We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outdated rooms,tasteless cheap food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mediterranee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“outdated rooms,tasteless cheap food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just arrived home after 11 nights of possibly the worst holiday we have ever had.Although we were looking forward to this holiday,our mood changed as soon as we were shown to our outdated shabby room,with three single beds (for two of us??!!) side by side with no room to move between them.The beds themselves are indeed , most uncomfortable,and hard.The doors and windows are ill fitting ,therefore road noise and the constant sound of other guests talking and moving furniture around can be heard at all hours.The pool area isnt too bad and sunloungers are plentifull.Now on to the food!....well..if you are totally devoid of the sense of taste,then your in for a treat!! Not a wide variation of tasteless cheap food is available for breakfast,lunch and dinner.(nothing really suitable for kids either)Something that the hotel cannot be held directly responsible for are the guests , their behavior and their lack of manners.I myself witnessed a young woman around 20 years old ,sampling some pasta sauce from the serving ladle,then place it back into the sauce tray....twice!!Then i saw a young man in his mid twenties ,clear his throat and spit into the childrens pool.He was with his partner and another couple,which none of them seemed as though this was nothing but normal to them .Disgusting.I must also add that the people i saw doing these things, were of eastern european nationallities...the whole time we were there we counted only six british families come and go.If you do go to this hotel,forget all that your parents told you about manners,and saying please and thankyou.....oh and learn how to join a queue in the middle or even better..at the front,you will fit right in.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank al k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    27
    21
    13
See reviews for
32
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My sister, brother-in-law & nephew 'stayed' here for 2weeks. It was not worth the price tag!! Overpriced for the worst service, quality of food, & room EVER!! The room had 3 single beds pushed together, luggage had to be kept locked on the balcony as there was no room for them in the room. There was one wardrobe for the 3 to hang all their clothes in, the bathroom was tiny, dated and the shower was at waist height, it was expected for you to hold the shower head whilst you shower, along with a soaking wet floor when it was used "That's the greek way" was the explanation by desk staff!! The food was inedible, RAW chicken, fish and the only thing which may of been ok was Spaghetti Bolognese. Didn't want to chance it thou, other foods had been available but when they were gone, they were not replenished!! The coke was not coke, and other guests advised not to drink the spirit as it was watered down. There were no sunloungers available by the pool and desk staff rude, and unhelpfull. We ended up using the hotel to sleep only and used the facilities provided at a hotel where other family members were staying in resort. We ate out and feel bewildered at the rapid decline of this once popular resort hotel. We spoke to people who remembered the Med Grill last year being bursting, and a fab place to eat, this year it was empty, on a daily basis. People who stayed there before who would never go back now because of the service and food quality, a shame. Many better hotels which will tick your boxes nearby, don't waste your money!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podge72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tsilivi hotels

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a meal at the adjoining Med Grill restaurant, that overall was let down by poor and slow 'front of house' service (unsure if this was due to lack of staff at busy periods?). The food itself was pretty good, but was let down by a number of mistakes with the order, first was bringing a carafe of red wine when we had ordered white, and then something that always annoys me was the serving of the main courses about two minutes after the starters were served. We did not eat our starters and instead sent them back and went straight into the main courses. The mains we did have were good quality and tasty, we had red snapper, chicken souvalaki, steak and chicken fajitas, quite different but all good. The whole evening was accompanied by strange background Greek organ music.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Peas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

A poor rating for this hotel may seem a little unfair to some, however my review is based on my experience during a 1 week holiday.
We will firstly start with the room. Yes the room was clean, not spotless but clean. A cleaner came everyday made beds and replaced towels as required. The small outside patio was swept / mopped. When I booked the holiday, last November, we were told we would need a quad room as we were a party of 2 adults and 2 children (14 and 10). What we actually got, was a double room that had a set of bunk beds squeezed in.
The shower was tiny, there simply wasn't enough room to pull shower curtain round so the bathroom floor was wet everytime someone had a shower.
We were on an all inclusive package, take my advice, do not pay for all inclusive. There are some very good, reasonably priced restaurants and bars in Tsilivi, all family friendly, and very welcoming. The breakfast was ok, I wish that hotels would stick to their traditional foods instead of trying to provide guests with English type food, and doing it badly. Mini hotdog sausages, and tinned mushrooms at breakfast for example. Generally lunch was better than dinner, with possibly more variation. The all inclusive package includes snacks from 11.00am until 18.00pm. This consisted of, chips, very dry ham and cheese sandwiches and biscuits. Generally these ran out at around 2.30 - 3.00 pm, and, once they had gone they were not replaced. Not really an issue for us, but the point is, that something was advertised, but not available as described. ice Cream was available during the afternoon for a couple of hours, and was probably the nicest thing they do, really nice!!
The pool area is a little small but generally you could always get sunbeds. The only bar open was the pool bar, the nice inside bar was never manned. Subsequently all drinks except in the dining room were served in plastic cups.
There is a table tennis table near the pool area, the bats need throwing away, and we went to local shop to buy our own ball because the hotel didn't have any.
The real disappointment is that this hotel has the potential to be really nice, but it seems that they are happy to serve below average food, drinks in plastic cups, and put families in cramped rooms.

Room Tip: If possible check where you room will be. Quite noisy outside the hotel so avoid, the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed there a couple of years back (had half-board with a la carte dinner) and still to this day talk about the food they served for dinner, it was by far the best we've ever had. Tons of excellent seafood, great saganaki specialties, great entrees, everything light, very well cooked and presented. Limited breakfast selection and very disappointing rooms, though, definitely not 4* worth. The outdoors were pretty, lovely garden but small pool area and no direct access to the beach (it's a few min down the street). I would go there again for the food but would be very careful picking the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My wife and I was there in the beginning of June and we really enjoyed the week at the Med. Location is brillant , very Close to everything . Rooms are simple but good and very clean. We stayed in the second building away from the Big Road and the pool, which was Nice. Breakfast was ok . We would Like to come back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonny1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The pool area was too small for the number of guests. Poor food choice and very repetitive. The room was basic and open plan so no privacy from the kids! There was no hairdryer or satellite TV as advertised. Only chips as a snack and once they have gone there are no more. Pool area only cleaned once a day, so as the day goes on the cups and glasses pile up. Fortunately this has not put us of Zante. The staff were not always helpful nor were they cheerful !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.3 mi away
Anetis Hotel
Anetis Hotel
#27 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phoenix Beach Hotel
Phoenix Beach Hotel
#19 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Callinica Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofia-Yiota Studios & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Zarkadis Beach Apartments
Zarkadis Beach Apartments
#24 of 46 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iakinthos
Iakinthos
#3 of 17 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranee Hotel

Property: Mediterranee Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranee Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing