We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent, excellent”
Review of Zante Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zante Star
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Have just got back from our second year at the Zante star and will shortly be booking our third. We have never been anywhere where we have been made to feel so welcome and felt so relaxed and at home. Irini, Helena, Tula, Anna and everybody at the zante star do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Everything about the place is so clean and all the staff work tirelessly to keep it that way. The location is just right, not overlooked by anybody and just the right distance from the resort centre giving you a chance to walk off the drinks from happy hour before eating, although if you don't want to go out the food at the apartments is excellent. The bar area is exceptional and seems to attract a good number of guests back for a drink on a night which creates a lovely community feeling. The greek night is superb, with the food alone being worth the admission price, be prepared to dance.
The highlight of the week for us was the crazy games night, with Bingo, a quiz (not the easiest questions we've ever heard) and horse racing which is a really good laugh.
Another thing we have noticed about the Zante star is the guests themselves. The 2 times we have been everybody has been so friendly, no families from hell, which has created a really good atmosphere and both times have been such a good laugh.
I can definitely understand why people go back year after year and can safely say that we will become one of them

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andsuemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    32
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
182
264
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This hotel is great. Been visiting here for 10 years and the standards have never dropped. The accomodation is spot less and the food is great. The owners are lovely warm people who are always willing to help. Very family orientaited and very safe for children. We'll keep on returning year after year!!

Room Tip: Ask to have pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TurnipsKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This was our first visit to the island of Zante and the resort of Tsilivi. The Zante Star hotel is absolutely perfect in every way. It is situated on a quiet road approx 10 mins walk to the town and 8 mins walk to the beach., nearest supermarket 5 mins walk. It is raised up from the road and has sea views. We cannot fault anything about this hotel..All the staff are very friendly and hard working, nothing is too much trouble it is kept immaculately clean..we recommend going to their bar bq and greek night - which is guaranteed good fun and you can join in the greek dancing all around the pool! and plenty of lovely food.. The bar is open til 1.30am but they shut the doors onto the pool to keep any noise from disturbing other guests, The apartments are spacious and very clean, basic but with everything you need, if you go in July you will definitely need the air con... The town of Tsilivi has something for everybody and attracts all ages, there are plenty of tavernas and restaurants, we went for a fortnight and ate out every night at different places, and all the meals were lovely, our favourites tho were Sweet Revenge at the bottom of the main road from the hotel just before the town and Pieros in the centre of town which serves Greek/Mexican..... When we could drag ourselves off the sun beds we booked an afternoon speed boat trip with Spiros at the end of the harbour to see the Blue caves and Turtle island he also knows the best place to spot the turtles, on the way back he stopped at St Nicholas beach, which is a beautiful sandy beach with great tavernas....well recommended... also booked an evening coach trip to Zante town stopping off at Bocholi (Think i have spelt this wrong) a little village on the hillside overlooking Zante town with fantastic view of the town and a very pretty church....All in all our holiday was perfect and would definitely return. Thank you to all at the Zante Star .

Room Tip: 128 has a balcony in the shade all day, brilliant after you have been in the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I have finally got around to writing this well deserved review after being back in the UK for a couple of weeks now. There is simply nothing bad that can be said about The Zante Star hotel or its staff and the wonderful feel around the place!
Set in an elevated position overlooking the lovely resort of Tsilivi, the 'star' truly is a star in every sense of the word. A warm welcome awaits you from the moment you arrive from all the friendly staff, who will make sure you have a great holiday.
The rooms are a nice size, spotlessly clean and have great showers (rarity in Greece) ours had a great size balcony facing towards the town and the sea. Perfect for watching the sunset!
The pool area is a nice size and never overcrowded and the bar serves great food. Make sure to try the chicken Souvlaki.....
A special mention must go to the lovely Anna who works tirelessly behind the bar, always with a smile on her face. Also Irene, Helena, and Tula were equally just as great!
Having stayed in some nice and more expensive accommodation in Kalamaki and Halkidiki, i can honestly say this was the best holiday experience I've had in Greece. We can not to wait to return to The Zante Star as soon as possible!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane07_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We haven't booked a package holiday for 13 years so booking with olympic 6 weeks in advance did make us a bit nervous. We flew with Strategic Airlines - great, would recommend. On arrival at the hotel all fear ebbed away. The hotel is just out of the main resort, which is a bonus if you like it quiet.

The hotel is modern and immaculately clean. The staff are friendly, warm and genuine. The Kitchen is one the cleanest I have seen and the pool area is so well kept and the pool sparkles. We traveled with our little girl who is nine and the apartment is big enough. The spare bed is a proper bed, not a pull out and there is ample space. The maid service is excellent and the towels are plentiful.

I can't really say enough about the staff. The food is more snack bar stuff, omlettes, salads etc but on the 2 nights it was too hot for us to bothered to walk anywhere and we ate in, it was perfectly fine and very reasonable. Happy Hour is great, 7.30 until 9.30, great prices and the cocktails are fab.

The walk into town is 15 mins, 5 mins to supermarket, and the choice of bars and restaurants is endless. This isn't a sleepy greek village, it has a water-park (worth a visit if you have young ones), crazy golf x 2/3, a few discos for anyone who can stay up that late. The beach is 10 mins away and is very well catered. Lined with chilled out bars with plenty of choice and some great chill out music in the background. A very nice vibe down there. It is quieter on the northern end of the beach if you fancy the walk.

Restaurants we would recommend are the Balcony hotel, if your not up for the up-hill walk it's worth the 4 Euros in a taxi. Go before sunset and watch, breathtaking! Benikos, just off the main walk in is very very good. King Prawn is superb, very slick, great wine, a bit extra but worth every penny - don't bother with the paella though - leave that one to the Spanish! Popeyes is just great. Very reasonable, vast menu and the staff just can't do enough. It's not a romantic dinner for 2 place but if you want great food at great prices it is probably the best. The olive tree is just perfect, bit more than most but worth every penny, couples and families are catered for, don't mix up with olive garden.

Back to the Zante Star. We can't wait to go back. Will be booking as soon as we can. If I had to pick one thing, not that it bothered us, if you struggle with steps/mobility probably not for you. It is set into a hill side and although the walk to town etc is pretty much flat there are stairs going up to the hotel. Apart from that, I can't think if 1 bad point.

Book and enjoy.

PS, Pay for the aircon, it's worth it. God it was hot!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyward01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Will return simple as that brilliant appartments, perfect staff, spotlessly clean and great rooms.10 min to beach, 15 min to tsilivi centre. Returned on the 14th July with my fiance and I am planning on returning very soon. Thankyou to everyone at the zante star. Great food at the apartments aswell luvvly club sandwich.
Our eating out recommendations would be Romios and benikos.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNBCASE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthWales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Unbelievable place to stay, went for my wifes 50th,me my wife, my son and his wife, my daughter and boyfriend, and my 2 grandchildren all looked after well, family run aparthotel nothing is to much trouble, balloons and champagne for my wifes birthday, breakfast very good 5 euros for a full English toast and tea,juice etc, snacks in the day cheaper than outside hotel,pool was fantastic no overcrowding plenty of sunbeds, happy hour 7/9 2 euros a large beer cocktails 3 euros, rooms were cleaned every day except Sunday, I have been going to Tsilivi for 10 years now to visit my wifes family out there, and this is by far the best place i have stayed in, a big thankyou to Irene, Helena, Tula, and Anna for making our stay so fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigAlan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
5.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 50 in Tsilivi
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 50 in Tsilivi
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 50 in Tsilivi
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 50 in Tsilivi
1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 50 in Tsilivi
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Star

Property: Zante Star
Address: Tsilivi zante, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
#3 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and LoveHolidays so you can book your Zante Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zante Star Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing