We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vacation”
Review of Mediterranee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a week at the end of September. The hotel was exactly as it has been descirbed. Clean rooms, good service, plenty of food, nice pool area. In general our expectations were covered, even more, compared to three star hotels in other touristic areas in Greece. What really made me angry are the reviews from some English about Eastern European people. The only people that made noise at 3 am and woke up the rest of resting people were drunken English tourists. Security was asked to step in. Enligh, come to some of our resorts or go to Spain to see what English people with "good manners" do. I would recommend this hotel for all that would like to have relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Radolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely pool area with plenty of sun loungers.
Room was very clean. Shower a tad small but it was very powerful.
Food was not to my taste but plentiful. They don't tend to cater for children, unless of course you're child loves cold chips then they'd be fine.
Don't drink the blue lagoon and buy your own coke, unless you like fizzy water with a teeny weeny drop of brown colouring in it.
Friendly bar staff but the Reception staff could really do with some lessons in how to be polite.
Overall it was nice but I wouldn't stay again mainly because the food was such a let down.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMariea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It is an all inclusive hotel serving the worst food I have ever seen. We had to eat out for every meal because it was so bad. Food that was not eaten for one meal was served up again for the next. English visitors were in the minority, mainly East European visitors who appeared to be able to recognise what the food actually was. The staff were friendly and helpful, the pool area and hotel and rooms were clean but beds as hard as rock!! I would certainly go to Tsilivi again but definitely not the Mediterranee Hotel.

Room Tip: Not at the front if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just arrived home after 11 nights of possibly the worst holiday we have ever had.Although we were looking forward to this holiday,our mood changed as soon as we were shown to our outdated shabby room,with three single beds (for two of us??!!) side by side with no room to move between them.The beds themselves are indeed , most uncomfortable,and hard.The doors and windows are ill fitting ,therefore road noise and the constant sound of other guests talking and moving furniture around can be heard at all hours.The pool area isnt too bad and sunloungers are plentifull.Now on to the food!....well..if you are totally devoid of the sense of taste,then your in for a treat!! Not a wide variation of tasteless cheap food is available for breakfast,lunch and dinner.(nothing really suitable for kids either)Something that the hotel cannot be held directly responsible for are the guests , their behavior and their lack of manners.I myself witnessed a young woman around 20 years old ,sampling some pasta sauce from the serving ladle,then place it back into the sauce tray....twice!!Then i saw a young man in his mid twenties ,clear his throat and spit into the childrens pool.He was with his partner and another couple,which none of them seemed as though this was nothing but normal to them .Disgusting.I must also add that the people i saw doing these things, were of eastern european nationallities...the whole time we were there we counted only six british families come and go.If you do go to this hotel,forget all that your parents told you about manners,and saying please and thankyou.....oh and learn how to join a queue in the middle or even better..at the front,you will fit right in.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank al k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My sister, brother-in-law & nephew 'stayed' here for 2weeks. It was not worth the price tag!! Overpriced for the worst service, quality of food, & room EVER!! The room had 3 single beds pushed together, luggage had to be kept locked on the balcony as there was no room for them in the room. There was one wardrobe for the 3 to hang all their clothes in, the bathroom was tiny, dated and the shower was at waist height, it was expected for you to hold the shower head whilst you shower, along with a soaking wet floor when it was used "That's the greek way" was the explanation by desk staff!! The food was inedible, RAW chicken, fish and the only thing which may of been ok was Spaghetti Bolognese. Didn't want to chance it thou, other foods had been available but when they were gone, they were not replenished!! The coke was not coke, and other guests advised not to drink the spirit as it was watered down. There were no sunloungers available by the pool and desk staff rude, and unhelpfull. We ended up using the hotel to sleep only and used the facilities provided at a hotel where other family members were staying in resort. We ate out and feel bewildered at the rapid decline of this once popular resort hotel. We spoke to people who remembered the Med Grill last year being bursting, and a fab place to eat, this year it was empty, on a daily basis. People who stayed there before who would never go back now because of the service and food quality, a shame. Many better hotels which will tick your boxes nearby, don't waste your money!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank podge72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a meal at the adjoining Med Grill restaurant, that overall was let down by poor and slow 'front of house' service (unsure if this was due to lack of staff at busy periods?). The food itself was pretty good, but was let down by a number of mistakes with the order, first was bringing a carafe of red wine when we had ordered white, and then something that always annoys me was the serving of the main courses about two minutes after the starters were served. We did not eat our starters and instead sent them back and went straight into the main courses. The mains we did have were good quality and tasty, we had red snapper, chicken souvalaki, steak and chicken fajitas, quite different but all good. The whole evening was accompanied by strange background Greek organ music.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 4Peas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A poor rating for this hotel may seem a little unfair to some, however my review is based on my experience during a 1 week holiday.
We will firstly start with the room. Yes the room was clean, not spotless but clean. A cleaner came everyday made beds and replaced towels as required. The small outside patio was swept / mopped. When I booked the holiday, last November, we were told we would need a quad room as we were a party of 2 adults and 2 children (14 and 10). What we actually got, was a double room that had a set of bunk beds squeezed in.
The shower was tiny, there simply wasn't enough room to pull shower curtain round so the bathroom floor was wet everytime someone had a shower.
We were on an all inclusive package, take my advice, do not pay for all inclusive. There are some very good, reasonably priced restaurants and bars in Tsilivi, all family friendly, and very welcoming. The breakfast was ok, I wish that hotels would stick to their traditional foods instead of trying to provide guests with English type food, and doing it badly. Mini hotdog sausages, and tinned mushrooms at breakfast for example. Generally lunch was better than dinner, with possibly more variation. The all inclusive package includes snacks from 11.00am until 18.00pm. This consisted of, chips, very dry ham and cheese sandwiches and biscuits. Generally these ran out at around 2.30 - 3.00 pm, and, once they had gone they were not replaced. Not really an issue for us, but the point is, that something was advertised, but not available as described. ice Cream was available during the afternoon for a couple of hours, and was probably the nicest thing they do, really nice!!
The pool area is a little small but generally you could always get sunbeds. The only bar open was the pool bar, the nice inside bar was never manned. Subsequently all drinks except in the dining room were served in plastic cups.
There is a table tennis table near the pool area, the bats need throwing away, and we went to local shop to buy our own ball because the hotel didn't have any.
The real disappointment is that this hotel has the potential to be really nice, but it seems that they are happy to serve below average food, drinks in plastic cups, and put families in cramped rooms.

Room Tip: If possible check where you room will be. Quite noisy outside the hotel so avoid, the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Callinica Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plaza Pallas Hotel
Plaza Pallas Hotel
#20 of 51 in Tsilivi
262 reviews
1 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel
Filoxenia Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranee Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range: £80 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranee Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing