We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what the brochures say - but still good”
Review of Mediterranee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Reviewed 19 July 2011

brochure said facilities included free wifi access, exchange, two ring cooker, bath. Wifi access was secure and receptionist wouldn't provide password. She also refused to change Euro travellers cheques - cash only. A couple of rooms have a bath & cooker, but one guest was asked to be moved out of this room to a smaller room due to the dirt & ant invasion. Fridge is €5 a day to hire but aircon is free thankfully. TV in room is smallest tv I have ever seen, but with just 4 greek channels it didn't matter. Reports of sulky staff are true of reception, bar & breakfast staff, but restaurant waiters & cleaners would always smile & say hello. The hotel is in a lovely position, next to all bars & tavernas but on the edge of the town so not too noisy. Opposite road straight to beach so not too far to walk in the heat. 10 minute walk to water park ( go after 2:30pm for half price €9 for adults €5 for kids - enough time to go on everything and you can go back again later if you wish) & next to the two main supermarkets. As far as Greek hotels go I would say this is a 3 star tops, not 4 star. Lovely grounds, play area, new tennis courts, pool tables & table tennis.
Pool cleaned every day and roped off 8pm - 8am.
Tsilivi is a lovely resort for families, young & older couples with lots of tavernas all serving great food.
Best restaurant is Dionisis Grill which is so much cheaper than the rest and best food - head down road towards beach and turn right after Alamis hotel. Eat in a different restaurant most nights and never had a bad meal anywhere. Asian Palace next door to hotel was dissapointing as most expensive meal and portion was tiny - but after the huge portions at all other restaurants it was also a welcome change.
Enough bars to keep you entertained, without being too lively or noisy. Most have some sort of entertainment each evening - singers, karaoke, Magdelenas at the opposite end of the resort has a great quiz with free shots and cocktails if you run to different members of staff with the answer.
Crazy golf course has three fun courses with different levels.
Very good beach as water is so warm and shallow.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juhu94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

We used this hotel for a base for our holiday and were very impressed with the facilities and location.
The room was a chalet in the gardens ,near the pool. It had a double and a single bed in it with a shower/toilet room.This was cleaned and the towels replaced dailey.We went B&B but prefered to eat in the hotel bar,attached on the front, as this was a great breakfast with lots of extras at no charge (orange juice/cake etc) with 10% discount every time we ate there.
The location is on the main street with all the popular bars and resterants there.
We asked for an iron and hair dryer,when we got there. This was no bother and was fetched straight away.
We did not bother with air con or fridge as the room was always cool and there is a supermarket opposite if we needed a cool drink.
We used the room as a base and did not live in the room 24hrs a day therefor it met all that we required and paid for.
The swimming pool was a good size with plenty of loungers to go around.
In summery if you want more from a hotel then pay more.We were very happy and will be using this hotel on our next trip to Tsilivi.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank loftyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Just got back two days ago.Beware when booking your room you get what you paid for.
Apparently unlike the U.K when you book a double room you dont always get a double bed.According to our not so friendly receptionist you have to book a double bed as a special requirement!!Also all rooms are advertised as sea/pool/garden view.Not in our case as we spent the first two nights of our four night stay in a room with two single beds and a glorious view of the main road and the local nightlife!!.
There was no shower curtain so the bathroom was wet most of the time.
We were promised a better room the next day but that was given to someone else so we had to wait another 24 hours.
Now the good bit......If you get a double room with a view then its good value for money and the air con is a bonus.
The food for evening meal is good and there is plenty to choose from with all the waiters friendly.
Breakfast is a bit limited in choice unless you prefer cheese and ham everyday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Conky666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We just wanted to set the record straight. There have been some poor reviews on this hotel, but for what we paid this was a great hotel and value for money. The service was good and the standard of cleanliness was high. The rooms were a reasonable size although basic, and you have to accept that the bathroom is more of a wet room as there is no shower curtain, as is often the case in Greece. That said, it was cleaned everyday, and fresh towels and bedlinen every other day. Some people have moaned about the breakfast on here as it is not full english - the breakfast is a continental breakfast, with as much tea, coffee, toast, jam, lovely fresh bread, eggs, cheese, ham, cereal, fruit juice etc. you can eat and was enough to keep you going, and if you really cant live without a full english you can get it from the many restaurants nearby for about 5 euros. The staff were all helpful and friendly. If you want to be uber critical the only downside is the pool loungers (of which there are plenty) are the hard white plastic type which are uncomfortable and you need a lilo or several towels to make them comfy. There are loads of great restaurants and bars nearby and the beach is just a short walk so the location of the hotel is great too. We had a great time and would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkleytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My wife and I have just returned from two weeks at the Mediterranee and had a great holiday.

The hotel was ideally situated for bars/restaurants and was only a ten minute walk from the nice end of the beach. The town used to be best down the hill towards the beach, but this has all changed in recent years and the best place to be is just a few minutes from the hotel.

The rooms were small and basic but always clean and fresh towels produced on a regular basis. The whole hotel was kept very clean an showed no signs of real ware. The major positive about the rooms was the free air-con which was a blessing as it was baking hot for our trip. The majority of other hotels charge 5-7 euros a night for air con!

Breakfast was a help-yourself job, with a basic, but decent selection of bread, toast, cereal, ham, cheese, juice etc..... The pool bar was good and served throughout the day/night. If you have a room near to the bar, beware, the music is on till about 1pm so you will hear noise until they close. We were very close, but it didn't bother us too much.

The pool is small and does suffer from shading at different parts of the day. You HAVE to move to get sun all day round and the chairs did all go pretty early on every day. We used a different hotel's pool as the loungers were very hard.

The staff could not do enough to help you out. We were allowed to stay in our room till 12pm on the checkout day, and were then given a room to shower in before we left, meaning we could enjoy the final day sunbathing!

I could not recommend this hotel enough. It is a cheap hotel, and for the money it was far above expectations. You get more than you pay for.

GOOD
Good Location
Free Air Con
Helpful Staff
VERY Clean
Good Breakfast
Good Restaurant (with a discount for staying at hotel)

BAD
Hard Sun Loungers
Small Pool

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raveydavey1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We booked this hotel as it was the cheapest in the Thomas Cook brochure for Tsilvi and read the reviews on the net. These ranged hugely from "terrible" to people who had been there 13 years in a row. Based on the latter and my high tolerance for dodgy accomodation......(I camp a lot so used to roughing it).

What a pleasant surprise when we arrived. We were in one of the older blocks but found the room to be basic but in very good condition. The rooms and indeed the whole hotel were spotlessly clean. I can't say how often the bedlinen and towels were changed since this isn't important to me but I'd say it was every second day for the towels. Air conditioning is free and this was important when we were there.

In line with Greek custom there is no shower curtain as they believ they harbour germs but the bathrooms are "wet rooms" so providing you remember to move the toilet roll you will have no problem. I tended to shower around 5.00 6.00 Pm and always had hot water but once later it was cooler but still acceptable.

You do get charged 5 Euros per day if you want a fridge but we didn't. There's two supermarkets within 100 yards selling cold drinks and beer at good prices so we just kept popping there when we needed something cool.

Snacks at the pool bar were very good value with a Gyros at 2 Euros being the perfect snack. The restaurant is also worth a try and "Granpa's Beef" was excellent.

We found there to be pleanty sun loungers and a good choice of sunny or shady areas to suit your needs. The pool was clean apart from the odd dead insect but there is no really shallow area for kids but most parents with children were coping with this.

The staff don't fawn all over you but are initially pleasant and helpful and after a day or two a smile and a nod soon gets them talking to you. The staff at the pool bar are great, speak great english and after a couple of days were very friendly and helpful.

I don't know if the hotel has had a facelift since some of the bad comments but I certainly coudn't fault it and would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daveydites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Hotel was in a great location, within waking distance of many restaurants/pubs/shops etc.

The rooms were spotless and the air conditioning was sooo good during the hot nights!

The staff were all very friendly and did all the could to make our stay a very pleasant one.

Lots of sun loungers around the pool and a very nice, clean pool also.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenUrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Luxury Resort
Venus Luxury Resort
#34 of 51 in Tsilivi
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anetis Hotel
Anetis Hotel
#28 of 51 in Tsilivi
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christy's Beach Villas
Christy's Beach Villas
#25 of 51 in Tsilivi
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andreolas Luxury Suites
Andreolas Luxury Suites
#24 of 51 in Tsilivi
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofia-Yiota Studios & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Ragias Studios
Ragias Studios
#43 of 50 in Tsilivi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranee Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range: £89 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranee Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing