We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel of Contrasts”
Review of Mediterranee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Hotel of Contrasts”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A poor rating for this hotel may seem a little unfair to some, however my review is based on my experience during a 1 week holiday.
We will firstly start with the room. Yes the room was clean, not spotless but clean. A cleaner came everyday made beds and replaced towels as required. The small outside patio was swept / mopped. When I booked the holiday, last November, we were told we would need a quad room as we were a party of 2 adults and 2 children (14 and 10). What we actually got, was a double room that had a set of bunk beds squeezed in.
The shower was tiny, there simply wasn't enough room to pull shower curtain round so the bathroom floor was wet everytime someone had a shower.
We were on an all inclusive package, take my advice, do not pay for all inclusive. There are some very good, reasonably priced restaurants and bars in Tsilivi, all family friendly, and very welcoming. The breakfast was ok, I wish that hotels would stick to their traditional foods instead of trying to provide guests with English type food, and doing it badly. Mini hotdog sausages, and tinned mushrooms at breakfast for example. Generally lunch was better than dinner, with possibly more variation. The all inclusive package includes snacks from 11.00am until 18.00pm. This consisted of, chips, very dry ham and cheese sandwiches and biscuits. Generally these ran out at around 2.30 - 3.00 pm, and, once they had gone they were not replaced. Not really an issue for us, but the point is, that something was advertised, but not available as described. ice Cream was available during the afternoon for a couple of hours, and was probably the nicest thing they do, really nice!!
The pool area is a little small but generally you could always get sunbeds. The only bar open was the pool bar, the nice inside bar was never manned. Subsequently all drinks except in the dining room were served in plastic cups.
There is a table tennis table near the pool area, the bats need throwing away, and we went to local shop to buy our own ball because the hotel didn't have any.
The real disappointment is that this hotel has the potential to be really nice, but it seems that they are happy to serve below average food, drinks in plastic cups, and put families in cramped rooms.

Room Tip: If possible check where you room will be. Quite noisy outside the hotel so avoid, the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    27
    21
    13
See reviews for
32
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed there a couple of years back (had half-board with a la carte dinner) and still to this day talk about the food they served for dinner, it was by far the best we've ever had. Tons of excellent seafood, great saganaki specialties, great entrees, everything light, very well cooked and presented. Limited breakfast selection and very disappointing rooms, though, definitely not 4* worth. The outdoors were pretty, lovely garden but small pool area and no direct access to the beach (it's a few min down the street). I would go there again for the food but would be very careful picking the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My wife and I was there in the beginning of June and we really enjoyed the week at the Med. Location is brillant , very Close to everything . Rooms are simple but good and very clean. We stayed in the second building away from the Big Road and the pool, which was Nice. Breakfast was ok . We would Like to come back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonny1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The pool area was too small for the number of guests. Poor food choice and very repetitive. The room was basic and open plan so no privacy from the kids! There was no hairdryer or satellite TV as advertised. Only chips as a snack and once they have gone there are no more. Pool area only cleaned once a day, so as the day goes on the cups and glasses pile up. Fortunately this has not put us of Zante. The staff were not always helpful nor were they cheerful !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tsilivi hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have always enjoyed staying at the Med, but this year they have gone all inclusive.In my opinion it is not big enough to be AI .People go down to the pool as early as 6.00 to put towels on sun loungers so by 8.30 there are none left and the beds are so close together theres hardly any room to walk around.While we were there there was a lot of small children screaming and playing in the childs pool which is surrounded by most of the apartments so by late afternoon it was not relaxing to sit on your balconies goodness knows what it will be like in the summer holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

When we first arrived I was quite impressed the rooms were good enough and the pool and bar looked very nice. As are holiday went on the place seemed to get worse, to the point I wish I had booked self catering and saved alot of money.
The drinks gradually got weaker as the holiday went on, and my partner did witness one of the bar staff topping the vodka up with water. On two seperate occasions the bar ran out of soft drinks and then vodka.
By the bar were nest for the swallows, this to me is unhygienic, as there was bird poo falling everywhere. Birds found it easy to land on the food at the bar, especially the chips, which my 10 month old son had been eating up untill this point.
Certain holidaymakers were made to feel more welcome than others, staff made special arrangements for others, making you feel uncomfortable.
The cleaner was very friendly and our room was cleaned everyday.
The food was not very traditional greek food, or not a very good standard anyway. The meat was pure fat everynight and deserts were jelly nearly everynight, there were only 3 nights out of the 14 we had a nice desert.
Ice cream was only available from 3pm to 5pm, not very all inclusive then.
The children left to play by the pool were very mean, my son only 10 month was slapped by another child, and I witnessed many other children been pushed about.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeds88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks.

Good points the family room was good.

Bad points

This hotel does not cater for children and we went breakfast and evening.meal.

They did chips in afternoon which our kids was excluded and charged 3.50 euros for a small and i mean small bowl of chips and a small coke for my son.

We complained to the rep about nothing for the children on a night as only thing is plain pasta as the sauce had chillis in it and it was every night.

After our complaint they did do only one night fish fingers then went back to the same stuff again.

Complaining again to our rep they ignored it and the manager of the hotel refused to do anything about and was always not about when our rep wanted to resolve the issues.

Since we complained the reception staff was awful with stares.

We had to eat out every.night as fpod not suitable for children.

The room wasnt cleaned very well covered in dust on wooden areas and sink and mini bath never cleaned.

The childrens playground was a health and safety issue with a see saw so wouldnt.let my kids in their again.

The outside toilets near the playground had electical wiring dangling down.

The most awful thing i witnessed was uncovered for the all inclusive customers on the outside bar as s female staff member whilst sittinh doing her.nails not able to smile allowed swallows to get food from a basket which had snacks.

Also they was chips heated at the bar which swallows flew down in the chips eating and flying away with the chips.

Bread in the eating area on most occassions was empty when it was full they was no tongues to use to pick up you used youre hands.

They often ran out of orange juice from the machine

This is an awful hotel avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanPBoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.3 mi away
Anetis Hotel
Anetis Hotel
#30 of 51 in Tsilivi
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phoenix Beach Hotel
Phoenix Beach Hotel
#18 of 51 in Tsilivi
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andreolas Luxury Suites
Andreolas Luxury Suites
#29 of 51 in Tsilivi
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Christy's Beach Villas
Christy's Beach Villas
#27 of 51 in Tsilivi
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iakinthos
Iakinthos
#3 of 18 in Tsilivi
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zarkadis Beach Apartments
Zarkadis Beach Apartments
#21 of 45 in Tsilivi
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranee Hotel

Property: Mediterranee Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranee Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing