We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place”
Review of Spiros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spiros
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Well what can i say BRILLIANT,BRILLIANT,BRILLIANT.These studio's are in the perfect locaction for just about everything beach,supermarkets and lovely resteraunts.The 1st floor rooms all have a sea view lovely to wake up in the morning and see this.They are very roomy and have plenty of storage space.They have a lovely little kitchenette area with all you need to make a meal if you decide to eat in but its cheaper to eat out and more fun haha.The bathroom is plenty big enough with a really powerful shower just what you need after a long day at the beach.And last but certainly not least the lovely Anna who owns and cleans the rooms herself is adorable she is so helpful and if you need anything she will get it for you a big massive thankyou ANNA.The rooms are spotless and cleaned everyday towels and bed linen changed a lot cant remember how often they were changed but i think it was two or three times a week.I would reccomend this place to everyone you will not be dissapointed,i will be returning next year with my mother thats how great this place is if i can get one dates are filling up very quickly for May 2014 so hopefully i will see you next year Anna thankyou very much for making my holiday one the best ever xx

Room Tip: Rooms on uper floor have sea views
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Spiros
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

We spent 2 weeks in Spiros in August/September this year, this was our first time here, what can we say it was just....brilliant. The apartments were just basic typical Greek style and no different from any others we have stayed in not just on Zante but on many other islands. They had everything we needed for our stay and although we ate out at night we had breakfast & lunch in the apartments and most mornings it was cooked. Anna & her husband were lovely and happy to help if needed. She did actually save us money whilst there. The safety deposit box was solid and fixed to wall in wardrobe and for 10 euros a week, it has been the cheapest we have paid for. Tha apartment was very roomy and was cleaned daily. We were 2 minutes from the beach & Main Street. We could have had a room for last nite at 30 euros again bout the going rate on most Greek Islands. We were so happy that we have booked again for next year as have our friends. For the price it is excellent value and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lister1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just returned from yet another fabulous trip to Tsilivi staying at the Spiros don't know what some of the previous comments were aimed at, the shower, shower tray and shower curtain were fine in room 16 and the view from the balcony great with the added benefit of capturing the sunrise in the morning, then it's only a short stroll to the lovely beach. Anna and her husband are lovely and she is not as one previous reviwer stated getting on a bit, she is only 62 which I regard as middle aged. I think you will find that all self-catering studios are similar, in fact I have stayed elsewhere in Tsilivi and had no shower tray or curtain at all it is the Greek way. At the end of the day it is in a lovely quiet spot and is good value for money, what more do you need than a bed to sleep a fridge to keep a bottle of wine in and a kettle to make a cup of tea in the morning there's no need to cook in the rooms as there are so many cheap places to eat in the resort all you need is a carton of fresh milk fot the tea.

Room Tip: Any of the upstairs rooms provide sea views
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claire016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Summer 2012
This is the 3rd worst place I have stayed in which says plenty as I have been travelling for 30 years.
Unless this is the only place left to stay in find somewhere else. We chose it because it is supposed to be self catering - fat chance. The "cooker" is a 2 ring hob (1x large 1x tiny) which sits on the very small worktop there is no oven or grill, there was a kettle, a sandwich toaster and fridge in the "kitchen" area, I use the term kitchen loosely. (see photos) There were an assortment of plates cups and cutlery. Although the room was serviced every day there were the same cobwebs from the start of the fortnight to the end all that happened was a mop of the bathroom floor and the beds were made. The rooms are fairly clean but in need of some modernising they are looking tired. The bathrooms are tiny the shower tray is not full size more like one you find in a caravan the curtain sticks to your butt when showering, the best thing to do is leave the curtain open but then the water sprays everywhere as the shower head is crusted with limescale :-(
The room had an air-con unit which you could use if you paid an extra €7 per day and there was a safety deposit box in the wardrobe for €10 per week
Due to stupid flight times we had to pay to keep the room an extra night this cost €30 This was essential as the checkout time is 12:00 at the latest and there is nowhere safe to leave luggage, the only other option is to take it with you wherever you go.
The best thing about these appts is that they are on the edge of the resort so fairly quiet, don't get me wrong it is only a short walk up to the main street but there is no disturbance from bars etc. at night. There is a great taverna just across the rd. You can be on the beach in 3-4 minutes but the best area of the beach is at the other end of the bay, about 10 mins walk.
If you want to use a pool the one which you get directed to is at Alamis hotel, don't bother it gets very crowded, go in the opposite direction to Odysseas Studios the pool there is lovely. You can use almost any other pool you find as long as you buy your drinks there.
If the cost of the room was lower then the rating would be higher as I based my rating on value for money, there are some really nice rooms available in Tsilivi for the same rate as this one.

Nearby there is a mini golf course, look for the deals, barBQ large beer and a round of golf €10 good fun. Scuba dive centre next to Subway store. Plenty of supermarkets to choose from, most will change money at a reasonable rate. Car hire, moped hire, bike hire on the main rd.

Room Tip: You don't want room 3, the owners live in room 1-2
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

August 2012 - these apartments are in dire need of refurbishment! The beds are hard and uncomfortable and the pillows are like concrete!! Tired bathrooms have leaking taps very poor showers that are so small you cannot close the shower curtain! The shower head has to be held in your hand as the hook to put it on is so high up it simply sprays all the bathroom! The sink had leaking taps and the tiles looked a little jaded! The bathroom floor was permantently wet as the shower could not be used properly! They were quite mean with the toilet paper and never left a spare when you were near then end of the roll.

The owner, Anna, although fairly pleasant, was getting on a bit and obviously saving for her retirement as she tried to get euro's out of you for everything! The air conditioning was 7 euro;s a night. This works out very expensive as you do need it. As these apartments are behind other apartments and near a closed in garden there is no breeze but plenty of mosquitoes! Also, the noise travelled and we could hear everything our neighbours did or said! One night a drunken man walked past and started shouting at 5.45 in the morning, the owners did nothing to stop him even though it must have woken them as their living quarters was next to ours and it woke us!

As for their claim to be self catering! If you can manage with one electric ring, a huge saucepan that you could feed a small African village from and a fridge then you are well away! There was no other cooking pans! We also had a dirty sandwich toaster and a travel kettle that had a lid that didn't fit that other guests must have left as it had a UK plug on! The sink had taps that were so close to the wall it was difficult to turn them on. There was no work space either. We never ate in other than a cuppa in a morning and a yoghurt for breakfast but there are cafes very close that you can get any type of food from at almost any hour.

The fridge was noisy and clunked and clicked in the night. The glass door had no curtain so when it came light in the very early hours the apratment was flooded with light and woke us up. The safety deposit box was an old, tiny tin thing set in the small wardrobe. This was charged at 10 euro's per week!!!!

The building was not as clean as some have made out. All public areas like the communal walkways are mopped constantly but there was dust and cobwebs in the corners of the room and the taps were never cleaned. The towels were very old and hard too so maybe take your own bath towel!

The worst thing was checking out. We were supposed to vacate our room at 10.30am on a Thursday morning even though we weren't flying home until Friday at 6am. We asked to keep our room and was told it would cost 30 euro's! We were ripped off but had no choice! I would never go back to these apartments and never recommend anyone else go either.

There are much nicer apartments in the same street, much cheaper and better equiped! You can get a taxi from to airport to Tsilvili for about 18 euro's and actually have a modern apartment with air con free and a pool which this place doesn't have! And the pool they recommend you use is small, overcrowed, on a street corner and belongs to another hotel that will let anyone in so there is never any space! It makes the Solana on ter benidorm tv show look posh!
Shop around, look at other apartments, there are plenty in this resort. Almost all advertise they are open for private bookings and the owners welcome you.

Zante is a nice island, if small and there is not that much to see but if you do go, choose better apartments or you will be disappointed and ripped off. Its worth booking independently rather than using agents as taxis are cheap, the apartments that are not linked to travel companies seem much better and you can get one with a great pool, free air con and a reception which this didn;t have!

On the plus side, all others cafe's bars and shops had lovely people in and they would all tell you what to go and see. The buses are crowded, unreliable but cheap however its cheap and easy to hire a car and see the whole island. You could actually drive around it all in just a day! The beaches were great. The sea is warm and clear and nothing is far away. You can get any type of food cheaply and souvenirs etc were cheap. A highlight is Turtle beach in the south, there are marked turtle sites where eggs are buried and a turtle rescue centre. Boat trips are cheap and plentiful. Just don't stay at these apartments and you will have a better time!

Room Tip: No Pool but the shared one was overcrowded, noisy and small. |No restuarant or reception which mean...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerliesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife and i have just returned from two wonderful weeks in Tsilivi. Spiros apartments cannot be faulted for there cleanliness. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels and bedding changed twice a week. The rooms are very basic, typical for greek apartments, but very comfortable. We used the kitchen during our stay and found it to be more than adequate. We were made to feel very welcome by Anna and her husband on our arrival and also during our stay. We would have no hesitation in using these apartments again. The location is very central for shops and restaurants and even closer to the beach.

Room Tip: rooms on upper floors have good seaview and are shaded in afternoon.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Lovely clean good sized room with large fridge, 2 hob, kettle and toaster and lots of cutlery/plates etc. Patio/balcony lovely size and face onto gardens and view of sea. Lovely quiet location, 2 mins walk to spit of beach 5 mins to larger beach area. 5 mins to main strip of clubs/bars and restaurants so location is perfect as you cant hear any noise from these apartments. Anna the owner is lovely and was very kind to myself and 12 yr old daughter letting us stay in apartment til flight due as my daughter was sick. lots of cats and dogs about! Supermarket has fresh bread and donuts and is well stocked on other items, water 0.60 euros a large bottle and a fresh fruit stall just up road from apartments, -turn right then left from aprts that also way to main road.
didnt miss not having a pool as can use any hotal/bar pools, sea so warm and shallow so ideal for younger kids. Would recommend Spiros for families and couples who prefer a quiet life!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank FamilybSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.0 mi away
Callinica Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neraida Studios
Neraida Studios
#20 of 51 in Tsilivi
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anetis Hotel
Anetis Hotel
#30 of 51 in Tsilivi
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Christy's Beach Villas
Christy's Beach Villas
#27 of 51 in Tsilivi
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spiros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spiros

Address: Tsilivi, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range: £31 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spiros 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Spiros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiros Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing