Island. We booked this beauitful place after reading excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.

Paliokaliva Village is situated just outside of Tsilivi a 25 minute walk or 7 euros one way in a taxi. Reception booked them and they were normally with us in 10 minutes.

Hotel Amenties Big pool never felt over crowded could always get a sunbed and sometimes even had the pool to ourselves.

The Villas were so gorgeous and one of the best propertys we have stayed in on holiday.

The food was very good for snacks and very reasonable.

The Service we received from all staff members were excellent.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and if you are looking for a holiday which is laid back and a hidden gem Paliokaliva is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrahtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

A beautiful little village of studios just outside Tsilivi. Studios are set in a big garden with plants, trees and also olive trees. Comfortable and very clean rooms.The owner and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The area of the pool was nice and also the restarunt in the pool area was very good.The breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colette i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We were so pleased to find somewhere that lived up to the pictures and the reviews. A beautiful location, excellent service, amazing staff and great food. As a family with one child age 9 it was perfect for us.
If you want nightlife and entertainment then stay somewhere else but if you are looking for sun, food, peace and tranquility then this cannot be beaten.
Beach is a mile away and quite a walk in the heat of summer so you need a car to get to it. Supermarket only 5 minute walk that sells everything. Restaurant in the resort is excellent but also the one opposite is good.
Tsilivi (2 km drive) is loud, brash and touristy - we visited once and that was enough although had some great bakerys to pick up breakfast.
We did a tour of the island one day and it was OK, you can find some nice beaches but the real find of this island is Paliokaliva village.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikeAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our family stayed for 2 weeks in July and had a fantastic time. The houses are lovely and grounds and pool area very attractive. Anastasia and her staff were exceptional, and the food was out of this world. Authentic Greek menu, with locally sourced fresh produce at very affordable prices. Once we discovered how good the food was, we did not go anywhere else. Oh, and the breakfasts just fab, with fresh fruit and pancakes, sitting overlooking the pool and view to the sea every morning.
If you want a quiet quality holiday, it is perfect. For our family, it was comfortable, clean and well maintained. Sunbeds with thick comfortable cushions and we hired a car through Anastasia, very resonable and delivered to our door. You can walk into the village, but it takes about 15 - 20 minutes (uphill coming back!). We walked down and got taxi back, 6 euros. Supermarket 5 mins away.
I thought about not writing a review as I don't want everyone to know about the little Greek Gem we found, but that would have not been fair for the staff who try very hard to make sure you have a great holiday, paying attention to detail with lots of lovely personal touches. We really felt like we had stayed with Greek people at their home and we were part of the family, we will most definatley be going back.

Room Tip: House style b is ok for 2 adults with younger children as the beds are smaller but house style c wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JENNY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have just returned from Paliokaliva Village - it was beautiful and totally recommended. We had a lovely villa, with an upstairs bedroom. It was all very tastefully decorated. The restaurant and pool area were delightful. This is an ideal place for people who like a quiet place to relax, it has a real feeling of calm to it.
We would recommend that you get a car, as it is worth getting out and about and seeing some of Zante. It is possible to walk to all the local restaurants, but not if you have small children. We also found a lovely local beach called Psarou.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonFlipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

The Paliokaliva blew us away! The twinkle-lit, flower-covered ground almost feel enchanted, the villas look and feel like they popped out of a storybook, and the food is so delicious it belongs in a gourmet restaurant. It is on a gorgeous, scenic road outside the main street of Zante, away from the noise and hustle. Secluded, quite, and absolutely lovely!

This is the perfect place to stay in Greece for romantic and charming trip to Zante! My boyfriend and I are headed back for our second visit in a few weeks because the first was so magical!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Where do I start...
We got back from our holiday yesterday, and this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review.
What stood out to us from the very start was the staff. Anastasia (the owner) is a gem!
We arrived a little tired from our plane journey and Anastasia picked up our little girl, (nearly 3) cuddled her, give her a teddy and took us to our villa, a few steps from reception with parking for our hire car.
Our daughter fell for Anastasia immediately. Our villa was spotlessly clean. This was maintained daily to this standard throughout our 10 day stay.
The bar and pool were a minute away from our villa. The bar staff, Vicky, and Electra were so welcoming and sweet. Again our daughter was treated like a little princess by them. And they became a really wonderful part of our holiday.
The food was great. They were happy to adjust certain dishes for me, (being a fussy vegetarian).
Every positive that has been written in every one of these reviews is exactly what we experienced.
It's certainly not exclusively for families with young children, but it was so well set up for them.
A little table with kids stools by the bar, with paper and pens and plasticine. The children's pool with a basket of toys next to it for them to play with. The gnomes hiding under the hollows of the gnarled olive trees, that manage to be magical rather than naff. There was a local cat that had her three kittens in the hollow of one of the olive trees. All of the staff were so lovely to it, taking the kittens milk with my daughter rather than treating it like a pest.
On the third day of our holiday I fell ill with horrific kidney pain, we had to get to hospital. Anastasia, who is very busy, drove ahead of us so she could show us the way to the hospital, came in with us to help with translation and was so sweet to our daughter. She really went above and beyond what you would expect in terms of helpfulness. Luckily I was sorted out within 24 hrs and it didn't impact our holiday too much. The hospital treatment was fantastic.
Sometimes I've been on holidays where I have felt aware that the locals resent the tourists, which I find uncomfortable. This was not the case in the slightest in Zante. All the locals were lovely. And seem to adore children.
The restaurant opposite was great. You can walk into to town. We used our hire car and tried a few different restaurants. The Old Vineyard was very good.
There is a lovely atmosphere amongst the villas. If you want a quiet holiday, that's no problem. But it is very easy to get chatting to the other families staying. All sorts of nationalities. We met lots of great people.
We were very sad to leave such a warm and inviting place and would highly recommend it to anyone. Thank you to all the staff for giving us such a memorable holiday. This is the first place we've stayed in all our years that we would and hope to come back to.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emiliasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
1.7 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elegance Luxury Executive Suites
Elegance Luxury Executive Suites
#155 of 283 in Zakynthos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lesante Luxury Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
St John Villas
St John Villas
#8 of 46 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paliokaliva Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paliokaliva Village

Property: Paliokaliva Village
Address: Tragaki, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paliokaliva Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet area Paliokaliva creates an environment ideal for relaxing. Located 600m from a sandy beach, 1 km away from the well-known resort of Tsilivi, 6kms from the center of the city and 9 kms from the airport of Zakynthos. Paliokaliva provides guests with three different individually planned types of stone built houses, all overlooking an olive grove, each able to host up to 5 people, so the customers can choose which one best suits their needs. Warm colours, natural materials and carefully handmade patina, will give our guests the luxury they desire to have a pleasant stay. Each house consists of one or two bedrooms, a living room, a fully equipped kitchen, a dining room, one or two bathrooms, and a private terrace overlooking the olive grove and the parking space. We also offer our guests hydro massage, children’s swimming pool, bar-restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The meticulously planned landscape scented with jasmine, basil, lavender and flowers will overwhelm you with a sense of a traditional village. Our restaurant Elea serving traditional Greek and Mediterranean cuisine by the pool, using fresh local ingredients, gives the chance to our guests to linger over their meal while enjoying the view of the sea.In Paliokaliva you will experience unforgettable moments and we are certain that you will visit us again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paliokaliva Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paliokaliva Village Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing